We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $299
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
GreenLeadersGold level
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband stayed here for a couple of days before heading over to Kona for our daughter's wedding. While it may be fun for some to stay in the hustle/bustle of Waikiki, we opt more for a little quietness.

As it is our 25th wedding anniversary this year we also decided to upgrade for ourselves.

This is an absolutely beautiful property and we had a beautiful room with a gorgeous ocean view.

Our only complaint is when we were staying there, there was a private function going on and late in the evening there was a fire works display (the reason for not giving it a 5). The fireworks display was wonderful to watch, however, with all of the stuff going on with Northern Korea, it would of been nice to know about the fireworks occurring before hand, a heads up when we were checking in. We had just flown in that day and were pretty tired, so I was awaken out of a very deep sleep wondering what was going on. That is the only negative about this place.

Room Tip: We had a room on an upper floor, this I would suggest if you are facing the pool. Stay up above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani for your 25th anniversary. We sincerely apologize for the uncomfortable situation you encountered. We understand how unsettling the initial fireworks display may have been and have noted your concerns for our future guests. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. Thank you again for your feedback as we continually look to improve guest experiences. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    397
    122
    68
    37
See reviews for
344
578
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were here in April for spring break. Being a Mariott Platinum member we were upgraded to a fabulous ocean view room. The room was spacious and seemed like 400 sq ft. The bathroom was modern and super clean. Here are some of the thing we loved and did not love:

LOVED:
--The room and the views
--The overall style of the hotel is modern and expansive--it made the Aulani next door look cramped and dark
--The kids ate breakfast for $9
--The pool was very low key
--Beach was wonderful

DID NOT LOVE:
--Food: There are very few healthy options on the lunch menu. We ate across at the Monkeypod every night!
--There was NO entertainment in the evening--no hula shows, just nothing
--The hot tub needs repairs and a good cleanup
--Very few TV channels

However, we have stayed at many 4-5 star hotels in Hawaii and I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, we were delighted to hear that you were thoughtfully rewarded. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. We do offer gluten free options upon request and have live contemporary entertainment on the weekends. For your next visit, we invite you to experience Paradise Cove or the Fia Fia Luau. Both hula shows are conveniently located within the resort via complimentary resort shuttle. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have stayed here several times. It has always been almost perfect. The staff (with one exception of a receptionist) were as usual fantastic and very helpful.

Now for the negatives:

1. The shampoo tube had barely enough in it for one of us to take a shampoo, and I don't use very much. My wife had brought her own. Do they reuse toiletries?

2. There was a plastic razor blade cover on the bathroom floor. Do they clean the floor between guests?

3. Some paint was chipped in the closet. I can live with that.

4. We did not receive the morning paper. The receptionist said they had run out of them, but I could purchase one at the ABC Store - which wasn't open.

Again, the staff otherwise was fantastic, and the food was great. They have morning coffee in the lobby, which was appreciated.

I hope these complaints will be considered to be constructive - if management ever reads these comments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We take pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your recent visit. We have reached out to you and look forward to hearing from you soon. We were delighted to hear that your overall experience and morning coffee was enjoyable. For your next visit, we would like to invite you to experience the newly opened Starbucks within the lobby. Thank you again for sharing your concerns. Aloha and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I don't think I can say too many good things about this hotel. The staff is very courteous and helpful, with a clear focus on customer service. The hotel is very well maintained. Our room was spotless, with a huge bathroom. We had an ocean view room that did not disappoint. The pool area is amazing, with comfortable chairs and pleasant staff. One of our favorite features is the lagoon with the long beachwalk. We honestly had no complaints about our experience, and we will absolutely return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the calming experience of a walk in paradise. Thank you for recognizing the staff as they take pride in serving you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife, her mom and my twin 2 year old boys stayed 6 nights ay the JW in a double queen ocean facing room on the 11th floor. The rooms was amazingly spacious with a huge balcony and breath taking wall to wall view of the ocean to the north (and some mountain views). We requested a rolling bed for my mother in law which was quite large but still left us plenty of space in the room. The room itself was very nicely designed (including the bathroom which included a hot tub). We woke up to the sound of tropical birds every morning which was a nice addition!

The room service and the quality of food was top notch including homemade waffles, pancake for breakfast. Great Sashimi and Italian plates and other grilled options for the rest of day. The price was fair (about 15-20 per plate) considering the quality. The service was quick and having a fridge in the room helped with left over’s. There was also a small super market about 5 minutes walk up the road which helped to keep my alcohol costs down!

What we enjoyed most of all was the amazing restaurants on the hotel property (the Japanese and Italian ones specially stood out) which made our nights a lot more memorable (while the kids were asleep with their grandma).

What was disappointing about the hotel was its pool which was a tad small and not heated (the weather was surprisingly cool and windy in February which made enjoying the water hard for the twins). The Jacuzzi was also quite small and under repair for a day or two. However, since there is a beautiful lagoon right outside this can't be considered a real drawback. Another small complain I had (which I forgot to mention to the hotel staff) was that there was a leaf blower working about 2 hours midday everyday which was not ideal considering how loud it was.

