We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“22 of our family visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
2 reviews
“22 of our family visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We have been owner's since KoOlina opened. This year 22 members of our family visited and stayed in all 3 buildings. Our grandkids really loved the place - more than I ever expected.

My daugther and her family were originally going to stay with us, but she chose to get her own unit. She was in Building 3 and had a corner unit overlooking the Pacific. They loved the water slide, and the lava pools. Now she even looked into purchasing her own unit.

My son and his family loved the place also, and snorkeled most every beach around O'ahu. They were on the go all of the time.

Great place for families. Oh by the way. Don't pass up the FiaFia night. It is really a great, great time.

Mahalo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,051
    399
    139
    47
    30
See reviews for
788
490
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just got back from a 10 night stay at the Ko Olina Beach Club. We had a two bedroom unit with ocean view. My wife and I brought our two kids, ages 3 and 1 as well as her parents (for occasional babysitting!) We did not eat at the restaurants on property, opting instead to make a trip to Costco and use the grills on-site. We had intended to do this from the start and packed spices, which saved money and gave us great dinners for reasonable prices!

Our 3 year old daughter LOVED the pools and the lagoon, as well as the beach. She got a kick of "swimming with fishes" in the lagoon. She can't fully swim so she was wearing a life jacket, but it was nice to let her swim in the ocean without worrying about huge waves or current making it dangerous for her. She also loved the sandy bottom pool where she could rotate between swimming and playing in the sand. Our son, 16 months, liked this pool as well. He was able to walk around in it just fine and liked the "volcano" fountains off to each side. Both kids also loved the various hot tubs.

Our room was exactly what we expected. I was actually surprised at how comfortable the pull out bed was that my daughter slept on. Granted I didn't actually sleep on it, but I did lay on it for a test and it was much softer and higher quality than I expected from previous pull-out bed experiences.

The resort has great activities for the kids as well. We were only able to attend a few of them, but our daughter enjoyed the big bubbles on the lawn outside of our building, as well as the koi fish feeding. We also watched the Fia Fia preview on Monday and it was very entertaining, although we decided not to attend the full event the next evening.

For a family vacation this was the perfect place to be. We did a trip to Waikiki and another to the North Shore with the entire group, but found the actual ocean is just too much for our kids in this young stage of their life. So those days turned into strictly beach play. The pools and lagoon at the resort were perfect for them. We're already trying to plan our trip back in a few years!

Room Tip: Not a room tip, but if you plan on grilling pack your favorite spices from home! It saves you money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a one bedroom unit with an ocean view. The room was spacious and included a washer/dryer. The only noise I heard in the room were the birds around 6 am but I was okay with that. There are three pools at the resort: one is a quiet pool, another is a gradual entry pool with fake sand (caution, it's hard on your feet after a bit but kids don't seem to mind) and the other half is a regular pool, and my favourite pool is the one with waterfalls and a waterside. However my favourite place to be was the beach/lagoon. I would recommend renting a cabana chair as there is no shade on the beach. The Disney Resort is a short walk on the beach away and is fun to check out. My only complaint is that if you want to go anywhere you need a car. There is no shuttle to this resort and if you want to do a tour like Polynesian Cultural Centre they only offer transportation once a week. For the most part this was not a big deal for us. If you do have a car a target is a short distance away to pick up groceries. Or take a cab as its not a huge distance away. This was one of my favourite resorts of all the places I have stayed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed in this area in the past and it is a beautiful area. We have stayed in the Marriott Hotel several times no complaints! This was our second time at the Beach Club, the first time everything was at least acceptable if you were very tolerant .This the second time service was undeniably crappy, the people with few exceptions were rude or out to lunch at every level of service other than housekeeping which done a good job. WHAT leaves an especially bad taste in your mouth is this is a VERY expensive property that attempts to find ways to charge you even more and that is somewhat acceptable when the experience is superior this wasn’t a superior experience. The worst was the supposed $150 meal credit they so generously proclaim to give you IT IS THE RIP OFF THE CENTURY. First of all its very unclear that all the restaurant’s in the property don’t participate their reasoning/explanation is well it’s in the fine print , Come on Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club HOW Many people go on vacation to a resort to read the fine print about a supposed free meal credit!! Of course they got very defensive about this as they have to know it’s VERY MISLEADING and makes people angry when they find out they have eat on the property because of the meal credit and now it comes out of their pocket not a meal credit. It’s a beautiful area but stay there with caution and read every detail and personally I would choose the Marriott Hotel and forget the Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club .

