We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Great view from a great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina to your Saves list
Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707 (Formerly Marriott Ihilani)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Service, Great view from a great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel within a nice resort location, though too far from Honolulu for my tastes. But still, a great get-away location. At check-in I was up-sold a deluxe ocean view. It was a high floor corner with a great view and worth the $50 a night sur-charge. Room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Nice selection at buffet breakfast. Main pool a bit small and over-crowded with children for my tastes. The stingrays swimming around in the pond are a fun touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and well appointed guest room, beach front location and breakfast buffet. For your next visit, we invite you to participate in the Reef and Ray adventure that will allow an interactive touching and feeding session with all the marine life in our salt water ponds. We also have daily fish feeding out in the beach cove for more marine life activities. We hope to see you on another romantic getaway soon! Sincerest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    454
    134
    72
    38
See reviews for
402
647
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days here before we headed to Maui. The room was great and the service was excellent. We even got an upgrade on the room! I would definitely stay here again. The only critique is that we returned from a day of sightseeing and my shoes were muddy. The valet asked where we had been and I told him we hiked Manoa Falls and Diamondhead. He said he had never been there. How can you grow up in Hawaii and not be familiar with things like that? We ate at the hotel and the food was very good. We were also there during a food event in September and were treated to great fireworks in the cove. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani for your four day vacation on Oahu. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious room and the excellent service you received. It is pretty common for locals to stay within the city they live in, especially since there is always a beach, hiking trail, golf course, spa facility, shopping mall, et al within 20 minutes of their location. Thank you for joining us at the Hawaii Food and Wine Festival. We were elated to hear that we may expect to see you in the future. Mahalo nui loa and a hui hou, thank you very much and until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'm soooo glad I stayed here and away from Waikiki beach. I'm not sure what all the average/bad reviews are about for this place. We were told they were doing some reinovating and customers were complaining more, thus they decided to stop and would wait to finish the remodeling after they shut down the resort for a few months at least that is what we were told)...maybe that is what a good chuck of them were about.

I thought the resort was beautiful. You could see some wear in rooms with some of the chairs looking a little beat up and the showers not in mint condition, but it was nothing that would not keep me from coming back. Specially, if and when they complete the remodeling, this place will be immaculate,

Pros:
- Beautiful Resort
- Great location area (beautiful all around the resort area)
- Amazing sunsets
- Friendly staff
- Large Bathrooms
- Beautiful man made large lagoons (can walk to all four of them)
- Great candle lite dinner at Naupaka Terrace
- Scenic and quiet bar scene at Hokule'a Bar
- Nightly entertainment

Cons
- A little away from everything on Oahu (about 15-20 miles from Honolulu
- Some of the Furniture/stand up shower could use some remodeling
- Disney next door...beach had quite a few kids on it (luckily the beach is large)
- Pool is tiny...never used it
- No Lei when you arrive (at least not for us)

Overall, the only reason I don't rate this place excellant is because of the slight wear and tear of the rooms. If and when I come back to Oahu, this will definitely be one of the top places I look into staying again at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani for your romantic getaway. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious rooms, amazing sunsets, and private beach coves. For you next visit, we invite you to dine at our signature Italian restaurant Azul or Japanese restaurant Ushio-tei for additional romantic dinning options. Thank you again for you review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and 2 children stayed here for 7 nights recently and have nothing for praise for this resort, their staff and the location. Yes it is slightly isolated but you really do not need to leave ! The pool and lagoon are perfect for the kids, we literally spent hours just relaxing mainly by the pool while the kids swam. The friendly staff were always of assistance and nothing was too much trouble. Our kids felt at home and were comfortable in making there way around the resort together. If you want to relax, but still have the option of visiting the busy Waikiki, then I am confident you will enjoy this resort as we did

