We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot to Find Locals Eating the Best Chinese Food in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pah Ke's Chinese Restaurant

Pah Ke's Chinese Restaurant
46-018 Kamehameha Hwy, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-3714
808-235-4505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
kaneohe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Spot to Find Locals Eating the Best Chinese Food in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Pah Ke's has the best Chinese cuisine on Oahu, hands down. Fantastic interior and outstanding staff. The owner, Ray, stops by and chats and loves to meet people visiting from outside Hawaii. If you are staying in Waikiki, this place is worth the 30 minute drive to Kaneohe.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A "Must Stop" every time we go to Oahu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We loved the food, and Raymond, the owner, came out several times to talk to us and explain how something was made, or where he got the fish. Of course, we went with locals who were regulars, but it doesn't take much to be treated like a regular here. The food is fresh, locally obtained. Every course was better than the previous one, and it started out fantastic. This is a "must stop" every time we go to Oahu. and, we'll be back regularly.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Our favourite Chinese restaurant on Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

When was the last time you received a personal welcome by the owner of busy restaurant ? Owner Raymond Siu knew that we were not locals and stopped by our table and made us feel very much at home. We had dinner there 3 times in the six days we were staying in Kaneohe Bay, and each time we returned we were greeted very warmly by Raymond and his family.
The food was very delicious and came out of the kitchen quickly, the vegetables were done to perfection and the fish was fresh caught. This is Cantonese style cooking at it's best! The prices were very reasonable and the service was excellent! My husband is Chinese and we eat Chinese food frequently, this is some of the best Chinese food we have had anywhere. Pah Ke's food is traditional and yet adapted to the use of local fresh products available, you can taste the freshness... AND... don't fill up on all the great dishes that are on the menu... Raymond is a pastry chef and offers tantalizing dessert that he himself makes on the premises... AMAZING!!!
A trip to Kaneohe Bay and Pah Ke's restaurant is a must. We will make a special trip to Kaneohe Bay and Raymond Siu's Pah Ke's restaurant the next time we visit the island.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food, very popular restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a very traditional Hong Kong style restaurant. The food is good - not great - but good. The portions are a good size - two can probably share one with rice and an appetizer. The service was good. The prices were good - not too expensive. As this is one of the better Chinese restaurants on Oahu it gets very busy so keep that in mind. I had the Kung Pao chicken, I get better in LA but it was still good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Family-Style Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We tried Pah Ke's for lunch one weekend. Initially I was unimpressed, as we had to wait about 10 minutes for anyone to acknowledge we were waiting for a table. The place was busy and there were only a couple servers working. Eventually an older gentleman (the owner maybe, not sure) whisked us and several other parties to tables. After we were seated it was another 5 minutes before a server took our order. They don't have a bar and only sell soda by the can, which is fine as long as you know that ahead of time and know what to expect. The food came and I was impressed. The taste and quality made the wait worth it. I had kung pao shrimp and a plate of pork and noodles ( forget what it was called). We also had the eggflower soup, which was great. It is family style, so you won't find the rice/eggroll/entree lunch plates like some other restaurants, but what you will find is delicious food at reasonable prices. Seems like they were a bit short-staffed, however. It is worth mentioning that most of the patrons were Asian, so I'm assuming they're doing something right with they're menu. We will be back for the food, although I may skip the wait next time and order to-go.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pah Ke's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pah Ke's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pah Ke's Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.