Overall I can't help but to give the hotel 5 stars!

Room Tip: Get the ocean facing rooms to the north. Definitely worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa for your Hawaiian family vacation. We were excited to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and well appointed guest rooms, beach front location, and relaxing setting. For your next visit, we invite you to view our virtual market on Ihilani.com to stock your fridge prior to arrival. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the pool and leaf blower experience and have passed done your comments to management. We were delighted to hear that your overall experience was memorable. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This resort is soooo pretty! It is in a very quiet part of the island so if you want to spend a lot of your time at a resort, this would be a great hotel to constantly be at.

My room was gorgeous. It is a big hotel for business works so there are many high tech amenities in the room. The telephone has a touch screen pad. There is a nice L shaped desk with flat screen TV and about 6 plugs right on the desktop. The walk in closet was huge. The bathroom was by far the best hotel bathroom I ever had. There are two sinks and mirrors across from each other. The toilet is separate from the bathroom. The bathtub is big and the shower has a seat inside. I even fell in love with the complimentary bathroom amenities! The shampoo, conditions, lotion, and wash all smell wonderful and work well. The lighting was great too. No bright neon lights! The bed was tall and comfortable. The balcony is amazing. It is huge with a lounging couch, two chairs and a table. Plus there are three doors to the balcony: the screen, the glass door, and blinds. I loved the screen so I was able to hear the ocean, but without having bugs come in.

Some parts of the hotel are located across the lobby entrance. A building hosts the spa, gym, outside tennis courts, and adult only pool. The only thing is that you don't see the ocean from the building so if you want a pool with a nice view, you will have to use the regular pool which is still nice, but it isn't adults only. Walking around the property, it is large and well maintained. It would be perfect to have an outside event. An employee told me that many times you can see the whales from the well manicured lawn. They also have a pretty lagoon/fountain with sting rays and sharks. Something unique.

I also saw the Presidential Suite and all I can say is WOW. Absolutely amazing. Try to request to see it if you can!

The only negative about this resort is that Disney's Aulani is next door and there was construction going on. I'm sure the resort was much quieter when Aulani wasn't around. I know that the resort can't do anything about it, but I'm sure people can get irritated if their room view was of the Aulani construction.

The beach is nice. Great place to lounge. There are man made wave breakers so it is good for people who don't want any rough waves while swimming or for children.

Everyone working at the hotel was very friendly. Check in was easy same with check out. I had a Caesar salad that was yummy and huge. I had a conference in the meeting room. My group called it the 'Donald Trump" room because of the huge leather chairs, chandelier, and gorgeous long wooden table. Certainly not a boring conference room and they didn't skimp out on the decoration. We also had breakfast there. Open face scramble eggs with ham, asparagus, and goat cheese. I cleaned my plate for that breakfast!

I HIGHLY recommend this resort for anyone. A romantic trip, family, business... as long as your don't mind being away from all the shops and entertainment like Waikiki has. VIP Vacations definitely knew how awesome this resort was when they recommended it to me.

Room Tip: Avoid any type of "resort view" room. It might have a view of the Aulani construction. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. As our guest at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort & Spa, we were excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your conference was perfectly orchestrated. We appreciate your high recommendation for others to experience quiet luxury. Thank you again for your review and the beautiful pictures you have attached. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Gate, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this property, the hotel is in a quiet area of the island, however, Disney has invaded, and is now building a second tower. The hotel has a nice swimming lagoon, and a nice pool area albiet small. The rooms are laid out very nicely, and large. The room we were in had a very large patio, and a nice 4 person hot tub. It was on the first floor in a very private part of the hotel, which I guess was part of the problem with the housekeeping staff. Service was done very late in the day on many days, the turndown service was 3 for 5 of the nights (we called on 2 of the three nights ) Even the newspaper was not delivered on a regular basis. The room seemed to be a forgotten child,even though it was a very expensive room. The best laugh was the glasses they left in the room, the first three days they were the size of an oversized shot glass,then they finally placed normal size glasses (2). I did report these problems to the manager, he was very gracious and tried to help , but it was still the same. They need a new head of housekeeping. The other problem with this hotel is the disney fiasco, after this new tower comes on line the area will not be the same.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are very nice, but it seems you can't go wrong with most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are aware of the disappointment we have delivered at the time but we hope that we may have another opportunity to deliver the service we are known for. We have passed down your feedback to management to improve guest services. Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns and we hope to see you again in the future. Aloha and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Address: 92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa is an oceanfront hotel that overlooks one of four beach coves. AAA Four Diamond rating with spacious guest rooms and lanais located on the western shore of Oahu. Guests enjoy on the on-site spa, sumptuous dining options and the championship Ko Olina Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Ihilani Hotel Kapolei
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa Hawaii/Oahu
Marriott Kapolei
Kapolei Marriott
Jw Marriott Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.