We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far but definitely a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Far but definitely a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This property is part of Ko Olina development (hotel (JW Marriott), time shares and private residences)

1. About 30 minutes drive from Waikiki. If you stay here and drive to Waikiki, Good luck finding a parking on waikiki. You will have to pay big money to park. Lots of hotels on the waikiki beach does have parking included in the resort fee
2. It is located in the west side of Oahu. Seems to be remote but there are lots of shops, grocery. Costco is 4 miles away from this property.
3. The property is absoultely beautiful. Attention to details.
4. Room is super clean and beautiful. very comfortable. Studio has refrig. and microwave. A nice size soaking tub. pull out sofa.
5. Pool is lined with Lava rocks. LOTS OF POOLs. Multiple SPAs. Beach is clean beautiful and calm (man made).
6. SUNSET IS STUNNING on the beach.
7. They also have linger longer program free of charge for guests flying out late. I just hang out on the beach and pool. You can also get a locker by the pool once you check out. You can even drive in and out of parking deck after you check out with this linger longer program. It is quite nice.
8. Hawaiian dance and culture demostration on the beach around the sun set.
9. There are ABC store in the development. Restaurants in the development (KO OLINA). Marriott itself has several restaurants on the property.
10. I was a bit concern about the distance away from Waikiki in the beginning. It turns out it is quite a blessing. It was very relaxing and the location is very central for you to go anywhere by car.
11. I will come back in a heart bit. This property will make you think twice about staying on Waikiki.

Marriott did it again, I have to say

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    456
    147
    53
    35
See reviews for
883
552
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Being in the Kapolei area was much more relaxing than the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. I love Oahu and North Shore. So many awesome beaches on Oahu but where to stay. Decided to spend a couple nights at this hotel and it was an awesome choice.

Oahu has a lot to offer. Most people go to Maui or the other islands. Don't pass up Oahu!! But know you will need to have a rent a car to get around and there is always that parking charge you need to calculate in your budget. Ko'Olina is easy to get to North Shore, Arizona Memorial, drive around the Kalua/Kaneohe and Makapuu areas.

Room Tip: I think any room will be fine you can't go wrong with this hotel. The cove/beach is right there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during pro bowl week and the place was amazing. Great for kids and adults alike. Lagoons were prefect. Only negatives were away from Honolulu and parking costs extra. Overall great stay and would recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Don't fight traffic and crowds - head to KoOlina. Was here for Pro Bowl week and even then the crowds were non-existent. The room I had was a 2bd/2bth and was spacious and nicely furnished. Having been here before I knew what to expect - which was only the best and was not disappointed. To each his own but this the only place to stay on Oahu for my money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wow this place was wonderful, the room was so big, had a semi- kitchen, and great decor, looked like new. The pools were so nice and the lagoon was warm and beautiful, the bar over looking the water was great for Happy Hour, best place we stayed in Hi, only bad thing, not close to anything else, would not stay here entire trip, we moved around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for one fabulous week. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are clean, comfy and we had a nice little kitchen. The only down side was that the sofa bed was lumpy. We loved the beach. My sister can't swim. This hotel is a great option as they have these lagoons that block the waves so she was able to enjoy the ocean without floaties. The luau was awesome! High energy fire shows, lovely dancers and SO much yummy food. The show was also quite interactive - I had lots of fun. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are Marriott Vacation Club owners (Grande Vista, Orlando) and used my points to book this vacation. I got an email a few weeks before we arrived asking our preferences for room (2-bedroom, non-lockoff), location and such. A few days before we arrived, the resort called to confirm my requests and make sure everything was in order.

I requested the Hale Kona Tower thinking it would be more central. The woman who called told me that they didn't have any non-lockoff rooms in that tower so they put me in the Hale Nai'a Tower and she thought I'd like that better as it was closer to the "bigger" pool. She was RIGHT! First, I saw people complain about paying for an ocean view and they don't get it. We booked a mountain view. We were SO pleased that our room not only overlooked the adjacent marina but we had a lovely ocean view (1st lagoon). Since we are east coasters and were up super early most of the vacation, it was nice to face east to see the sunrise every morning. We were room 31224 if anyone would like to request that specific room.

Most people on the island complain about the traffic. While we did encounter some sluggish times, we never sat in traffic more than 10-15 minutes. And really, it wasn't sitting in traffic, we were moving, just slower. Ko Olina is about 30 minutes from Honolulu. Very quiet on this side of the island. Just what we like. We did visit Waikiki twice. It is VERY busy on that part of the island. There is a Target and Safeway (and lots of other shops in a few strip malls) close - about 5 minute drive.

The North Shore is a quick drive up the island. We were worried about the traffic as so many places I read "don't go to the North Shore. Traffic gets insane." Some locals told us that was only going from Honolulu and we found no problem. I'd say, with no stops (we stopped at Dole) the drive would be less than 30 minutes. There was even the Junior surfing competition going on.

Parking is free if you are Marriott Vacation Club owner. If you aren't, it is quite pricey.

We were there in the week before the Pro Bowl. All the players stay at the JW Marriott (walking distance). We got there Friday night and noticed that they had a goal post set up in a lot next to the JW. On Monday we thought we'd walk down and see it. Walked right through the property and on to the field. YAY. We then went into the lobby to look around. It must have been arrival day. We saw so many players! The next day we thought we would walk back down & see if we could catch any more. They got wise and closed the hotel down. You could go in if you had a reservation but that was it. The day we left (Friday) they had a practice/media day and anyone could walk up to the field and get autographs and/or pictures.

There is lots to do at this resort: 3 large pools, hot tubs/spas sprinkled within those pools, beautiful lagoon & lots of activities going on. There is a luau (Fia Fia) here on Tuesday nights. I wish we could have gone but it was the day 1/2 of our group went fishing and weren't back in time. :( It looked like a lot of fun. If you miss it Paradise Cove is on the other side of the JW and within walking distance.

My kids (11 & 14) mentioned how super friendly everyone at the resort (and really, on the island) were. But I guess if I lived in that paradise...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 949
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.