We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
GreenLeadersGold level
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We loved the hotel. The rooms are plush and very very nice. The bartenders outside and inside were great. The staff by the pool not so attentive. The parking rate is over priced and you need a car. It is a long way to town and the traffic is horrible. The pool is small but we rented a cabana everyday. The service for cabanas was bad. I had to get my drinks at the bar. We like maui better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our sincere apologies. The lack of proper service and lack of attentiveness you described are not consistent with the standards of the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, as it is not the service we strive to offer our loyal guests. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our relaxing location and extensive facilities. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. Our SpeediShuttle services on property are available to assist with transfers to/from the airport, Waikele Shopping Center, and Waikiki. Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns. We hope you give us another chance to create a new impression. Aloha and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    445
    130
    71
    37
See reviews for
391
632
20
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uralla, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have previously only stayed in Waikiki when on Oahu so our trip up to the west coast was a pleasant surprise.This is a relaxed resort set in beautiful surroundings.Our room had a magnificent coastline view and great balcony .We tried all the restaurants on site and found no fault.The pool is great (partic Curtis and his wonderful mai-tais!)and the beachside particularly good for families.We were able to shop in Waikiki and Waikele outlets using speedi-shuttle which has an office at the hotel and the concierge at the hotel was happy to organize trips all over Oahu with pick-ups from the hotel.There was also a regular free shuttle all around all the hotels and attractions such as Paradise Cove Luau and Roy's restaurant,within the resort area.We hope to return!

Room Tip: Seaview,high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your compliments. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were excited to hear that you experienced an exquisitely engaged event. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed guest rooms, beachfront location, and relaxing setting. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriott Ihilani for a friend's wedding. Our rooms was spacious and clean with an ocean view. The bathroom had dual sinks, a bath tub and separate shower. We also had a large balcony. The area is very quiet and the beach/lagoon does not get as crowded as the beaches in Waikiki. There are a few other resorts on this part of the island but still relatively quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your compliments. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were excited to hear that you experienced an exquisitely engaged event. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed guest rooms, beachfront location, and relaxing setting. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

How comfortable and relaxing it is to be on a sofa on the balcony overlooking the ocean! As Marriott Platinum level we were upgraded to ocean view rooms on the 12th floor and find them to be very spacious, clean, well-decorated and quiet. The design of the balconies lets them have great views but also privacy. The staff here have all been very helpful and friendly.
Our family especially enjoyed the shark pond. There also are turtles swimming in the next cove northward.
Room service breakfast arrived within 20 minutes and was delicious. The only downside we've noticed in this resort is dangerously fast drivers in the parking garage (a series of single drivers, maybe late for work); a speed bump or two might help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and loyalty as a Marriott Platinum member. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your Hawaii family vacation. Thank you for recognizing the staff as they take pride in serving you. We appreciate your participation and feedback. We regularly make improvements as a result of the valuable feedback we receive from our guest. I have shared your comments with our leadership team to discuss possible changes to better serve our guests in the future. We were excited to hear that our overall stay was enjoyable and look forward to guiding you every step along the way. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I travelled to Hawaii for my wedding ceremony/honeymoon and overall had a fabulous time. I stayed on 3 different islands and 4 different resorts, unfortunately this resort was my least favorite. I've stayed in the Ko'Olina Beach Villas 2 other times (prior to the existence of the Disney Resort next door)... The front desk/concierge/spa ladies were about the only great parts, they were extremely friendly and very eager to help whenever I called. I was upgraded to an ocean view room right above the pool area, the view was lovely but the noise was terrible. The resort seemed a bit warn and not as clean as I hoped. The Disney resort next door has definitely taken the quiet Ko'Olina ambiance and turned it into a rat race. The lagoons are lovely but this resort shares a lagoon with the Disney resort and there are far too many people/kiddos to enjoy a semi-quiet afternoon in front of your hotel. The food is mediocre and expensive, alcohol is outrageous just like every other resort. The waitstaff is friendly but lazy, you'll be encouraged to pickup your "welcome gift" from the "welcome desk" attempting to set you up with an appointment with a less than enthusiastic/annoyed worker to hear about the "point program" (aka timeshare) 20 mins after checking in.

The first night we were woke up numerous times by loud guests in the pool area (around 130am) the again by the lagoon sweeper (at 430am), so as long as you keep your balcony doors closed at night, you'll sleep well. The resort does charge a $25 resort fee for internet etc, but I was unable to stay connected due to weak signals and the "engineer" was sent multiple times to fix this. Finally I was told that if I needed the wireless internet, I needed to sit on my balcony to receive the signal from the room next door to connect and stay connected. The phones were too statically to hear much when I made outgoing calls. Nothing too bad, just overall not worth the value. If I were to ever return back to Ko'Olina, it would be to stay in the beach villas and nothing else. The Disney Resort next door was very nice and extremely clean (much like every Disney property) but a ton of people and 80% of the rooms are timeshare rooms (very expensive) and if you're traveling without children, you'd probably want to stay in a quieter place.

