We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Evening of Entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FIA FIA Polynesian Show - CLOSED

FIA FIA Polynesian Show
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
808-679-4700
Improve this listing
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
Attraction details
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Great Evening of Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The folks at Fia Fia do a wonderful job of bringing Polynesian culture to visitors. Chief Sielu and his cast do a fantastic job of making the whole evening enjoyable. They are funny, educational, proud, and wonderfully entertaining.

The luau starts with some lawn activities from fire starting to palm leaf weaving. They provide some wonderful pre-luau music and the ceremony and pride they bring to the entire event is outstanding.

The food is traditional luau - pork, lomi lomi, poi, fish, chicken, beef, salads, etc. plus they provide some choices for the kiddos such as PB&J and mac and cheese.

The show is wonderful, leading you around the various Islands in Polynesia. The performers are very animated and engaging, showing the differences in the types of dances that each culture has developed. The end of the show is highlighted by a fantastic fire knife dancing extravaganza, with Chief Sielu starting off first by showing how they start fire and then continuing on with a dazzling display of fire knife skills. By the end of the session, all the males in the company are twirling fire knifes all around the stage and beyond, as the musicians drive the beat through fantastic high energy drumming.

It is a great show, a treat to see. Get your tickets early, as the luau is only done once a week at the Marriott Ko Olina to a relatively small crowd.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    30
    12
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

W were late because hotel would not let us check in until 4 but the show was great. Very intimate. Best I have seen. Food was just ok but I'm a food snob. Family liked it..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chief Delivers Big”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our favorite show in Hawaii. We do not miss it when we are on Oahu. Already have reservations for October. The Chief has put together a classic Polynesian show but he sets it apart with his singing, dancing, MC duties and interaction with his audience. He is a first rate entertainer and this show showcases his talent. There are bigger and more elaborate shows, but for entertainment value Fia Fia is where I am going.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had such a good time at this show! We were staying at Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club so it was very convenient that one of the highest rated luau's on the island was on-site for us. For those in Waikiki, it is a little bit of a haul but still worth coming! When we first got there, we had a slight mishap with the seating as there were too many people at our table, but I'm not taking any points away for that because we were quickly moved front and center and given an extra complimentary round of drinks. I don't believe they could have handled it any better.I don't understand any complaints about the food. It is a luau, so it's a buffet. Certainly wasn't the best meal of my life, but it was tasty and so were the mai tai's! Desserts were good as well. As you walk in, you can get a picture with The Chief and one of the girls... so we did! He was cracking jokes already. On to the show: they timed it right with the Ko Olina sunset, which is beautiful. The Chief is highly entertaining. You get tree climbers, hula girls, fire tossers (including a kid!), along with great story telling, some touching moments, and lots of jokes. All were fantastic. It was money well spent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Such a fun show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have gone to the Fia Fia Luau twice and each time we have really enjoyed it! The chief is so funny and the dancers are amazing to watch. We love watching the sunset during the show and the buffet was good. Both my daughter's got called on stage to dance and it was a fun experience for them. I highly recommend the Fia Fia for a fun evening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIA FIA Polynesian Show also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FIA FIA Polynesian Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.