We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Japanese food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kikuya Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kikuya Restaurant
46-148 Kahuhipa St, Ste C, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-3818
808-235-2613
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 113 restaurants in Kaneohe
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic soup, fresh fish, glorious tempuras. Absolutely will go again. Servers were friendly & courteous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Solid Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has been around for a while and it looks like it. The food is always good but if you are looking for some place nice then this is not it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oishi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I love everything on their menu...pork tofu, teri-ahi, sukiyaki and of course their tempura! Great quality food at an affordable price. Parking can get tight, but there is also street parking available. Staff is always friendly and quick to check up on your throughout your meal. Just one recommendation.....you may want to order a side of their yummy potato salad since you just get a small scoop with your dish...it's so yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Kikuya Restaurant in Kaneohe - Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We love eating at Kikuya in Kaneohe. There aren't a lot of Japanese restaurants in Kaneohe, but Kikuya is very good. The food is reasonably priced, served hot, and tastes very authentic. The tempura is light and crispy - an order gives you a variety with shrimp, sweet potato, green bean, carrot, and pumpkin. It's served with miso soup, hot rice, sashimi (just a few slices, but very tasty), and some Japanese salted cabbage pickles.

Their oyako donburi is also very good - large and filling - very tasty and made with chunks of chicken, onion slices, and a very good teriyaki taste.

if you like fish, their deep fried flounder is my mother's favorite; my husband loves the fried ahi or akule, fried or miso butterfish. And you must buy a few of the BBQ Sticks (strip of marinated beef skewers served hot from the kitchen).

Parking is a bit tight since this restaurant is surrounded by a couple other business, but at night, the businesses close so there's a little more parking available. The service is fast - the waitresses friendly and efficient. Prices are reasonable - dress casual. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good regular Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Standard Japanese menu, but everything is always good and tasty. We usually eat here every 6-8 weeks. Prices went up from the 1st of the year, but it's still worth it. I had the Kikuya special, which is like a sampler of their most popular dishes and it was excellent. The nabemono/seafood and chicken soup with veg. was especially tasty. My husband ordered his usual donburi, rice topped with meat with egg and helped me to finish my dishes.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikuya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kikuya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikuya Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.