We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Hawaii!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii to your Saves list
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   47039 Lihikai Drive, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Pearl City, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently moved to Hawaii, and we stayed at paradise bay resort for about a month until we found a house. The staff was amazing! Everyone, housekeepers, desk staff, and management made us feel welcome and appreciated. They were all knowledgeable and helpful and we would have been absolutely lost if not for their wisdom and advice!


The hotel is nestled in a neighborhood, and to my surprise, the locals were extremely friendly and welcoming too!

Whether you're planning a 4 day or a 4 week stay, this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    46
    24
    17
    23
See reviews for
66
115
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights. Our room was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Although it being small, still a great place to lay our heads at night. The staff were very polite and helpful when we needed anything. The breakfast and coffee were very satisfying and filling. I would definately come back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel area is very nice, with buildings spread around the property. There are kayaks for the guests with easy access to a bay with really beautiful views. The rooms are OK, with a small kitchenette and all facilities. The disadvantage of the basic rooms is that they have no view and are a little bit tight. Breakfast on the other hand offers a great view of the mountains. However, the food is rather low quality and there is not so much choice. Location is very convenient for sightseeing of the East Coast, shopping around Kanehoe with Honolulu also quite easily reachable. Overall, OK choice.

Room Tip: Better pay for the higher class to have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We do our best to explain at booking about our different room and view categories; each room is unique here. For guests that plan to spend a lot of time at the resort, and make use of their lanai and enjoy the views we definitely recommend our higher category of room. However, we do know that many guests spend most of their days out exploring, either with one of our kayaks, on one of our guided tours in the area, or on their own in a rental car. They often find staying in a lower category room is fine, and enjoy the views from our breakfast area, or on our floating docks. We are making some changes to our breakfast menu, and also adding at least one more dinner night of the week as well. My Team joins me in hoping you come back and visit us at Paradise Bay Resort. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I LOVED this place, but if you are a stuck-up, must have all things cleaned at all times with expensive, faux, poorly made but somehow ascetically pleasing to the masses taste, don't come! We had a room right on the water and it IS MURKY - it is a BAY, and lovely: a canal connects the bay to the houses there and the mangroves have their roots all around you. The snorkeling trip was perfect and the dance performance made me so happy as a retired professional dancer, a little rough at times, and that is better than over produced poo! In the morning you can sit on the deck (they call it a lanai there) and listen to the very loud birds. If you do not like nature DON'T COME! I myself LOVED IT! I LOVED ALL OF IT. If you do come know that the only good food we found was at the Poi Factory up the street on 83. The place is so relaxing and close to some of the best beaches Hawaii has. Bed was wonderful and I don't use AC, especially in a place as temperate as Hawaii. I also never have housecleaning even when I stay for 4 days or more, really, I know how to clean up after myself and lets save some resources people….

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The photos shown on Paradise Bay's website are from the most expensive rooms. We paid over $200 a night for a studio which seemed reasonable but I was disappointed that we had no view. We did have a small table set amongst beautiful trees and plants. The studio had a full-sized refrigerator, a two-burner 'stove , sink and all the rest you'd expect to find in a kitchenette. We stayed five nights and were satisfied with service to the room. The first surprise was a lovely lanai for breakfasts with a variety of food to suit most tastes. I tried the turkey bacon and vegan sausage and found them to be very good. Of course the papaya and pineapple were abundant. They provided coffee and tea beginning at 6:00am and it was really beautiful sitting there watching the mountains across the bay become more and more distinct and listening to the loud morning calls of the birds. I loved that. The second surprise was how enjoyable was the mai'tai-music-fire-hula presented (for $25) one of the evenings. Lots of hors d'oeuvres (some better than others but many to choose from), plentiful mai-tais, and a personable male singer who also kept us entertained with his good humor. Then we went down to the floating dock where a fierce but equally funny native Hawaiian chief-to-be presented us with an impressive fire show and also made us all laugh and have a good time. In the interim a beautiful young woman did a hula and then told us about one of the native plants and how important it is to her culture. All-in-all well worth more than $25. Another beautiful surprise was sitting on the floating dock around 6:15pm as the sun set looking out across the bay at Chinaman's Hat and listening to the incessant and enchanting raucous of the birds as they began quieting down for the night. So the odds and ends were really really nice but the resort is overpriced in my opinion. We did some grocery shopping but ended up going north to Haleiwa each day and eating there as it was a nice drive and we found we liked the north shore better than the Kaneohe and Kailua areas. The Paradise Bay Resort seems to be the only place to stay on that side of the island that isn't a room in someone's home. I hope I'm wrong. There should be options. I recommend the resort but only if the objections are not a problem. I would imagine if you wanted to spend a lot more you would get a view of the bay as in the resort's photos.

Room Tip: We were in Room 21, a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was looking for a quiet pleasant place to spend 2 days between very long flights from Asia to mainland U.S. This is it! Staff very knowledgeable and helpful. A low key place on an inlet leading to Kaneohe Bay, where you can just sign out a snorkel outfit (first class!) and kayak for the day. Pretty pool. Everything tastefully appointed and CLEAN! Very complete kitchen (just missing conventional oven). Fine breakfast buffet. Dinner served only on Wednesday was affordable and good. There are no extra services (no all day cafe or shop) but I didn't need them. I would stay here again. Other guests pleasant (no rowdies!). Families find they can meet here, there are so many units. My studio was a very large room; I had a balcony with gorgeous view of mountains.

Room Tip: Get a balcony and/or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband, baby son, and I went to Oahu for a work conference/family vacation in early November. My husband's job paid for 2 days of our lodging, and chose Paradise Bay Resort because it was close to where we needed to be. We called the resort to book one additional night and were quoted a price of $180. We tried to pay over the phone, but we were told that wasn't possible. The night before we arrived, we called to confirm and again tried to pay, but were denied.
Well when we checked in, the price magically changed to $280/night. And surprise, there is a $25/day resort fee, which is not mentioned or charged when you book the room. We tried explaining how we were quoted $180, but weren't allowed to pay over the phone, but they didn't care. So once we paid the higher price, taxes, and resort fees for the days work paid for, it came to almost $500 for one night.
We tried to keep a good attitude. The grounds are nice and the room seemed ok at first, although it smelled incredibly musty. There was construction happening in the room next door and we soon realized we were underneath the dining area, which was set up early in the morning, so it was very noisy.
I'm not sure what exactly the resort fee covered. Breakfast was stale carbohydrates, fake eggs, and vegan sausage...? Paddleboards were $35 if you wanted to use them. The pool had one floodlight that went on for about 10 seconds, then you were in total blackness. The hot tub was barely warm and filthy!
Because they are an "ecolodge", there is only maid service on Monday, Wed, and Fri. If they just didn't want to change the linens, I might buy the Eco thing. But there is no reason not to empty the trash or sweep the room. After no housekeeping on Sunday, I made sure we were gone on Mon so they could clean. We got back that evening, and guess what? Still no maid service. When my husband had to take our trash to the front desk and complain, they said they would send someone the next day.
All in all, I felt this place was trying to charge resort prices, while not even providing the most basic of services you get at a bargain hotel. I would definitely avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Address: 47039 Lihikai Drive, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Kaneohe, Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.