We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Los Angeles suburbs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in a lovely spacious villa with a partial ocean view. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the lagoon was perfect for our small children! We didn't use too many of the amenities, so I can't comment on the service (like some of the negative feedback viewed), but our villa was clean, quiet, and met all our expectations. The Ko Olina really caters to kids and offers a wide variety of fun activities including fish feeding at the lagoon. Overall, fantastic resort if you want to avoid the crowds in Oahu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    459
    149
    54
    35
See reviews for
890
553
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The property was beautifully laid out and landscaped and the room was very nice. The great part of the rooms are that even in a studio room you have a decent size refrigerator as well as a microwave to reheat food. If you are unable to get rooms with the full kitchens at least the studios give you something that you can use to reheat food. One thing that I loved about this hotel is that there was an adult pool to get you away from screaming children if you want a more peaceful area to relax. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are the standard you expect of Marriott --- which means comfortable space and furnishings. I like having a full kitchen, etc. But what I like most is the location.
First, the four man made lagoons provide swimming and a place to snorkel. There is not an over abundance of fish but in one of the lagoons (3rd lagoon over) near the rocks you can see a variety of fish and some people saw a turtle. You can rent equipment from Marriott or buy some at Walmart or Costco if you want to snorkel more than one day.
Second, the grounds were trim and we enjoyed just strolling. Marriott's Beach Club is on one end of a mile walk with Marriott's hotel at the other end. Disney has a property situated between the Marriott's. On the Disney property there is an aquarium (correct word?) designed for snorkeling or viewing through windows on the side. The Marriott hotel has pools worth the walk to see. 1 - hammerhead sharks 2 - stingrays (so beautiful up close) 3 - tropical fish.
Third, it never seemed crowded even though there is an abundance of rooms.

There are many pools and hot tubs, free internet, a daily activity or two, and an exercise area which we never used; we were too busy swimming. Of course, there is also the offer for a sales presentation. We decided to attend when offered a snorkeling trip or $75 dollar resort credit, or ... can't remember the others. The presentation was not hard sell. It went over the 90 minute scheduled time, but we did ask a number of questions.

Not every room has an ocean view. Although our room on the 11th floor was a mountain view room, we could see the ocean in addition to the mountains.

An aside, since most everyone rents a car, the cheapest gas is at Costco which is located between the resort and the airport and is easy to get to. You can get a map at the resort.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The accommodations are nice, crisp and clean. Kitchen is nice, but who cooks on vacation? Not me. I love the lagoon and being away from the city. Laundry within the unit is a definite bonus. If you don't mind no service or being told "no" without options than you will be fine. I'm definitely not a time share guest and will stay at the 'Ihilani for my next Ko'olina trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A great bargain in the land of high prices. Most of the hotels in Waikiki where built in the 70's (except the Trump Waikiki), Ko Olina Beach Club newest phase opened around a year ago. Purpose bulit as a luxury timeshare it features two and three bedroom units. Here is where is gets interesting. These units can be split in to smaller one bedroom and studio villas (a great choice for couples when think they can't afford Hawaii) and are listed that way at marriott.com. One bedrooms feature a king bedroom with a large tub with a view. They have a designer style kitchen with dining and living rooms. Studio style villas feature a bedroom living room combo with a small kitchenette. All dishes, pots, pans and even a washer-dryer are included. Both villas have balconies. You can even watch FIA-FIA the resort's luau from ocenview units. Don't fret if you book a "mountain view" villas as the overlook the championship golf course or the small boat harbour. Make sure you request a mid to high floor though on the mountain view or you will have a view of the parking garage from the lowest floors.

Room Tip: Check other sites like Flip Key or eBay where owners rent their villas for half of other sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We love Marriott, and we love Hawaii.

So-so to negative so far on the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club. We had heard great things about it from a friend, so maybe our expectations were overhyped. Basically, we were expecting near-hotel-level service in a resort setting. I would instead characterize it more as self-service on nice grounds, with uneven service from hotel staff.

Check-in took about an hour. We have 3 units and had asked nearly half a year ago for them to be situated near each other. We repeated the request 2w ago when they started taking in requests for the actual stay. When we checked in, this was the first they had heard of it. They also hadn't gotten our requests for rollaway beds. The end result was that they couldn't do anything about the room placement, and it took about an hour for them to get to that. It probably soured my view on this experience that my wife got ill the car while waiting with our kids (one of whom was asleep), so take this with a grain of salt.

We arrived early, so our room wasn't ready. Our flight got in early, so we were there at 1130a. The resort said check in was at 4p. We walked around the resort, and finally got a call at 405p that the room was ready. A little late, but not a major miss, so neutral there. When we did check into the room, we thought it was pretty nice, but not well soundproofed. The guests next door were having a birthday party, so it was pretty loud and difficult to sleep through, but we survived.

We walked the grounds, and they are very nice. However, while the pools are great for kids, there aren't any toys for community items for them, and the owners were pretty possessive about their toys. The hotel sells them at a marked up price - we made a run to Costco the next day.

The daily in and out so far has been ok, but like I said, self-service. We made a Costco run, and the valets here do not help you unload. Tipping doesn't help. They have self-service carts. They pretty much watched us unload, laughed when the raspberries fell out of a bag onto the ground, and wished us a good day.

Bottom line: Nice property but w/o much heart. We were near set on buying 1-2 units here before we came; now, I can't wait to get home.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my second trip to Oahu. Staying in Ko Olina was the way to go in Oahu - the weather is better than in Honolulu. It didn't rain at all, whereas there was rain on most other parts of the island the days we were there. Ko Olina is a gorgeous area - there are several places to eat - if you have a car, you can go everywhere and you have many choices. If you are staying at the resort without a car, your choices are a bit more limited.

This hotel is also a timeshare property. Only once did they try to make us go to a sales presentation but it is easy to say no and continue on with your day. If you pay for the hotel, they clean your room everyday and it is like a typical room (more details below).

Lobby - large, open-air, plenty of seating, somewhat impersonal but I only passed by on check in
Room - the room is the reason I took away a star - it is on the smaller side for a resort. The bed was great for me (firm) but a bit firm for my hubby. Great pillows! The room is clean and does have a minifridge and a sink. There are dishes and the dishes are cleaned by the housekeeper (bonus!!). The bathroom sink was disappointing because it was a bit of a far reach for someone 5'3. The bathroom was average size. No fan in the bathroom. To make this room a 5 it would need to be a bit larger, have better ventilation in the bathroom and to fix the sink and add a larger counter space in the bathroom... i am a bit picky.

People - The people working at the Marriott were very pleasant. The staff would frequently say hello just if you are passing by. Everyone seems happy and friendly.

Pool - The pictures do not capture the pool. There are three large pools, one has a slide and has a cave with waterfalls, need I say more?? The water is comfortable, a bit cold at night. It closes at 10pm and towel service ends at 7pm but you can probably also get pool towels at reception.

*****MY FAVORITE: THE LAGOON!!! The lagoon was my favorite beach access in all of Hawaii. It was safe yet you are in the ocean water and in waves of variable dimensions depending on when you swim. There were always chairs available to sit on, both at the lagoon and the pool

Food - Did not try, breakfast was too expensive.
No room service

In all, I would definitely go back. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are amazing and the lagoon is heavenly. The room is a bit small yet comfortable and kept clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 949
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.