We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't come close to meeting expectations. VERY disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 35%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Didn't come close to meeting expectations. VERY disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Not being owners we had a totally different experience. I made a big mistake in not realizing that a property that has mostly 1 and 2 bedroom condos would be overrun with an abundance of families meaning there were more children than adults here. But that wasn't the worst of it. It went downhill from the start. First you should realize that most reviews here are from time share owners who have to like what they have purchased. It's not cheap for them to buy in. They also won't get the treatment we got.

When booking a penthouse suite, described at the time of booking as being on a top floor, one would expect to get what they booked. What we got was room 10825. At check in we were told it was "accessible" which we did not book. The man at the desk suggested we look and see if we like it, if not, come back and he would move us. The room was on the 8th floor with a chair removed to accomodate a wheel chair. The shower had a shower head coming out of the middle of the back wall, down low. There was no way to stand under it even for an average sized person and my husband and myself are both tall people. Bathroom lighting was very poor by design although I assume this is nothing to do with accessibility.

I went back to the front desk and said it wouldn't meet our needs and I'd like a regular room I also questioned it being a "penthouse" to which I was told a penthouse had nothing to do with the floor it was on, but it was the ceiling height. Really? Not what the website said when I booked although I see the descriptions have been changed since that time. At this time I was told there were no more rooms of the type I booked until the next day. This was mid afternoon so it wasn't like I was a late arrival. I was told owners take priority. Why do they take bookings if they can't accomodate them? We booked 5 nights here so we could unpack and settle in a while. That didn't happen the first night.

We moved to room 31609 the next day, April 6, although we had to wait for the room a while. This was a top floor but in the building the farthest out with no sunset view. Both rooms were very small by American hotel standards. We did get a chair in addition to the sofa. This bathroom was much nicer, still very small, with good lighting on both sides of the mirror and good shower pressure. The balconies on these rooms are the tiniest I've seen. They are also set back in so the large balcony of the large unit next door is out in front of any side angle view you might have had. We are thin so we could squeeze onto the balcony but if you are overweight you will have difficulty maneuvering yourself into a chair. Yes, they are seriously small.

The bed was unbelievably comfortable. I must say that. There were plenty of electrical outlets although most were mid wall with no place to set anything down by the outlet. We had a totally fabulous housekeeper named Niera - the highlight of our stay. Housekeeping was above and beyond what I ever expected. She even washed our few dishes each day. The room was definitely immaculate. The airconditioning worked great and made it nice and cold as desired. There was even a ceiling fan which is a bonus.

The grounds were beautiful. I had booked the JW Marriott initially. Unfortunately I switched after seeing an aerial view thinking with the expansive grounds and pools here that we'd find a nice quiet place to relax and float around. This was not to be because the entire place is overrun with noisy children. This includes the so called quiet pool that has no age restrictions. As a parent of 4 grown children I never would have taken my children into a "quiet" pool. But apparently some parents believe their children are the quiet ones. It's rather unpleasant to be there watching time and time again, parents showing up, releasing the kids into the pool, only to wait and watch a hotel employee have to walk out from the pool bar/cafe to ask the parents to take the children and leave the quiet area. This scene was repeated each time we were there. This is not a resort for couples, romance, honeymooners or for just plain relaxing. This is a place for families only. Please take note of this if you are thinking about booking here.

We walked down to the JW a few times to find a much more upscale and quiet atmosphere. Not only that, look up and you will see fabulously large balconies on each unit. Across the street from the JW is the only sign of anything to do without a drive. There are restaurants and shops with no long walk or shuttle required.

I did notice that our lagoon was the only one open so everyone who wanted to go in the "ocean" had to come here. The other 2 lagoons were closed due to contamination/poor water quality. This includes the lagoon behind Disney and the JW. It certainly isn't an authentic Hawaii experience. We could have been at any resort in the tropics/subtropics.

We did have excellent service and food at the restaurant by the "quiet" reflection pool. The only problem there was the morning we waited in line for the $17 pp buffet breakfast ($3 more if you want an omelet). We never tried it because just as we got to the front of the line after watching people quickly get seats, they suddenly had no more seating and we were told the wait would be at least 20 minutes. We opted to go to the on sight Marketplace and buy a pre-made $7 sandwich and heat it up.

As if none of this were enough, the absolute worst experience was the deception on the part of the time share sales manager who's name begins with T. We had an offer in our room to go to his desk near the lobby and pick up a complimentary discount card. That's when it all began. T is very good at making harmless small talk asking what your plans are while there. Don't say "Polynesian cultural center" or you'll get an offer you can't refuse. Free tickets just for attending the presentation. Having never gone to a "presentation" and knowing exactly what they try to do there, we were curious as to how people get sucked in. What harm could come from going early one morning, picking up tickets and spending the afternoon where we were going to go anyway? Well we got up extra early that morning, got ready, waited until our appt.time and got directions to where we were to go to hear the brief presentation and get our FREE tickets. We got up to that floor, checked in, only to be told that when we were finished we could stop back by and pay $20 each for our tickets. What happened to FREE??? Oh, there's a little processing fee T neglected to tell us about. On principle we turned around and walked away preferring to pay full price for the tickets at the door. What a wasted morning. We could have slept longer and gotten to the Polynesian Cultural Center earlier. I suspect the $20 tickets were misrepresented as to what was included after finding out T had not been totally up front with us from the start.