Room Tip: ASK for a room away from elevator exits they are very noisy ,and ask a lot of detailed questions as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ww stayed here for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom Island view suite. It had all amenities including a washer and drier and full kitchen. We had an island view on the 1st floor which was really a parking lot view, but it didn't matter to us, as we have 4 busy children and were only in our room to sleep and have the odd meal. There are 2 on-site restaurants, one high end (Chuck's) with entrees costing around $45 dollars and a medium end, more casual restaurant (Longboards) costing about $12-$15 per entree. Our family enjoyed Longboards because of hte cheaper prices, great food and nightly supper entertainment. Make sure to reserve at prime times or you have to wait about 30 mins. The beach is steps from the resort.....it actually is right on the resort. Some locals use the lagoon area for swimming, as there are 4 lagoons in the area, all within walking distance... a beautiful nightly stroll, but with the other public beaches in the area, it wasn't a trouble at all. Tuesday nights they have an on-site luau called Fia Fia and is a great family event, though expensive. There are also excursions around the island that can be booked through the concierge desk. There is also a car rental on site. The pool area was pretty good for the resort size, especialy considering you can walk straight out of the pool and onto the beach and into the ocean water. During peak periods it might get a bit crowded around the pool. All in all, a great family vacation with some much needed rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For Oahu properties, this is one of the best. Location is the best. Good to be away from Waikiki to enjoy Hawaii's real beauty. There are several beach lagoons so there's a path for walking or jogging. People are friendly, the weather is great, the pools are plentiful. I go here almost every year while visiting family and I used to live on Oahu so I know the type of hotels available there. It's also one of the better Marriott Vacation Clubs.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, WA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've been to several Marriott resorts and this is the most beautiful and well run of all. The grounds are amazing, the 'villas' are very well appointed. The staff is friendly and helpful - in fact, they seem to really enjoy their work. The beach is nice, but very small, built on a man-made lagoon, so no long beach walks, but there are trails within the Ko Olina neighborhood, so you can have some nice walks. Usually we find the 'resort activities' uninteresting, but the offerings at this resort were very nice - hula lessons, a plant walk around the resort and a lei making class, just to name a few. I would give it five stars but for the following: there are no reasonably priced restaurants in Ko Olina. I looked at the menus of all of the full service restaurants and they were shocking. It was either pay a fortune for a full service restaurant, or have a salad, sandwich or taco at the little cafes. The other bothersome thing was that I had read a review by another TA contributor who said that the view from his villa was a garage, so we opted for the more expensive 'ocean view'. You can, indeed, be placed in a villa with a view of a garage. However, paying extra for an ocean view does not guarantee you an unobstructed view of the ocean. Our 'ocean view' consisted of 1/4 the marina close by (beyond which there was an oil tank farm and some construction cranes) 1/2 of the villa tower next door and 1/4 the ocean. In my mind 'ocean view' should be a grand, unobstructed view of the ocean, but then, maybe I am too literal! There are some reasonably priced restaurants in Kapolei, but not many unless you want to go to a chain restaurant - why go all the way to Hawai'i to eat at a Chili's? The spa looked lovely, but the prices were prohibitive, so we decided to wait until we got home for a relaxation massage.

Room Tip: Ask about the view - you may or may not get a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92 - 161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.