We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel with some definite problems and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii to your Saves list
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   47039 Lihikai Drive, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Chapel H
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay hotel with some definite problems and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel has both good points and bad points. This would be fine, but the price--we paid $200 per night to stay a couple--demands a higher level of overall quality.

Good points:
The staff is incredibly friendly, and you aren't anywhere near the bustle of Waikiki. The free internet and free parking are really nice, although the free internet is a public access point and can't do high-speed streaming (no Netflix instant!). The Wednesday night with music was lovely. Finally, it really is nice to have a fridge and mini-kitchen.

Bad points:
There is no A/C, and it gets humid. Hopefully, you won't spend tons of time in your room, but I would worry about this if you are used to A/C.

The biggest problem, by far, is NOISE LEVELS. These are cheap apartments which have been converted into hotel rooms. While they have obviously renovated the exterior, the facility wasn't originally intended as a hotel, and therefore the walls are incredibly thin. Unlike a normal hotel, even when people are talking in the next room at a reasonable level, you still hear them. (It wasn't just our room; at check-out, one of the other guests mentioned the ame thing.) It's even worse on the lanai. I had a vision of sitting quietly together a couple and looking out at a beautiful bay. Unfortunately, the family next door was playing cards on their lanai. They were at a very reasonable noise level, but the walls were so thin, it was just weird to be out on ours. What's the point of staying at a quiet resort away from the bustle of Waikiki if you just end up hearing the conversations of the guests in the next room?

I know a number of other posts have mentioned parties. One our second and third nights, we had issues with parties as well. They weren't wild parties, but the walls are way too thin to accommodate even a small crowd. I don't know if this was just bad luck, or if this resort seems to attract large groups.

Other quick notes: be warned that this part of the island seems more foggy than the beachside locations, so the views aren't sky blue. There are small issues with the operation of the hotel, e.g. the maid forgot to clean our room one day, the radio appeared to be broken, and they manager did not reply quickly when the toilet broke.

Overall, it's a decent hotel, which has a few problems. I think this hotel would be very reasonable at $140/night, but I expected more for $200/night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    46
    24
    17
    23
See reviews for
66
115
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Friendly staff, family feel to the resort, quiet (except for the restoration work taking place) and absolutely stunning views. Nice breakfast, great views again, beautiful environment. Just bliss. Well equipped room (pleased to find a good fridge, freezer and corkscrew for wine!!) Great shower (pressure was perfect). Liked the feel of the place. Good value for money. Room was clean, good size, loads of storage and felt safe and private. Free wifi-always a bonus, easy parking. Quite a unique place. Would defininately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We are fortunate to have our son and daughterinlaw living on Oahu and wanted to be as near to them in Kaneohe as we could. They knew Paradise Bay previous to the new owners and thought that it would be comfortable but that it was a bit run down. We arrived in the evening and didn't realize until we woke the next morning how beautiful the views from our bayfront cottage was. And yes, there is ongoing work, but the workers were patient enough to begin their day when most of the guests at Paradise Bay were on their way to sightsee. We were only going to stay 5 nights and then move on to another resort, but we loved being here so much, that we stayed another 3 days. The staff was very attentive, courteous, and had the aloha spirit we came to enjoy. The fresh breakfasts were delicious and the Wednesday evening dinner and entertainment were a real treat...the management even allowed our son and daughterinlaw to join us. We have traveled all over the world and truly enjoyed this piece of paradise...we definitely will return and look forward to seeing the new Paradise Bay! Mahalo, Tom and Charlotte Hedge, Sarasota, FL

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFBayArea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were booked by a travel agent so I confess to not doing my own research. The quick look at the website completely misled me. The reviews that I have since read have many similar experiences to ours. We arrived on a rainy night. Thank goodness for our GPS or we would have never found it. We had the room that is directly under the lobby deck. When we were let in the mildew smell hit us hard but we got used to it. The room was impossibly dim, with all the rain we found it nearly impossible to read day or night. There were 2 or 3 large burns spots in the carpet which felt sticky on our feet. We had slippers and used them religiously. The next morning we woke up early and loved the sourd of the rain and the birds. We felt like we were in a rain forest. The continental breakfast was fairly typical but the coffee was better than average as was the fruit. I must say that the view from the deck is quite spetacular. Afterwards we returned to our room where we noticed that everyone who had breakfast after us seemed to be dancing on our heads. Kids seemed to jump and skip until about 10AM when breakfast ended. Our 2nd morning the construction started (Monday). It wasn't terrible but it was nowhere peaceful, we had to leave every day. Upon our return and after maid service we noticed mosquitos in our room. My poor wife was eaten alive! She had about 30 red welts, I only had about 4 or 5 bites but for me they only itched.

To summarize our stay was tolerable. It is probable that other rooms are better than the one we had. I cannot imagine anyone giving this room a positive review let alone a 5. While there are a few things that we liked, we would never return to that room or the main building. Would we risk another stay in a view room, possibly but not probable.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonette01, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Mahalo for coming to stay with us, I'm so sorry you experience was not as wonderful as I would have liked it to be. Those rooms under the Breakfast Deck can be a little noisy during breakfast, so we close off the deck for the rest of the day. I am excited to say construction is done:), but so is our 20% discounted rates during construction :( We are surly not your typical hotel, hidden amongst a community of Fisherman, Military, Hawaiians and part time Hawaiians, yes we are a mixed bag and that is the Real Hawaii. Me ka 'oia 'i'o , Jonette Kaahui-Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

If you like a laid back, mom and pop style, pristine outdoor environment resort, stay here! I love the helpful service, outdoor spaces, views, and kayaks! Plus the sandbar tour and the Wed dinner are highlights! I even love the chickens and roosters, because they highlight the rural feel of this place. It's far enough from Waikiki and close to the North shore, great base for exploring the island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonette01, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We have been working hard to create an enjoyable experience for our guests, and are pleased to hear you had a good time. Please come back and join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were there before it was sold. I am so happy there was a buyer! It would be such a shame if it had to close. Yes, the neighborhood was low-middle class but the people were friendly and the Peacock that wandered around was cool! I loved the staff and had fun talking to them. I hope they were kept on. You had the feeling that his was a small family business. It was very relaxing. We appreciated that we didn't have to pay to go out to breakfast! The breakfast was simple but good. I got some awesome pictures of a lovely rainbow from my balcony! We had fun using the canoes. It was clean, unpretentious, and very reasonable to afford. So glad the place will remain open!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonette01, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us, even before ownership changed. Yes, we have kept the friendly, personable staff that have been with the resort for so many years. We are still a family-run business and we have tried to keep that feeling of comfort in all that we do. We hope you can come back and visit us again to see all of our renovations and improvements in person. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Everyting thing there was perfect. the workers were very friendly espically doreen. the dinner was nice with the live music in the back ground wow they played all sorts of music was great. beds very comfortable lanai was hugh and awesome. and our young children
loved being by the pool. and the bbq was a big plus cant wait to come back and visit my new family a huy hoe think thats c u later

Room Tip: any rooms the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Address: 47039 Lihikai Drive, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Kaneohe, Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.