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are honored that you and your family felt at home and were able to find rest and relaxation during your stay. We were excited to hear that you chose to stay with us because you wanted a different experience from Waikiki. We look forward to your next Hawaiian vacation! Sincerest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and myself arrived at resort at 1pm. Check in went smoothly for our room 1015 on the 10th floor at the end of a long corridor, with spectacular ocean and mountain views to the west of the island. Room has two verandas, one with table and two chairs and sun lounge. From our large room with spacious clean bathroom and separate toilet we where able to enjoy magnificent sun sets. Housekeeping could not be faulted over our seven day stay. Quiet Air conditioning worked well and matched the extremely peaceful room. Breakfast and meals at the pool bar and restaurant are of a acceptable standard and price. We enjoyed a nice dinner at the Italian restaurant with a party of 10 friends. Knowing prior to our stay that transport would be a issue we booked a car from Hertz located at the resort. Driving on the freeways and roads around the island is easy, try to avoid peak hour if you want to visit Waikiki app 30 min drive. Swimming Lagoon is shared with the Disney Resort next door and a better option to the small pool. Overall a great place to relax and destress.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We sincerely appreciate the gorgeous pictures you shared. Thank you for recognizing our staff and the wonderful services they continue to provide. For your next visit, we would like to invite you to visit our award winning Ihilani Spa to rejuvenate. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

First time at this resort and was pleasantly surprised. The front desk was very nice, offered us an upgrade for just $25 more to have a nice oceanfront view, which was beautiful--something I'd love to wake up to every morning! Ate at the Italian restaurant which was tasty, they had just brought in a new chef straight from Italy recently. The hotel is a little dated, but at the time last month, they said would be shutting down to do major renovations. We enjoyed the stingrays and baby tiger sharks they had in their lagoon. The beach in the front is a public beach so it was a little crowded with other locals, but a nice view none the less. They have 5-6 lagoons which is kind of cool if you're not a great swimmer but want to do some ocean swimming or other sports like kayaking, standup surfing etc. Overall a very pleasant stayed, would love to play their golf course next time we stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani for your weekend getaway. We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and we are currently working on accomplishing that task. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. Ko Olina has four pristine beach coves with limited public parking which helps to relieve the activity within each cove. We were delighted to hear that your overall experience was pleasant. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is the perfect oasis, if all you plan to do is relax. We stayed here a week and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, and for an added price, you can upgrade to an ocean view. However it can cost a pretty penny to stay here--Valet or self parking is $32 a day, room rates were about $499 a day before taxes. If you plan on drinking during your stay, you can always walk to the aulani for more variety and cheaper drinks, or take a stroll across the street to the ABC store to pick up some beer and wine. Theres a Hawaiian BBQ restaurant across the street and a cute ice cream shop as well. Be sure to check them out if you prefer not to pay the hefty prices to eat at the hotel

The pool and lagoon were an added bonus. We had our niece and nephew over for the weekend, and they loved going back and forth between the pool and the ocean. They have a pool with stingray and sharks which is pretty neat especially during feeding time, and at night, you can walk along the beach and make for a romantic evening with your special someone.

Our last nite there, we went to the bar to grab a bite--My hubby ordered the sashimi, which was nice and fresh, while I played it safe and ordered the burger and fries. To my dismay, just as I was to take a bite, a few critters started crawling from my lettuce. YUCK! I decided not to eat it, so we drove to Zippys in Ewa for a late night meal, and never thought to eat at the Ihilani again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are honored that you have chosen the JW Marriott Ihilani for your romantic getaway. We take pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay. Your feedback is important to improve and maintain the cleanliness of our hotel. We have passed down your feedback to management. We were pleased to hear that your overall experience was pleasant with the room selection, pool options, pristine beach coves, and salt water pond marine life. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina

Address: 92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707 (Formerly Marriott Ihilani)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina is an oceanfront hotel that overlooks one of four beach coves. AAA Four Diamond rating with spacious guest rooms and lanais located on the western shore of Oahu. Guests enjoy on the on-site spa, sumptuous dining options and the championship Ko Olina Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Ihilani Hotel Kapolei
Jw Marriott Ihilani Resort
Marriott Kapolei
Kapolei Marriott
Jw Marriott Oahu
Ihilani Resort & Spa At Ko Olina Hawaii/Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ihilani Resort & Spa at Ko Olina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.