We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dream 12/12/12 wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our dream 12/12/12 wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a late review of Ko Olina, however it was so outstanding that the memories still remain after 4 1/2 months. We had 2 rooms reserved for our wedding and was pleasantly surprised! There was ample room to hold everything for our wedding...about 20 boxes of "stuff", as well as the groom's and groomsmen's suits, wedding gown, and bridesmaid's dresses. The bathroom was very spacious...that was a definite plus with so many people getting ready at the same time. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating...EXCELLENT customer service. The ammenities and courtyard were awesome...we were able to use the pool, barbecue area, and game center...had a blast playing ping pong and shooting billiards! We will definitely be heading back on our first anniversary, and then some!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    537
    176
    63
    44
See reviews for
1,091
647
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have never stayed in a Marriott Vacation club before, had originally intended to stay at the JW Marriott but after reading the reviews regarding the beach being shared with the busy Disney resort, we did some research and found this close by. We had a wonderful time, the room although a little small was nice and clean with good quality linens and well equipped. We had a room on the end looking straight to the ocean, however the balcony was too small and I do agree with the other review the self parking charge is way too much money especially for the class of hotel. We did walk to the JW Marriott beach and I am glad we made the choice we did, our beach was nice and not too busy. Visited both Longboards and Chuck's restaurants, enjoyed good reasonably priced food at both. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the bbq area/or lefts side of lagoon as that will give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

People we know have considered staying but never did when they realize there's not much around the resort except other resorts. A drive to Honolulu or other parts of the island is 30-45 minutes since Oahu is very congested, weekdays or weekends. We decided to stay when family friends were also staying and were visiting family. But we won't likely be going back..

The service, while nice, is not good at all. It's hit and miss. We went during the off-season and had requested and were promised an ocean view but got a room looking out over a parking lot at a depressing chemical plant of some sort along with a putrid "water" view. That's NOT what we came to "paradise" for. Don't tell me when you have hundreds and hundreds of rooms that you can't offer guests a room closer to what you promised. A view of the pool would have been less depressing. But our family friends say they got one of those rooms looking across the pool to the ocean and it was always noisy because of so many kids screaning during the day, and not relaxing nor private at all. Another set of friends got a room at the bbq grill area looking out to the ocean. No privacy right before dinner whatsoever. The staff who assign the rooms are heartless or hate mainlanders. They should be replaced so other guests can enjoy their stay.

The hotel room was clean and sizable with a very comfortable big bed and old sitting area, with a very small balcony.The only thing newer was the mattress/comforter(too thick for Hawaii). Everything else, including the small bathroom with barely any counter space, hasn't been updated in quite a few years/decade.

What bumped this up to a 3-star rating from f2-star is that the grounds are well maintained and lovely and makes you feel like you're in Hawaii. There's no snorkeling in the mand-made sandy lagoons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We came here on points and were given a very, very small room. Had no housekeeping the first day, and on the second day had to call for service at 2:30 pm after being out of the room without a "do not disturb" sign for 5 hours. Declined the "tour" for the time share pitch, so maybe that was a factor. There is a resort fee of $25 per day AND $30 a day for parking. Room was disappointing and very, very small, BUT the grounds are spectacular. This is about 45 minutes from Waikiki Beach and just a 10-minute walk from the new Disney Resort. BUT, traffic, depending on the time of day can be really bad. Nice place, a little out of the way, but up-charges appear to be everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I just returned from a 5-day stay at Marriott's Ko Olina. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel grounds are absolutely nice. The rooms are clean and updated. The only downside is the parking situation. Almost 40 dollars a day to self-park...really? That is very steep. And there is zero visitor parking so when a friend on the Oahu came to meet me at Chuck's bar on the property he had to valet park - costs around 10 dollars with tip for visitors. There is really no room service that I could see - but there are plenty of places to eat on the grounds. I really liked Longboards, the food was good and the Kona draft Longboard Lager is very good. The pools and beach are super nice. Overall it is a nice place and very much typical for Marriott -- good attention to detail and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you stay in a "single" bed room - be aware that the room unit next door with be a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I live in the Ko Olina area, and I am totally turned off by the rules at the lagoons. Not only aren't you allowed to bring your own umbrella, but if you can't find parking (which happens 90% of the time) you can't even bring your bike on the premises. I understanding riding a bike on the walking paths in the lagoon area, but laying your bike down next to you as you sit in the grass? I was "told on" by one of the patrollers, and another patroller came up to me and asked me to chain my bike out in the parking lot area next time. Chains can break if someone really wants them to, and has happened to me before someplace else. Shouldn't it be my personal choice to have an eye on my $700 bike while I sit at the lagoons?

I'm sure it's great for a vacationer. But if you live here and want to enjoy the lagoons:

*Be prepared to either pay a monthly fee for parking,
*Fight the congested public parking or go at unpopular times like 8am-10am Mon. through Thurs
*Don't use your bike as transportation unless you don't mind leaving it out of sight
*Don't bring umbrellas even if you need to stay out of the sun.

Go to a REAL beach, so much better.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Everything about this resort is spot on for a perfect vacation. It's situated in an ideal location out in Ko Olina providing a nice and relaxing time. The Hotel itself is rather large (3 towers) but never did it seem over-crowded. The 3 pools are all rather large, beautiful done and well kept along with the 7 hot tubs. It's right on the beach so the ability to jump between the two is amazing. The rooms are spacious and fitted out very nicely. It came with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, two balconies and even a dining room table. There are even quite a few grills down by the beach which are a great option if you want to grill up a nice dinner. They're constantly cleaned and there's barely a wait if any to use them (this is due to the fact that there are no tables or seating nearby which is a nice touch, so people don't linger too long). The staff throughout the resort was always more than accommodating and you can definitely see how well they kept up the place through their constant work. With everything in the nearby area and the increasing number of restaurants in the area, it's definitely a place worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 949
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.