We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but A bit on the fence....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
GreenLeadersGold level
NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good, but A bit on the fence....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is nice. There is lots to do and some good restaurants in the area, even in walking distance. The hotel registration staff was great, upgrading us to a beautiful sunset ocean view room.

The room was smaller than expected, perhaps because of too much furniture. But it is well appointed and in nice shape. Bath was really great with two sinks, vanity, separate shower and tub. The balcony was very large, overlooking trees and beach. Quiet lovely.

The hotel is a bit sterile in decor, and the pool is very, very small, with chairs sometimes hard to get. Strangely, there were TONS on kids in pool....I mean Tons on Sunday...maybe they sell day passes?? Not romantic as expected. also, pool drinks WAY overpriced. $14 for a weak mai tai. When I asked for a bit more rum. The bartender rolled his eyes and sighed. Not nice. Go to Monkeypods down street for AWESOME food and drinks, way better than Marriott.

Everyone talked about the beautiful walkways...which are nice...but I guess I have been to much more lush, pretty resorts. The lagoons are nice, but frankly many spots in Caribbean are nicer.

I think I am on the fence because resort is very nice, but not all that impressive, very expensive, and they nickel and dime you! $35 to park , even for those high up in loyalty program.... In the middle of nowhere with plenty of parking...not like you are in Waikiki....just price gouging...you pay gas to get there, plus rental car AND for parking...AND tips to valet every time they get your car. Just be prepared.

Oh, a tip, Disney next door is building big water slides..right next to Marriott...beware in near future this hotel will be even louder!

Room Tip: Avoid Disney side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. The KoOlina area is indeed a special place for sunsets as it is truly an outer island experience, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given the location to activities and dining options. Thank you again for sharing your feedback as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience because of the location, staff, and beautiful sunsets. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    452
    133
    71
    38
See reviews for
397
645
21
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The property is older, but well maintained. Would have given 5 stars if the property was newer.

Stayed in 1400sft suite with lagoon/ocean view. If you can upgrade to this room you will be a happy camper!!! Nice decor, large rooms, huge bathroom with huge oversized jacuzzi, and a second guest bathroom. Two lanais, one off living area with ocean view, the other off the bedroom with mountains and Disney resort construction views. TV in the bedroom is embedded in the mirror, which is very nice. The bed was comfortable.

The pool is okay, it's reflective of the time the resort was built, could use a make over.
Nice ponds with fish and sting rays on the grounds.
Nice restaurants onsite, although a little pricey.
Quaint gift shop downstairs. Main level has apparel and jewelry stores.
Front desk staff were great and very helpful.
Fitness center located at the spa building which is attached to the parking structure.
Park on level 3 of structure and you can walk right out to walkway that leads to spa/fitness center and to the front of the hotel.

Lagoon is nice, the water is calm & relaxing, although the lagoon can tend to have a lot of kids from Disney property next door.

Hotel located at the beginning of Ko Olina's hotel row. it's convenient and provides easier access to surrounding ABC store, and offsite restaurants, than the Marriott Beach Club.

If you want to stay in the Ko Olina area, stay here!!!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing East with lagoon/ocean views. Opt for upgrade its worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious guestrooms, beach coves, and easy access to the surrounding dining options. For your next visit, we invite you to try our newly designed Naupaka Terrace Steak and Seafood dinner menu. We look forward to your return visit. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at this property. The room was very nicely appointed with a beautiful bathroom. Our meal at one of the restaurants on property - Azul was excellent. However, the pool was very small for such a beautiful property. Also, the gym seemed like an afterthought, with it being crammed into a very small place at the spa. If these two features are not important to you I would enthusiastically recommend this property.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We have a lap pool (adult only) located on the 5th floor of the Ihilani Spa as a water activity option to the main pool or four beach coves. We have an outdoor workout area around the corner of the 24-hour fitness center and a walking trail along side the beach as another workout option. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were excited to hear that your overall experience was very pleasant. Thank you again for your feedback. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was spacious, beautiful, and perfect. The bed was very comfortable. Restaurants delicious and the entire staff couldn't be more friendly. Thank you all. Each room has its own lanai. Soak in the pool or enjoy the lagoon. You have to try the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for the view. Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were elated to hear that you enjoyed the well appointed guestrooms. Thank you for recognizing the staff as they take pride in serving you. We look forward to your return visit. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For our 5th anniversary, the first stop was Oahu and the J W Marriott Ihilani. Overall, our impressions are soundly positive. We really enjoyed our well-appointed room (1610) and would strongly suggest that you ask for a room on the west (leeward) ocean side. (More tranquil too from my research) The sunsets are to die for.

