We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
GreenLeadersGold level
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently returned from our 10 year wedding anniversary trip to Hawaii. We stayed 3 nights at the JW. It was a trip of a lifetime. This hotel is better than pictures indicate. We had a wonderful time. I would like to say a special "thank you" to Vicky. She served us room service breakfast every morning on our balcony. She gave us helpful hints on the island and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we returned to our rooms every afternoon. Also, would like to "thank" our waiter from The Terrace restaurant. After dinner one of the nights, he delivered a chocolate dessert tray to our room because he thought the entree took too long to arrive. Wow!!!
I would definitely recommend the JW Marriott hotel to anyone traveling to Oahu. Don't waste your time staying in Honolulu or Waikiki, way too crowded. This hotel is the best!! Thank you, JW, for making our 10 year anniversary trip a lifelong dream come true! We hope to see you again on our 20 year anniversary :)

Room Tip: High floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your 10 year anniversary. We sincerely appreciate being part of your lifelong dream. Our staff enjoys personalizing your experience and getting to know you. We have passed down your praises to Vicki and will make sure to thank your waiter from Naupaka Terrace. We look forward to your return visit. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    397
    122
    67
    37
See reviews for
344
579
19
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

When I left my one night in Waikiki, I headed to another Marriott property that was closer to my business destination. I have stayed in Ko Olina numerous times, but never at the Ihilani. I cashed in most of my Marriott points and some Amex points so that I could stay at the Ihilani (otherwise the price tag would have been too steep for me.) My primary goal was location, having a desk and internet access. I had a great desk, internet would have been steep at $15/day - but I received it free because of my Marriott status. I was in a nicely appointed room with a bathroom almost as big as the bedroom. This hotel captures the essence of what one hopes to have in a resort destination. Beautifully appointed hotel and grounds and right on the beach at cove 1. I did not dine in the hotel on this trip, but have done so many times in the past. The food has always been good, but pricey. A Starbucks opened recently in the hotel lobby - what a nice bonus. There are also many food options available across the street at the Kapolei Station. My only negative, was that I was disappointed that the advertised refrigerator was actually a mini bar cooler. To keep things cold, I made many trips to the ice machine. If you have the $$$$$ to spend, you will find this hotel relaxing and refreshing compared to the insanity of Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade - there are dollars involved - I am not sure how much, but it cant hurt to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and were elated to hear that you were thoughtfully rewarded. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. Refrigerators may be requested and are based on availability. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the full-service Starbucks in the lobby and new dining options within the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location is great if you want to get away from the hustle of Waikiki
So you are left here to your own devices of a private Lagoon for the hotel guest, a great walking path, good restaurants and a location for be away from it all.
The hotel room is very comfortable with a good size, bathrooms for his and hers, great shower and a tub.
You need a vehicle or transport as you are in a resort but there is no need to leave here as all your needs are taken care of
A great pool and hot tub for only hotel guests
Service is exceptional as all Marriott hotels especially the JW's
The bed feels like you are in a cloud of air....

Room Tip: The higher floors has a great view and ask for an ocean view which views the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were elated to hear that you enjoyed our place in paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I arrived later in the day for the first 2 nights of a larger O'ahu holiday and so only had a short visit at the JW Marriott Ihilani but loved every minute and the only problem was leaving.

I was given room #831 and it was high enough to see over the trees and offered a sweeping view along north the coast. The sunset the night of arrival was memorable and made all the more so by watching it from what is a very large veranda which has two sturdy wood framed loungers and two comfy chairs beside a table. Access to the veranda is through two floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors that can be left open and either screen doors closed to keep the bugs out or wooden louvered doors rolled across. It was nice to open the glass doors fully and close the screen doors so you could hear the birds and feel a tropical breeze.

The room itself was large with two double beds, each with a small loveseat at the end, a sitting area and desk, enormous bathroom with deep soaker tub and shower stall plus two vanity desks on either side of the room. The water pressure was a little lower than I'd prefer and it took a bit for the hot water to arrive but those are two nitpicky things in what was a palatial bathroom. There is an entryway that has an alcove with a cabinet for the mini-fridge and safe. The mini-fridge was empty upon arrival and somewhat expected it to be full of high priced sodas and snacks. Overall the room had a good flow and at around 650 sq. ft. is large enough to not make a couple or family feel cramped.

The cove beach is protected from pounding surf and so would be excellent for those who aren't strong swimmers or small children. The sand is soft and golden brown and extends all the way around past the neighboring Disney Aulani Resort. There is a pool close to the beach and plenty of loungers available so never felt the need to rush down early in the morning to claim my spot.

There are off-property shopping & dining choices available a short, 5-10 minute stroll away should you want to try other dining and entertainment options. Golf courses are also within a short distance and gold packages & tee times can be confirmed at the concierge desk.

