We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and beautiful venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ko Olina Golf Club Roy's - Ko' Olina

Ko Olina Golf Club Roy's - Ko' Olina
92-1220 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707
(808) 676-7697
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Olina Golf Club Roy's - Ko' Olina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 98 Restaurants in Kapolei
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beautiful venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a really nice dinner here of macadamia nut crusted fish and the beef short ribs. The prix fixe menu is definitely the way to go. We ordered the wine separately. Sweet wines are served with the appetizer and dessert. Our waiter, Chad, was excellent and was very knowledgeable about the menu and wines. Everything was just perfect and as good as I remembered from 25 years ago when I went to Roy's first restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    63
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I recently had dinner at Roy's at the Ko Olina Golf Course on Oahu. We ate outside overlooking the golf course so although it does not have an ocean view, the outlook is very pleasant.

Service was good and our waitperson was knowledgeable and very friendly but obtrusive.

Food was very good - I had the special which was a delicious fish dish sitting on a creamy and very tasty lobster sauced risotto. My husband also had a fish dish - a macadamia crusted fish which was also good but I thought mine was better. He had the three course fixed price dinner which was a good deal, keeping in mind how expensive food in good restaurants is in Hawaii. Mine was quite expensive.

As we are staying on the resort property, we wanted to find somewhere close by that had reliable good food and we certainly found that at Roy's and will be back during our stay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot, the food is what shines. The venue, in the clubhouse of the Ko Olina Country Club, is nothing special. The tables were well spaced, however, and it was relatively quiet.

The seared ahi was perfect, and the catch of the day special was good. Service was very professional.

Overall a very nice experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but the decor does not match the restaurant reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent our last night in Oahu, Hawaii to dine at Roy's at Ko Olina Golf Club. We have heard a lot of positive review from our friends about other Roy's restaurants in the country and thus we had fairly high expectation. The hostess was very friendly and made us felt welcomed. The server was good but not outstanding. Once more guests arrived, we really did not get much attention from our server anymore. I ordered the set dinner which came with appetizer, entree and dessert. Overall, I enjoyed my selection and my food was nicely prepared. My wife ordered the half roaster and it was mediocre. We had a view of the golf course but the view was not specticular. The decor of the inside of the restaurant was somewhat blank and lacked atmosphere. It reminded me of large open hall. For the price we had to pay for our dinner, I think Roy's can pay more attention to the complete dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best place in Ko'Olina for Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I had the absolutely best dinner and service at Roy's. If you're staying in Ko'Olina, this is not a place to miss. First, I have some recent and temporary dietary restricitons, and the server (#14...I thought his name would be on the receipt when I got back and it wasn't but he should be commended by his manager/owener)...I feel badly I don't remember his name, but he was the absolute best waiter we've ever had! He was gracious, accommodating and attentive. We sat outside and there's some great live music on Saturday nights to enjoy. We recommend sitting outside if at all possible even it means waiting for a table. We've been here many times and the food and service has always been great, but our waiter and the staff that supported him were fantastic. My husband had the prix fix menu with wine which is the way to go...it's really a great value for the islands and contains a good variety of excellent menu choices and well-thought out wine pairings. While I had issues eating the corn chowder because of some swelling of my esophagus, the few sips i had were absolutely wonderful...silky and flavorable. The food well-prepared, and asthetically pleasing. Roy's at Ko Olina embodies the Hawaiian hospitality from the moment you walk in until you leave...CANNOT recommend it enough. We'll be back. Thank you for absolutely wonderful evening. We were celebrating my husband's birthday during this trip and could not have been happier with our experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Olina Golf Club Roy's - Ko' Olina also viewed

 
Kapolei, Oahu
 

Been to Ko Olina Golf Club Roy's - Ko' Olina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ko Olina Golf Club Roy's - Ko' Olina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.