We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like salt, eat here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Just Tacos Mexican Grill & Cantina

Just Tacos Mexican Grill & Cantina
92-1046 Olani St, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
(808) 677-7782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in Kapolei
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you like salt, eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

All the food was oversalted to a point that it was inedible.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    135
    98
    46
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Bad experience- issues with food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Food quality- The shredded beef burrito tasted excellent, although the plate comes with nothing on it but the burrito. In the restaurant's defense, there was rice in the burrito, but for $11 it would be nice to get some rice and beans to go with the burrito. We also ordered the chicken enchilladas. When the dish arrived, there was frozen beef inside. The waiter explained that some beef must have slipped into the enchillada and had no explanation for why it was frozen. The waiter took it back and returned with a fresh dish. This time, one of the enchilladas had no meat inside. The enchilladas did include rice and beans. The food looked nothing like the pictures in the menu.

Service- The drink I ordered with my meal did not arrive until after the food and the restuarant wasn't even crowded. The waiter did not seem apologetic enough, especially after the 2nd issue with the enchilladas. I had to be the one to suggest that the item be removed from the check. In the end, the waiter did remove the enchilladas from the bill.

Ambiance- The restaurant has a very nice interior and has an impressive bar selection.

Overall- This was our second visit to a Just Tacos on the island and our other visit to the Mililani branch was average at best. The food is not a great value (no complimentary chips and salsa), but prices are not extreme relative to the competition. Banditos in Pearl Ridge is a much better Mexican Restaurant. It's a decent alternative if you're on vacation and trying to avoid the high prices in the area, but don't expect too much.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The location is perfect if staying at the Marriott or Disney and the food was good

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A low price escape from the expensive resort food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I ate dinner there one night after several expensive meals at the resorts. The tacos were good, service was excellent. My wife said her Margarita was very good, my beer was cold. I wouldn't drive across the island for it, but if you are staying local, it is a good option for the price.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasnatly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We thought oh just overpriced Mexican food but we were actually surprised. We both liked our meals and would go back when in the area. We are from California and most Mexican restaurants give you a basket of chips with the meal. I did not care for the fact that they wanted to charge for the chips. Come on don't try to totally rip everyone off.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just Tacos Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Just Tacos Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Just Tacos Mexican Grill & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.