Most of the staff are warm and helpful and the grounds are well maintained. The food is typical Marriott, many choices and all are solid. As less expensive alternatives, however, the Monkeypod and the Island Country Store (ABC chain) have much to offer although restaurant choices are very limited on this side of the island.

Also, and since the lagoon is shared with a Disney property, it's not the most romantic place in then world but great for families. Again, we thoroughly enjoyed stay and would like for our TripAdvisor community to stay well informed about their options.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your 5th anniversary. The KoOlina area is indeed a special place for sunsets as it is truly an outer island experience, which is part of what attracts many of our guests. We do offer beach cabanas for a more private experience that can be reserved upon request. For your next visit, we invite you to contact our concierge to assist you with personalized romantic options that include lanai dining, petal drawn baths, or floral requests. We look forward to your return visit. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Maybe we were just spoiled by our stay at the Fairmont in Wailea (Maui), but this resort was a disappointment in a few respects. The room we got was nicely located with a lagoon and pool view, but it was a little small for this level of resort, and it definitely was not clean (dusty and grimy in some areas), and when we first went in it smelled of mildew and Lysol. We should have said something right away and asked for a different room. When we did say something, a deeper cleaning was done, including the lanai (getting the pigeon poop off of the cushions), and the carpet was cleaned. Still musty smelling the whole week. The resort grew on me during our stay, and it really is beautiful! The breakfast buffet at Naupaka Terrace is good but pricey - we ate large breakfasts and then didn't need lunch. The beach is nice (man-made lagoon) and of course great sunsets from this western end of the island. We chose this resort because we did not want to be in Honolulu/Waikiki traffic, and were very happy with that decision. Stores nearby in Kapolei (including Costco with a gas station), and easy access to the rest of the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment. We take pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay. Thank you for your feedback to improve guest services, we have followed up with our team to ensure such a situation does not recur. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were excited to hear that you were happy with your choice to stay in KoOlina, the beautiful sunsets on the beach, and accessibility to nearby stores. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not so great parts:

This was one of the first big resorts I've stayed in. And I have to say, I was a little disappointed that simple things like free wireless internet was NOT included with a room. Also, their front desk gave out wrong information when we called ahead of time (They DO have a shuttle service from the airport. You do NOT need the expensive, long cab ride). The location of the hotel is rather far from most of O'Ahu's big attractions. (Even Pearl Harbor is a bit of a drive.) The nearest bus stop is over 2 miles away, and rent your car ahead of time. We were there for a conference and the hotel's small fleet of cars were rented out quickly.

Good Parts:

Room was lovely, man made beach was nice and clean, and there was plenty of bird watching to be had within the resort grounds. View of the ocean from the room is incredible, watched whales breaching and full rainbows from the balcony. ABC store and various restaurants are just across the street offered tastier and cheaper menu items. They have amazing lobby ponds with stingrays, spotted eagle rays, hammerhead sharks, and various fish I'd hoped to see snorkeling! Also, they're right next door to a spectacular Luau (Paradise Cove). Also got a view of a monk seal in Paradise Cove.

Room Tip: Ask for room that overlooks the ocean side & Paradise Cove for more whale watching & natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. You are correct, we do have a shuttle service at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa available to and from the airport. We do have an all informative and fun Arizona Memorial & Deluxe Complete City Tour that’s provides transportation. For your next visit, we invite you to contact our concierge who would be more than happy to assist with your personalized services. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were happy to hear that you enjoyed the well appointed guestrooms and were able to catch a glimpse of the active marine life. For your next visit, we invite you try the complimentary snorkeling (1 hour) to catch a glimpse of the resident sea turtle in its natural habitat. Thank you again for your feedback, aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Address: 92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa is an oceanfront hotel that overlooks one of four beach coves. AAA Four Diamond rating with spacious guest rooms and lanais located on the western shore of Oahu. Guests enjoy on the on-site spa, sumptuous dining options and the championship Ko Olina Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Ihilani Hotel Kapolei
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa Hawaii/Oahu
Marriott Kapolei
Kapolei Marriott
Jw Marriott Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.