We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value to stay in Ko Olina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 35%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Value to stay in Ko Olina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We've been to Oahu before and decided to avoid crowded Waikiki Beach and stay elsewhere in Oahu. A friend had high praise for Ko Olina, so we decided to go. Ko Olina is one of the more high end parts of the Island.

We had heard that the other Ko Olina hotels were pricey (Disney; JW Marriott Spa), and decided to stay at the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club. We booked through redweek.com. This allows you to rent directly off the condo owners rather than go through a third party agency or book directly through the Marriott hotels. You normally save more $$$ by going through the owner direct.

Our room was a large, roughly 1,400 sq foot, two full bedroom units with King beds in both, full kitchen, 3 HD TV's and two balconies with a direct and spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean, Lagoon 3 and the lush tropical garden pool below. There are four man made lagoons in Ko Olina. We stayed for a week and had maid cleaning services once mid week. This is all we needed.

We stocked up on groceries at nearby Safeway, Foodland and Costco. Ko Olina is expensive and we couldn't afford to eat out 3 times a day, every day during our stay. Eating in our unit for most of our meals made this trip affordable. We did eat out a few times at the Marriott and Roy's.

The staff at the Marriott are very friendly. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. This area is family oriented and laid back. We spent several days just snorkeling around the rocks of the lagoon with all the resident tropical fish. There is a resident sea turtle named Lucky in the Lagoon up by the JW Marriott and Disney hotels. It is within easy walking distance.

Just slightly off the grounds (north) of the JW Marriott Spa & Resort is a small bay that has sea turtles all the time. It was a pleasant discovery to see these turtles in a more natural habitat. According to the locals, monk seals occasionally come ashore here.

During our stay the week of April 13th, the LPGA was in Ko Olina. While bringing my luggage up to my room, I met golfer Michelle Wie.

The one odd thing is that beyond the marina south of the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club is an industrial area.

Ko Olina and the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club are a fantastic place for a relaxing vacation that is suitable for families and couples. The Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club is way better value for money than Disney or the JW Marriott Spa & Resort. The only negative is that it is pricey. However, this can be partially mitigated by renting directly off condo owners and making most of your meals in your condo.

We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are massive and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    417
    141
    48
    32
See reviews for
826
503
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a late review of Ko Olina, however it was so outstanding that the memories still remain after 4 1/2 months. We had 2 rooms reserved for our wedding and was pleasantly surprised! There was ample room to hold everything for our wedding...about 20 boxes of "stuff", as well as the groom's and groomsmen's suits, wedding gown, and bridesmaid's dresses. The bathroom was very spacious...that was a definite plus with so many people getting ready at the same time. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating...EXCELLENT customer service. The ammenities and courtyard were awesome...we were able to use the pool, barbecue area, and game center...had a blast playing ping pong and shooting billiards! We will definitely be heading back on our first anniversary, and then some!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have never stayed in a Marriott Vacation club before, had originally intended to stay at the JW Marriott but after reading the reviews regarding the beach being shared with the busy Disney resort, we did some research and found this close by. We had a wonderful time, the room although a little small was nice and clean with good quality linens and well equipped. We had a room on the end looking straight to the ocean, however the balcony was too small and I do agree with the other review the self parking charge is way too much money especially for the class of hotel. We did walk to the JW Marriott beach and I am glad we made the choice we did, our beach was nice and not too busy. Visited both Longboards and Chuck's restaurants, enjoyed good reasonably priced food at both. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the bbq area/or lefts side of lagoon as that will give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

People we know have considered staying but never did when they realize there's not much around the resort except other resorts. A drive to Honolulu or other parts of the island is 30-45 minutes since Oahu is very congested, weekdays or weekends. We decided to stay when family friends were also staying and were visiting family. But we won't likely be going back..

The service, while nice, is not good at all. It's hit and miss. We went during the off-season and had requested and were promised an ocean view but got a room looking out over a parking lot at a depressing chemical plant of some sort along with a putrid "water" view. That's NOT what we came to "paradise" for. Don't tell me when you have hundreds and hundreds of rooms that you can't offer guests a room closer to what you promised. A view of the pool would have been less depressing. But our family friends say they got one of those rooms looking across the pool to the ocean and it was always noisy because of so many kids screaning during the day, and not relaxing nor private at all. Another set of friends got a room at the bbq grill area looking out to the ocean. No privacy right before dinner whatsoever. The staff who assign the rooms are heartless or hate mainlanders. They should be replaced so other guests can enjoy their stay.

The hotel room was clean and sizable with a very comfortable big bed and old sitting area, with a very small balcony.The only thing newer was the mattress/comforter(too thick for Hawaii). Everything else, including the small bathroom with barely any counter space, hasn't been updated in quite a few years/decade.

What bumped this up to a 3-star rating from f2-star is that the grounds are well maintained and lovely and makes you feel like you're in Hawaii. There's no snorkeling in the mand-made sandy lagoons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We came here on points and were given a very, very small room. Had no housekeeping the first day, and on the second day had to call for service at 2:30 pm after being out of the room without a "do not disturb" sign for 5 hours. Declined the "tour" for the time share pitch, so maybe that was a factor. There is a resort fee of $25 per day AND $30 a day for parking. Room was disappointing and very, very small, BUT the grounds are spectacular. This is about 45 minutes from Waikiki Beach and just a 10-minute walk from the new Disney Resort. BUT, traffic, depending on the time of day can be really bad. Nice place, a little out of the way, but up-charges appear to be everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I just returned from a 5-day stay at Marriott's Ko Olina. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel grounds are absolutely nice. The rooms are clean and updated. The only downside is the parking situation. Almost 40 dollars a day to self-park...really? That is very steep. And there is zero visitor parking so when a friend on the Oahu came to meet me at Chuck's bar on the property he had to valet park - costs around 10 dollars with tip for visitors. There is really no room service that I could see - but there are plenty of places to eat on the grounds. I really liked Longboards, the food was good and the Kona draft Longboard Lager is very good. The pools and beach are super nice. Overall it is a nice place and very much typical for Marriott -- good attention to detail and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you stay in a "single" bed room - be aware that the room unit next door with be a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I live in the Ko Olina area, and I am totally turned off by the rules at the lagoons. Not only aren't you allowed to bring your own umbrella, but if you can't find parking (which happens 90% of the time) you can't even bring your bike on the premises. I understanding riding a bike on the walking paths in the lagoon area, but laying your bike down next to you as you sit in the grass? I was "told on" by one of the patrollers, and another patroller came up to me and asked me to chain my bike out in the parking lot area next time. Chains can break if someone really wants them to, and has happened to me before someplace else. Shouldn't it be my personal choice to have an eye on my $700 bike while I sit at the lagoons?

I'm sure it's great for a vacationer. But if you live here and want to enjoy the lagoons:

*Be prepared to either pay a monthly fee for parking,
*Fight the congested public parking or go at unpopular times like 8am-10am Mon. through Thurs
*Don't use your bike as transportation unless you don't mind leaving it out of sight
*Don't bring umbrellas even if you need to stay out of the sun.

Go to a REAL beach, so much better.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.