We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed Change of Pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Welcomed Change of Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I come to Hawaii at least once a year for work mixed with vacation, usually more often. We always stay in Honolulu/Waikiki, so this time we decided to switch things up after hearing that this side of the island is more laid back and relaxed. It's also a popular home choice for many Oahu residents wishing to get away from the huge tourist boom in the city.

Things are definitely more relaxed here. No traffic, no throngs of people moving down the road in herds...Yes, of course there are plenty of people considering there are three resorts in a row, but it's basically just beach, pools and people in their bathing suits.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and are kept meticulously neat and tidy around the clock. There are multiple restaurants on the property- we tried two of them and found both to be overpriced and so-so quality at best, but that's another review. Staff is very friendly.

We did have an issue with our room the first night. We had booked an 'ocean view' but when we got to our room after checkin, we found ourselves overlooking a back parking lot. When we went back to the front desk to state that we had clearly been put in the wrong room, we were told that our room was indeed 'deeded' an ocean view and that very few of their rooms actually 'saw' the ocean. We requested a change to which they did accommodate. The new room could see a bit of the ocean in the distance, but at least overlooked one of the pools. So just be careful what you're booking and this is important to you, be sure to call ahead and say so!

The only other potential 'issue' is that there are ALOT of children here- definitely more than you'd find at your hotel in Waikiki. Pools, lawns, etc. are covered in children, so if you're looking for more of an adult feel, this may not be your thing??

The rooms themselves are nice enough- nothing amazing, but nice. Best part is that they have a giant ceiling fan, which is such an added bonus for us at bedtime! Would stay here again when looking to 'get away from it all!'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    459
    149
    54
    35
See reviews for
890
553
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The check in is easy. The staff is friendly and easy going. The resort has three unique pools, and one is super kid friendly and has a fun water slide that my 5 yo son loved. Guests can also use the dining options at the neighboring JW Marriott Resort and sign the charges onto their room. It's nice not needing to cart your wallet everywhere. The kids club is awesome too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Ko olina Beach Club for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very kid friendly. Check in was very smooth and we stayed in the Naia building, in a 2 Br suite. The staff was great. Everyone was friendly and courteous. In each room, we had a king size bed and it was really comfortable. The sofa pull out bed was not very comfortable but after we lined it with duvet and the bed cover, our 6 year old found it quite comfortable. The kitchen was equipped with everything! Small dish detergent was provided and also dishwasher powder samples. The pots/pans, cups, dishes and utensils provided were clean and in wonderful condition. My kids LOVED swimming in the lagoon. The water was very calm. They especially loved the waterfall pool. I was also impressed that they had air compressors by the beach towel huts! I didn't have to blow up my daughter's inflatable ring by mouth. We really enjoyed the Welina Mai show on Monday 5pm. It was short hula/fire presentation. We had dinner at Longboard's and it was great. We watched the sunset and it was amazing. The kahula pig sandwich was yummy. We took the free shuttle to JW marriott to fishfeed... checked out JW's rayfish, hammersharks, starfish.. Disney Aulani has a little small fish aquarium by their poolsides. We also checked out the Hawaiian Barbeque in the small mall near the hotel. Very reasonable prices and good food. The loco moco was good so was the fried mahi mahi. Compared to the other resorts, Marriott Beach Club is a beautiful blend of JW/Aulani. Spacious, kid friendly, beautiful amenities, kid activities, beautiful beach... This resort was absolutely paradise. A perfect mix of Maui/Oahu. We had a rental car and drove out to different parts of the island. We were so happy to return back to our paradise everyday. We would definitely come back to the Marriott Ko olina Beach Club in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you're looking to get away from the noise of Honulul, go out to the Marriot Beach Club. They have their own private beach to while away the time. If you want to walk or hike, there's a great path that will take you to other hotels and restaurants in Ko'Olina. The rooms are excellent, with there own mini kitchen. The balcony view toward to the ocean or pool is great. My wife and I spent much of the mornings of our one week stay, sitting on the balcony drinking Kona coffee and eating fruit we bought at the local market. The hawaian show on Monday afternoons is great and a good taste of what you can experience at the Luau that are sponsored by the hotel. It's a great place for kids. My wife and I want to bring our grand children here. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Do not let the hotel book you a room with a view of the power plant toward the Ko'Olina marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As many of the other reviews have already mentioned, this property is beautiful with plenty of amenities. It has a great "Hawaii" feel to it! It was alot less busy than the nights we spent on Waikiki Beach. Several lagoon options and 3 different pools. There is also a small store to buy souvenirs and a little groceries if needed. Great for kids and families! There is a shopping center within 5-10 miles of the property that has a Walmart, Costco, Target, etc. This is great if you want to avoid going out to eat every meal. We booked a 2 bedroom villa, which came with 2 king beds, 2 bathrooms, a small kitchen, and a living room (with a fold out bed in the couch). Plenty of room for our family of 5.

My only compliant (although a major one) with this property is that there is virtually no recognition/benefits for elite members. I had seen this in other reviews, and now I wish that I had stayed at their other property down the road (JW Marriott). I have Gold status with Marriott (which isn't a huge accomplishment, I know), but unfortunately this meant nothing at this property. Not that I'm an elitist and feel that every stay that I have with Marriott needs to provide every single benefit as a elite member, but this property did not fulfill any of my simple requests. Early check-in? nope. Upgrades available? nope. Switch to oceanview room? nope. Late check-out? nope. It was as if this wasn't even a Marriott property, and the staff's response was pretty rude with the requests. "We never let anyone stay past 11am". The worst part about it is we booked a "mountain view" room, which turned out to be a "parking garage" view. I wasn't even able to see the sky from our room...just a bunch of cars. Nice job, Marriott, on taking care of your most loyal customers. Next time, I'll be booking down the street.

Room Tip: Watch out for "mountain view" rooms...it could turn out to be a "parking garage"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club. The resort is not a typical hotel experience and provides guests with many additional amenities, services, activities and luxury villa accommodations. While a typical hotel check-in is at 4 pm and check-out at noon, cleaning a 2-bedroom/2 bathroom villa with a full kitchen requires additional time to ensure each unit is cleaned to the highest Marriott standards. Please contact our Customer Care office via email at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384 so that we can personally address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The resort is very nice. Great pools, beach, gym etc... Nice big rooms, but the housekeeping service is below par. They do not clean the bathrooms daily, replenish any of the amenities such as soap and shampoo. The linens are not Marriott qulaity. Pillows were horrible.

The service was average, resturant staff was nice but hotel staff was so so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was probably my worst Marriott experience worldwide. I read reviews ahead of time and I am kicking myself for not heeding the post of another Marriott elite patron who said they had nearly 1000 nights. (I have 400 nights) You will not get upgraded at this resort if it saved your life. Single beds occur in every room - not 1 room in the entire hotel has 2 actual beds. If you need 2 beds for kids, etc it is loathsome uncomfortable sofa pull outs, again, even suites only have 1 actual bed. 3 of 5 nights I had to close my window due to cigarette smoke-front desk did nothing. Finally, the front desk relocated us to a much lower floor and offered a $50 credit. Room soaps and shampoo are the absolute cheapest in the entire Marriott chain. Linens are not changed daily. Again, if you are Marriott Elite other advisors and my advice ... JW :).

Room Tip: If you are Platinum elite with Marriott - do not stay here, do not stay here, do not stay here. JW...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 949
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.