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth the upgrade if you can handle the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope you give us another chance to create a new impression. The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa is indeed a special place for sunsets as it is truly an outer island experience on Oahu, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. We do offer quieter rooms on the sunset side that can be reserved upon request. As a valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us. Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns. We regularly make improvements to our service as a result of the valuable feedback we receive from our guests. We were excited to hear that your overall wedding and ceremony was fabulous. We hope to serve you again in the future. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, for a wedding, after being on waikiki for 4 nights. First off, Huge change of pase after staying on waikiki. Very calm and relaxing here, which was wonderful and really wish we had more time to enjoy the peace. Even though it's right next to the Disney resort, you can only tell if you go on the beach mid day.
The staff was great! So helpful!!! We booked a room for one night, but showed up a day early cause our plans to stay with the wedding party fell through. Though they initially thought that the hotel was booked, they found us a beautiful room. Though it was pricey, it made our life and the wedding parties' lives a whole lot easier. The view was amazing, ocean front, but even rooms with the mountain view are incredible! One con, I loved sleeping with the lani open, but they spray the pool area at 5am, not pleasant to hear.
I used the salon to have my hair done for my friend's wedding. The girls were great. Kristen did my hair and she was very sweet and loved to talk about the islands and what to do while we were there. I wish we had our mini vacation before the wedding, cause she had a lot of great tips. The salon was very accommodating to all of us in the wedding party, even the little girls.
One huge negative:the wedding planner was crap! She seemed like she had it together during the rehearsal, but when the wedding day came, she was a mess! So unorganized! And this is coming from a pretty chill bride who got married 5 months prior. I had to set up the decorations with another bridesmaid before the ceremony cause she wouldn't do it. Im sorry, but for as much as my friend paid to have her wedding there, they better have set up stuff for me!
Back to the hotel, it's super nice and fancy. Never like a place I would choose to stay myself, im not super fancy, but I loved that I had the opportunity! Plus...the bride and groom met Steve Young at the pool!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment and hope you give us another chance to create a new impression. Our staff enjoys personalizing your experience and getting to know you. We have passed down your praises to Kristen. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do not have an on-site wedding coordinator, but our events team works very closely with wedding couples and their wedding planner of choice. We apologize for the overwhelming feeling you felt during that day. Thank you again for sharing your concerns. We were elated to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and relaxing. We hope you to serve you again in the future. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The people at this resort are very nice and helpful, making this stay very relaxing. The view from our balcony over the lagoon was outstanding. The gardens were picture perfect. The swimming was ver nice on sand bottom and further out in the coral area there were a lot of colorful fish. The restaurant has very poor selection and is overpriced. Itbis better to go to the Denny's close by where you can choose from the healthy menu and get a good price of one third the price at this resort. The cleaning staff did a mediocre job as our sheets were damp and the floors were not cleaned very well. The kabanas were crap and did shade my wife from the sun. This hotel should look into real kabanas that I would gladly rent out as my wife is a melanoma survivor and I would like to keep it that way. Across the street from the hotel there are good restaurants at a more reasonable price. There should be traffic lights due to the amount of traffic. Does someone have to killed before traffic lights are put up? Hawaii is always a good time because the scenery driving around and the people here are outstanding. Which is why we go to Hawaii every year. Also the hotel taxes which I do understand amount to around $59 a night which i thought was crazy.

Room Tip: High up and over looking the lagoon. Give the reception person at least $40 to makecsurecyou get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear that you wanted to quench your thirst for quiet luxury. Thank you for recognizing the staff as they take pride in serving you. The lack of proper service and lack of attentiveness you described are not consistent with the standards of the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa. We have followed up with our team to ensure such a situation does not recur. We appreciate your feedback and regularly make improvement as a result of the valuable feedback we receive from our guests. The safety and security of our guests is of high priority, the traffic lights have been implemented and are fully functioning at the intersection you have mentioned. We were thrilled to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and hope to serve you again in the future. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Address: 92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa is an oceanfront hotel that overlooks one of four beach coves. AAA Four Diamond rating with spacious guest rooms and lanais located on the western shore of Oahu. Guests enjoy on the on-site spa, sumptuous dining options and the championship Ko Olina Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Ihilani Hotel Kapolei
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa Hawaii/Oahu
Marriott Kapolei
Kapolei Marriott
Jw Marriott Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.