I appreciated the resort for its tranquil location away from the high energy of Waikiki and would recommend it for those wanting a quiet beach or golf escape. O'ahu has lots to offer and was glad I was able to explore more of the island I hadn't seen before including the Ko Olina area and north along the coast to Makaha using the JW Marriott as a base. I was happy was able to experience this resort even if it was far too short a stay and plan to return for a longer stay hopefully one day soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear that you experienced memorable and enjoyable moments on the Leeward coast of Oahu. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the tranquil location, sunsets, well appointed guestrooms, private beach coves, and dining options. For your next stay, we invite you to utilize the complimentary resort shuttle for easy transportation and to view our virtual market on Ihilani.com to stock your fridge prior to arrival. Thank you again for your review and the beautiful pictures you have attached. We look forward to your return visit. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay for our anniversary and booked it through Pleasant Holidays.Staff is wonderful! We tried paddle boarding, enjoyed beautiful sunsets. Everything exceeded our expectations. Only complaints was that the poolside drinks were a bit spend (ie $29 for two piña coladas) and bring a rental car if u are staying for more than a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani for your anniversary. For you next visit, we invite you to try our SpeediShuttle transportation services for arrival/departures to the airport and numerous special stops that allow you to explore, shop, play and dine. You may make reservations online, by phone, or at our SpeediShuttle desk on property. The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa is indeed a special place for sunsets as it is truly an outer island experience on Oahu, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. We sincerely appreciate your review and the beautiful sunset picture you have attached. We look forward to your return visit. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a fantastic stay we had at this elegant resort. After spending 4 nites in Waikiki, which was very nice, we wisely concluded with an additional 4 nites here. Altho we enjoyed our stay in the hustling, bustling heart of Honolulu, it was such a beautiful change of scenery to come here. Our room was incredible. Altho technically not a full on ocean front room, the angle of the coastline actually made it seem as if it was directly fronting the ocean. Nothing like that first moment when we walked in the room and faced the extremely wide balcony, with it's breathtaking view. A shout out to Dominic who checked us in and upgraded us at no extra charge. The room included a king sized bed with - get this - full king sized feather pillows. Talk about lush and plush! Our bathroom was ginormous with a separate walk-in shower and a large, deep bathtub, plus his-n-her sinks on either side of the bathroom. Incredible.

The lobby is beautiful, with the open atrium portion extending all the way to the highest floor. The grounds are extremely clean and well kept. The circular pool, while not amusement-sized or gussied up, more than satisfied. The beach is right there and as you may already know, it fronts a man-made cove, which made for easy swimming, snorkling, paddling, etc. We had dinner our first night at Azul, their signature restaurant and our meals were outstanding. We also had their breakfast buffet each day, as it was included in our package. And our last night, which was a Saturday, we had the seafood buffet at the same place. To be honest, it really wasn't all that, at least not for the money. My suggestion is to wait until the next day, when they serve a Sunday brunch. Most of what they had in the seafood buffet could be found at the brunch (minus the king crab legs and their New England style seafood pot), but at a much lower price - plus you still get the full breakfast to boot. But that's a minor glitch to an othwerwise perfect stay. All in all, we had a fantabulous time at this fantabulous resort and could not give a higher recommendation if we tried!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room with a sunset view, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for part of your romantic getaway. We were excited to hear that you experienced two different parts of the island during your recent vacation. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beach activities, Azul (JW Marriott Ihilani signature Italian restaurant), and the various buffets. Thank you for recognizing the staff as they take pride in serving you. We have passed down your praises to Dominic. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation for others to experience a truly outer island experience on Oahu. We look forward to your next visit. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa lived up to its name. The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa was beautiful inside and out and the location was within steps of the beach. The people at the front desk were extremely polite and helpful. We had initially reserved a mountain view room but were upgraded to an ocean view room upon check-in. We were so pleased with the hotel we decided to stay a second night and were again upgraded to another ocean view room with two balconies (to avoid a move between the two-night stay). The pool was every relaxing and peaceful and only steps away from the lagoon. The Poolside Grill at the pool was very good. (The steak sandwich and onion rings were excellent!)
Because of a family situation, we ended up staying an additional two nights and the hotel was able to keep us in the same room without the upgrade charge. We ate at the Naupaka Terrace and Ushio-Tei. The food was very good at both restaurants. We also had cocktails at the Hokule'a Bar - great view (be careful of the brand drinks - a Grey Goose martini ran us $25) .
After walking through the Aulani (Disney's resort next door to the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa), we appreciated the peacefullness and simplicity of the pool JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa.
Because we had late flight, we requested a late check-out. Although JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa could not accommodate a late check-out, it did provide us with a hospitality room (another hotel room) to shower and get ready for our flight home so we were able to enjoy the pool and beach after our check-out.

We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were elated to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and well appointed guest rooms, beach front location and relaxing setting. Our staff enjoys personalizing your experience and getting to know you. We were excited to hear that you enjoyed several of our dining options during your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Address: 92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa is an oceanfront hotel that overlooks one of four beach coves. AAA Four Diamond rating with spacious guest rooms and lanais located on the western shore of Oahu. Guests enjoy on the on-site spa, sumptuous dining options and the championship Ko Olina Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Ihilani Hotel Kapolei
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa Hawaii/Oahu
Marriott Kapolei
Kapolei Marriott
Jw Marriott Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.