We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney Aulani Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $500 Resort Credit!
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Orange, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disney Aulani Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent a week at the Aulani Resort and enjoyed our visit.
The staff is very attentive offering an "Aloha" at every opportunity.
The rooms are nice sized and very clean. The grounds are immaculate and manicured.
The food offerings are good but high priced.
The worst thing about the stay was the daily parking fee of $35.0, whether kusing self
parking or valet.
We enjoyed the stay..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    394
    131
    51
    38
See reviews for
1034
243
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resort is excellent and the programs for kids are fun. I am not going to review the resort per se; there are plenty of detailed reviews here. I would like to spend some time go over how my family save some money while still enjoying the resort. We are a family of 5 and as you might have already read, the meals at the resort are on the pricey side. We were staying at a villa so we have access to a full kitchen. We were staying at the resort for 7 days. On our first day, we ventured out to a local Costco and Walmart (about 15 mins drive) and stock up on drinks and food. We bought mostly pre-cooked food from Costco. If you are a member you will know what to expect. All we needed to do was to heat the food up. There are also, a few nice restaurants across from the resort where we did take out for lunch. The food was reasonably priced and tasty. This resort also offer characters breakfast (similar to Disney World's). We did not do the breakfast (my kids are not really into Disney characters). We also found out you have plenty of opportunities to take pictures with the characters as you will see the lines forming by the garden. We had a dinner at the resort towards the end of our stay. The kids also loved the shaved ice with ice cream. The had one every day!!! In all, we had a really nice time and would love to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From April 1-April 6 this amazing resort welcomed us with open arms for the second year in a row. My two grandkids, age 13 and 9, plus my daughter and I loved every minute of it, and we all hated to leave after our week there. We had a poolside garden view room on the fifth floor, with a fabulous view of the lazy river, the ocean, and the entire resort. The live music from the garden area created the most wonderful ambiance on our balcony every night. We could be in our own space, have our own wine or snacks, be in our pj's, the kids could watch tv or listen with us. Aulani is totally kid friendly, so the music ends at 9. Extra heavy sliding glass doors keep ALL the sound out, if you want. This resort is so well planned that even over Spring Break there is open space everywhere, and it never feels or looks crowded. The town of Ko Olina experienced a sewer line break the day before we left, which closed all four lagoons.
Upon our arrival at the Honolulu airport, we have picked up a rental car on both trips, from Hertz. This is a time-consuming and frustrating delay that we are going to avoid in the future. Cloud Nine has a direct-from-the-gate-to-Aulani offer on their website. Aulani has an Alamo car rental desk in the hotel lobby. Yes, this is an expensive way to do it, but this is not your usual low cost vacation anyway. Anyone who is pinching pennies is not going to fly to Hawaii. This is a first-class, memorable, special vacation with all the magic of Disney. Every minute counts and is enjoyable. Rainbow Reef is the snorkeling lagoon that is stocked with thousands of colorful fish---none of which can hurt you. The water temperature these fish require is 72 degrees, 26 degrees below our body temperature. Its cold! Last year we bought the length-of-stay pass and went in for short periods every day, simply because it was such an amazing experience. This year we brought along spring wetsuits and what a difference! They kept our core warm enough to enjoy snorkeling in the reef for an hour each time. Go during fish feeding and you will be encircled by thousands of fish. Lay quietly in the water, without moving, and they will explore your wristbands, your goggles, and you will have a magical experience with them. My 13 year old granddaughter said it was one of the highlights of her life.
We are all counting the days until we can return for next year's Spring Break, when there will be a new vanishing edge pool. It just keeps getting better and better!

Room Tip: Ask for a photo to be printed out of the view from the balcony of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Aulani in August, 2012, just missing the opening of the third tower. My worry is that Disney will fill the resort to the same capacity as it does the theme parks. That would be a deal breaker.
We loved the two bedroom "villa" and most of its amenities. A quick trip to the nearby Costco allowed us a respite from dining out. The restaurants were very good, typically priced for resort hotels. The Disney culture is still being instilled in the employees so service can be inconsistent, but generally, it was good to very good. The Lazy River, the pools and the beach are great. The spa was excellent, a well-designed refuge from the kids. Having the Ko Olina golf course across the street was good.
Disney will have to surmount the expectation of some folks that this is a theme park experience. They offer many on and off property experiences, but it pays to study and book before your trip.
We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are DVC members and totally LOVE Disney. We have been going to Disney resorts/cruises/playlands for 10 years. This was the least Disney experience we've ever had. It is a hotel. That's it.
CONS -
It has Auntie's (a kids camp) for up to 12. My kids are 11 and 13. The teen options were kind of lame (my kid's opinions). My 11 year old tried Auntie's and didn't think it was organized. She left early.
The rainbow reef was great, but the last day there was a sewage leak. Total bummer.
Because we are DVC members, they didn't clean our room or change our sheets once. They gave us one small shampoo,conditioner, body wash bottle for four people for four days. Extra shampoo was $5. We got 4 towels for four days as well and to get extra was $5. Seriously?
Last thing, is there isn't alot for adults after hours. They are expanding, so maybe they will fix this. They need more because there isn't alot in that area.
Our recommendation would be a comedy night, wine/tequila tastings, jazz or piano bar. Take a page from the Cruise.
PROS -
We got 10 percent off on the snorkle stuff, so that was great!
Also, as DVC members we had a room with a kitchen. If my kids were small and we ate in the room more, that would've been great, but for us, it was just the coffee maker.
It is really beautiful. They built the buildings in a Hawaiian tradition. The area is nice, but very secluded.
We rented a car the entire time and that was great! We had a great time in Pearl Harbor, Dole Plantation and the north shore. We also had a great time in Kailua.
Don't get me wrong, Oahu was great, but as DVC members, I expected to be treated with more hospitality, not less.
We would have preferred being in a regular hotel room that was cleaned each day.

Room Tip: We were in 482 which had a tiny view of the ocean and just in front of the river. It was a little l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very new, clean, and nice resort, but way overpriced. We paid almost $500/night including tax, and that's the reason I'm giving it only 3 stars.

Pros:
clean, safe environment for the kids.
decent night time show.
man made lagoon was safe for the kids to swim in, and also good for snorkeling, as we saw some colorful fish there, but for the ultimate snorkeling, you still need to go to Hanauma Bay.

Cons:
adults will get bored pretty quickly here. We stayed 2 nights, and were eager to get out and moved to a hotel in Waikiki.

restaurants are pricey. Our average lunch and dinner bill (for 2 adults and 2 kids) was over $120. Good food, but but I'm not sure it's worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We saw the New Years Fireworks there on the grounds they covered 4 lagoons and were awesome!! We went on a horseback riding trip on the west side and really enjoyed the heat and scenery there. The west side of Oahu is hotter and dryer then east side where it was raining all the time we were at Aulani.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu
Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.