We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $299
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
GreenLeadersGold level
Marietta, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel before and this was the best trip ever, The staff went out of there way to make the vacation a wonderful memory. We will not hesitate to tell others to stay there, and I am quite sure we will return soon.

Room Tip: Our room on the seventh floor facing the pool was wonderful, quiet and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    397
    122
    68
    37
See reviews for
344
578
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful! This hotel is on the other side (leeward) of Waikiki so a car is necessary. The cost of parking actually cost more then the car rental, but it's Hawaii!

Pulling up to the hotel, the valets were super nice and helpful. You could valet or self park. They were quick to get you your vehicle and always asked where you were headed so they could offer you some pointers (spot to eat, sight to see) if you wanted, they also offered you towels to take with you in case you decide to stop by a beach.

Check in was a breeze. Wifi is free you just need to get a code from the front desk. Room were nice, large bathrooms, vanity, nice comfy bed, inroom safe, fridge, sitting area, great ocean views. Nice balcony to sit on and have some drinks and take in the view.

There was a seafood buffet the night we arrived, so we ate there, it was delicious!! Their breakfasts were really yummy as well. We ventured out for eats as well. There's a very good BBQ place down the street is the plaza. Also there an abc store, good for getting snacks and drinks. And a great ice cream place.

Back to the hotel, the grounds were immaculate. There are many many fish, starfish, stingray and hammerhead sharks...you can watch them go crazy during feeding time. The pool was nice, not to big but was never overcrowded, chairs were always available. The beach was beautifully kept. The water was nice and you could snorkel out, not far about waist deep and you'll see lots of fish. The hotel lent me a life vest so I could just use it to float in the water and snorkel.

All the restaurants were good, the poolside food is great too. Naupaka was great for breakfast.
The spa is pricey but the massage felt so relaxing it was worth it!

The hotel is in it's own little bay and there are a few connecting, you can walk along the whole stretch to the next hotel and Ko'olina marina. We walked along the beach to the next hotel for the luau show, it was not on at this hotel at the time.

The drive to Waikiki, Pearl Harbor, north shore, diamond head, etc was super easy. We didn't get stuck in any traffic. There's a target pretty close by if you forget anything or if you want bottled water, drinks, snacks, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my newly discovered slice of heaven. It is well off the beaten track of the Waikiki Beach, about 16 miles away from the airport in the opposite direction. It can be a long haul, on a Friday at 4:00 it took more than an hour. Which I quickly forgot once I was there.

The Ko Olina resort area is segregated from a lot of the neighboring areas so there is not a lot of "commercial" anything here. There is the Ihilani, the Disney resort and a Marriott timeshare. (There is construction at the Disney resort which is noisy but you can find a place where it won't really bother your.) Each resort has different dining options so I decided against a rental car and I did not regret it. First - you save on the expensive parking fee and 2nd there are really enough places that you can eat in a different restaurant every night in a week if you move between the three resorts.

The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. The bathroom is great with two sinks well separated, a shower and soaking tub. The room had a small refrigerator and coffee maker. Each room has a balcony with views depending on the price, I had a nice view of the water and a bit of a car park - it was just fine and the outdoor furniture was pleasant enough. I never really heard a lot of noise so was very happy.

The workout facility was nice - several treadmills, bikes, etc in the spa building. It was dead every day at 2:00 so I loved that! The spa looked decent but I did not have time as I was far too busy vegetating by the water.

The beach is a little different as there are lagoons around the resorts rather than being directly on the water. The actual beach is rocks - not at all safe so they have created these nice lagoons that are well protected and plenty big for people to swim, canoe, etc. There are also some wonderfully secluded spaces at the water where you can escape to read - while hearing the water and the wind rustling through the trees. I could pitch a tent there and live the rest of my life.

I had a couple of small problems that were remedied in very quick order. The staff was very friendly.

I would recommend this resort to anyone but really prefer you don't tell anyone about it so I can keep it for myself.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are better as there are a lot of trees that would block your view of the water on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for business and wanted to get away from our usual stay in Waikiki . First thing we noticed was how unfriendly the staff was. I stay over 80 nights a year at marriotts and by far the staff here was the worst. Felt like everytime we asked them so something it was an issue. Bell man brought my bag to my rooms and all I had was $20 bill. Asked him for $10 back and pitched a fit he had to get me change. Had a pretty big incident with the staff but that thanks to one staff member who made it right I will not disclose. Needless to say we were supposed to be there for 2 days and ended up leaving after 1. I agree with the other reviews that this place was empty. We were traveling during spring break for most people and there was no one here. I would be suspect about staying here. The Marriott timeshare properties just down the road was bustling with people. If you are a Marriott frequent guest this is not the the JW you have stayed at.