Yes, I did complain twice to management. Once about no availability of the room we had booked, to which we were given a small resort credit - $50 if I remember correctly. Again about the deceptive practices of T, to which I got a "sorry. I'll check into this."

Finally, upon getting our things together to check out early since it's required to vacate the room by 10am, we got a call on the room phone. It was someone at the front desk with a "reminder" that we had to be out by 10am. And If we'd like to pay an extra $800 at check out we would be able to come back for 5 nights anytime during the next 18 months and stay in a full 1 bedroom unit including a living room and kitchen. Really? We just spent over twice that much for a little hotel room with the benefit of watching other people's children have the time of their lives. This was a real insult.

What did I learn? If we want to have a nice, quiet, pleasant, couples vacation, fly to one of the out islands. Otherwise stay in Waikiki where there are so many options right outside your door. Or at the very least, book the JW Marriott where you will also receive your Marriott loyalty benefits if you have them. Why Marriott allows this poor treatment of their elite members at their vacation clubs just isn't clear to me. It's unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,067
    416
    140
    48
    31
See reviews for
813
495
18
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed this resort. The grounds are gorgeous, everyone is very friendly, there's plenty to do. It's about a 45 minute drive from Waikiki and the North Shore, so I would suggest renting a car if you want to leave the resort... although there is enough to do that you wouldn't really need to depending on the type of vacation you want. There are only 3 resorts in this area so it's not as much of a headache as staying in Waikiki. The pools, hot tubs, and lagoons were very cool and well kept. Grounds perfectly maintained. Rooms large and comfortable. We ate at Longboard's once for breakfast and it was good. We never tried the other restaurant. We really liked Monkeypods up the road, walked there for dinner one night. Plenty of trips to the bar and never had a bad experience with that. Definitely check out the Luau!

It only lost a star for 2 reasons:
1) We went into Longboard's for lunch once and sat for 15 minutes with no service. We left and ate elsewhere.
2) We reserved an ocean view room. We were on the ground floor and didn't really have much of a view at all. Maybe had we complained, they would have fixed this... but we didn't find it worth it since we didn't spend a ton of time in our room.

We did take a quick walk through the Disney resort (Aulani) right next door and definitely want to take the kids one day, it was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Second time at Ko Olina...my family had a blast. The grounds are beautiful and perfectly maintained. We spent all our time on the beach..it was perfect. Loved snorkeling the different lagoons. Saw the turtles in lagoon 2 several times. Longboards has great food and excellent frozen mai tais...hope to return again soon. Make sure you see the sunset..perfect location to watch for the green flash!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club is elegance incarnate. Rooms and villas are spacious with fabulous views. Enjoy walking distance access to sister property JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa and the Ko Olina Golf Club and Marina. A great Luau and Fabulous Drinks !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hailing from Orange County, California, I know a thing or two about planned communities. The site of this timeshare property has been carefully planned and carved out of the land and sea. If you like your nature on the wild side, this property isn't for you. But if you like perfect half-moon-shaped cove-like beaches -- a whole series of them running up and down the beach -- then you'll enjoy the man-made nature of this property.

Pros:
Lushly landscaped
Away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu but not too far to go there for dinner
Close to convenient shopping areas to stock your kitchen with

Cons:
Fee for parking (will never understand why they do this, other than "they can")
Potential negative effects of the Disney mega-resort next door
Ocean views from your room *may* be less than gorgeous owing to marina and parking lots nearby

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are owners at this resort so have stayed here over 7 times in the last several years. The reason we always return is the sheer beauty and calm relaxed feel of the place. Although the beaches are man made, they are perfect for swimming since there are really no waves. We love walking along the path in the evenings or early mornings too. Not much in the way of night life, if that is what you are looking for Waikiki is a better spot. We always rent a car to go into the city for more action, but prefer staying at KoOlina. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful, the staff is always pleasant and helpful in every way. If you get a room with the full kitchen you can save a lot as food in the area is a little pricy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently returned from our 4th visit to the Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club. The Ko Olina continues to impress us. We upgraded to a 3 bedroom, ocean view room and the view from the 10th floor was spectacular. The grounds are beautiful, the beaches are fantastic, the rooms have every thing you need for a comfortable stay and the staff is friendly. There is not a lot around here but that's why we like it. We do not like the craziness of Waikiki even though it's fun to visit for the day. We shopped at the nearby Kapolei stores for food for the week. WalMart, Target, Costco, Safeway and restaurants are all a very close drive away. There are not a lot of places to eat at the resort...we love having dinner at Longboards at sunset and we have never tried Chuck's Steakhouse. Down the road across from Disney's Aulani you can find a couple restaurants and an ABC type market/deli with very good sandwiches. Try the Monkeypod restaurant there...the food was sooo good! These places are within walking distance but we drove and parked for free in the parking lot close by.

Even though the resort is on a quieter side of Oahu you are still not too far from anything. Yes, if you're out at rush hour you will hit traffic but we tried to travel at non busy times. It took us about 30 minutes to get to the Dole Plantation, about 40 minutes to get to the North Shore (stop at Opal Thai restaurant for the best meal ever and some shaved ice at Matsumoto's after!), visit the turtle beach and Giovanni's shrimp truck (also on the North Shore) and a drive around the island is easily done in an afternoon. We stopped at the Byodo-In Temple on the eastern side and it was amazingly beautiful! So many fun things to do while visiting Oahu and coming back every afternoon to the Ko Olina made our trip even better. If you get a chance, go to the Fia Fia Luau on site...it's a fun show, the sunset is gorgeous and the food's not bad. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.