Ended up at the Marriott in Waikiki and upon our arrival we finally felt the aloha spirit we love about Hawaii. Super friendly staff. We cancelled our other reservations and stayed here for the remainder of the week.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First let me start with the amazing room - it's huge with an awesome lanai. We had what they called a partial ocean view - I'm not sure what they were talking about, because it was an amazing full ocean view with complete privacy. The beach view wings might have a better view of the surf - but the view we had was perfect for us. I don't think I would have liked a garden view as those rooms overlooked the driveway and the front of the building. But at night you could sleep with the patio doors open, the ceiling fan on, and the sound of the surf crashing ashore.

The bathroom - again top notch! Love, love, love.

The beaches - just incredible that you have four coves at your disposal - either close to the resort or further down the shore for more privacy.

I much preferred the half-week spent here after coming from the Ali'i Tower at the HIlton Hawaiian Village in Waikiki.

Room for improvement (minor quibbles): Our electronic Privacy button didn't seem to work - housekeeping came knocking twice thinking we had vacated the room. We didn't watch much TV, but did notice the two times that we tried to catch up on the news that the audio continually bounced around - so watching CNN it would get loud and then soft again. No one told us about the shuttle. We drove over to Roy's one night for dinner because it was pouring, so after I parked I came running up to the restaurant in the rain only to see the hotel shuttle dropping off some nice dry passengers from our hotel. (It was funny, but wish we'd known about the option). The gym was great, but the machines needed attention. The heart-rate monitor on some of them didn't function - for others they were set to the metric system with no obvious way to switch back - so trying to enter my weight on an elliptical machine had me doing math. While I loved the room, I wasn't so thrilled with the bed. I don't know what was under the sheets but over the mattress, but whenever you'd move in bed, it would remind of the sounds you hear on a leather couch.

While the beaches are amazing and the pool isn't bad, there weren't many areas with shade where someone could just hang out. The lobby was nice, but I like resorts that have more places to relax and unwind. Though I have to say, the room and lanai were so nice that I spent and awful lot of time there.

Last issue - and this is a pet peeve - the manager sent us strawberries dipped in chocolate and a nice bottle of wine on check-in. This was greatly appreciated, however, the welcome greeting that accompanied them was addressed to "Mr. & Mrs. XXX". Um... It's the 21st Century and we're a Gay couple. It would have been more appropriate to address "The XXXs" or something similar.

All in all, I'd happily return to my "partial ocean view" in the future.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View rooms also have spectacular views of the ocean, just not of the beach. The lanais...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The property provides for a relaxed atmosphere with the amenities of a full service resort. The bonus of having the lagoons and walking path to the marina nearby are a perfect way to start the day. We dined at the pool side bar as well as the main restaurant. Additional food options are nearby within walking distance and a shuttle is also offered which we took and dined at Roy’s one evening. You will want to have a rental car as there is really nothing close once you leave the immediate resort area.

I was originally concerned that the Disney resort next door would add a lot of children near the beach but they seemed to stay primarily within their resort. The JW pool is small but offers attentive service.

Rooms are well appointed and the large bathroom with double vanity and separate soaking tub and shower were terrific. The mattress and bedding leaves a bit to be desired and although obviously updated at sometime, certain areas of the facility seemed a bit tired for a JW considering the prices. That being said, I would certainly make a return trip.

Room Tip: You will want an ocean view that will allow you to enjoy the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were so lucky to stay here for the first few days of an almost 3 week vacation. What a amazing place. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean, and the first day, when we went down to the water, there was a monk seal (see pics) sunning himself ! They also had make your own leis in the lobby, which was a great way to start your Hawaiian Vacation. In the mornings you are able to go down and feed the fish, and are given a sheet with all the different fish, my children used it their entire stay in Hawaii ! I really cannot think of anything bad to say about this beautiful place, I guess the one thing I could say should change was the "add ons" like feeding the sharks etc. Seems sort of silly to pay so much for a resort, and then have to pay to do such things. My suggestion would be make it an event and choose a few people to participate :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Address: 92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa is an oceanfront hotel that overlooks one of four beach coves. AAA Four Diamond rating with spacious guest rooms and lanais located on the western shore of Oahu. Guests enjoy on the on-site spa, sumptuous dining options and the championship Ko Olina Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Ihilani Hotel Kapolei
JW Marriott Ihilani Resort And Spa Hawaii/Oahu
Marriott Kapolei
Kapolei Marriott
Jw Marriott Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.