We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Sheffield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hawaii Sheffield House
Save Saved
You added Hawaii Sheffield House to your Saves list
131 Kuulei Road, 131 Kuulei Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Kailua B&B and Inns
North Salt Lake, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I am so happy we chose to stay at the Sheffield House. The Garden Suite is private and relaxing. The accommodations are exactly as pictured on their website. Great shower! It's much more relaxing to return here each day than the high-end resort we stayed in on the other side of the island. The owners were responsive to any questions we had. I like the fact that they afforded us our privacy. It's a short walk to beautiful Kailua Beach. Lots of neat places to shop and great restaurants in town. Locals are friendly. If you want a high-end, pristine but sterile hotel room, stay in Waikiki. If you want to get a true feel for living in Hawaii, stay at the Sheffield House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I recently had the privilege to stay at Sheffield House in Kailua, Oahu. From the first minute we walked in, I knew I was going to love it there. You enter through the garden gate into your own little walled-garden escape. Each unit feels very secluded from the other (it's a 2-unit place). I didn't even notice the other guests who were staying in the other unit!

It's a very short walk to beautiful Kailua Beach, and a short drive to Lanikai Beach, which is rated one of the top beaches in the world. Very close to the Kalapawai Market, for a quick cup of coffee and the best breakfast burrito I've ever had! Sheffield House had beach chairs, mats, and body boards available for guest use, which was very nice.

The rooms are very nicely kept, and the features are nice too (microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, little fridge). In the ginger room, the bathroom facilities are handicapped accessible.

The proprietors have lived at this house for 20 years, and therefore have a wonderful knowledge of area activities and features if you need guidance. They are very friendly people, but will also give you whatever amount of space you want on your trip.

If you're looking for relaxation on Oahu, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Cottage style accomodation. NO intrusion by owners. This place is not B&B in my opinion... its a step above as both rooms they offer have private entrances off the drive and are each somewhat secluded and private. Covered in greenery it provides a kool refuge from the sun and heat. I had a GREAT stay here. (may not leave :)) If you seek Rachael out she's great at conversation, but if you want to just want to have a quiet vacation, this is a great base for visiting Kailua/Oahu and not be on the tourist trail.... Quiet, clean and private accomodation. Very near great beaches.

In all, very good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

An excellent, relaxing hideaway with great access to one of the finest beaches on Oahu (beach tatami mats, beach chairs, and boogie boards available on our front porch). Not for anyone wanting a "tourist" experience. Our hosts were available upon call, but not obtrusive. It seemed like we were in our own private residence. Note: Breakfast is for the first morning only, but the guest room has a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, a small fridge, utensils/dishes, and coffee. We enjoyed making our own breakfast and lingering over it, looking at the beautiful garden and being visited by the familiy cocker spaniel. We are former locals who really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed at the Sheffield house this past week, and loved it. I was a bit worried at first, because we didn't hear much from the owners, but I think that was intentional. They respect your privacy (almost to their own fault). The room was the Garden Suite, which was a beautiful quaint little cottage with a front Lanai, a futon in a guest area, a dining area, a kitchenette, a bedroom with a generous closet, and a bathroom with a huge shower that opened up to it's own porch. The first night we got a nice bowl of fruit and a Hawaiian cinnamon bread, but you should expect to be on your own for breakfast after that. Not a big deal, since so many breakfast places in Kailua are so good. Contrary to some reviews, the place is not crawling with roaches, but we did see and kill one small one during our stay. The geckos take care of that problem, primarily. You can hear them chirping outside your windows in the early morning. If you want a taste of living a real life in Hawaii, then stay at the Sheffield house. If you want to be pretend, then buy a ticket to Disney or stay on Waikiki at the Hilton resort. It is very sterile there. The walk to the beach from the Sheffield house is actually shorter than the walk to the beach from the Hilton at Waikiki. Seriously. We checked it out. And Kailua beach is so much nicer than Waikiki. If you are person who likes resort-created artificial life, then please, don't bother the Sheffield family, but if you like a really nice taste of a great neighborhood in Hawaii's friendliest town, then give these people a try. My wife and I loved it, and plan to bring the kids back to stay in the adjoining room soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This review is about the Garden Suite at Sheffield House:
Have you ever been to Kailua beach? If so, you know why any apartment that's close by need not be 100 per cent perfect to still be worth staying there.
Taken by itself, Sheffield House is not a dream vacation spot. It's cons: It's dark. That's due to the lush, but small garden right outside. Also, in the Garden Suite, you almost have a front row seat to the main street leading down to the ocean. There are trucks driving by as early as 5 a.m. The garden also is home to a multitude of little critters. In five days we killed four cockroaches in the bedroom. But, come on: you're in the tropics! That's part of the deal.
Here are the pros: there's a good kitchen. Owners Rachel and Paul leave a lot of the stuff the previous guests bought in the closets. When we were there, there was enough stuff to last for two days without shopping. Also, there was a fresh sponge and dishwashing liquid. Linens and towels were clean. There was a basket with a minimum of breakfast items (Kailua has a no breakfast policy for accomodations). You can sit outside in the shade on some nice metal chairs. Rachel was really making an effort to accomodate our child (1 yr. old), too. There was a free baby crib and she got out some beach stuff for kids from her giant garage. The best thing about Sheffield House, though, is its proximity to the beach. It's about a five minute walk along main street and through a side street and you're right there on one of the world's most gorgeous beaches. We spent seven weeks on four Hawaiian island, and there was no beach that could match Kailua's beauty. Incredible sunrises, great white sand, and some small island offshore that make it an awesome scenery. To make it a special morning, drop by Kalapawai Market (take a right on Kalaheo road) for a coffee and some great sandwiches, walk to the beach and ... enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Well, first of all: Did I expect some "Aloha" feeling there ? Certainly not. Has the host (Rachel) been unfrindly? For sure not. But what I could expect is a warm welcome after a long trip (especially to my 8 year old daughter to give her a feeling of warm welcome, no koochy koo but a smile will do), some guidance to the house and more than 4 minutes about the where and how to go to, preferably when you are settled after the first beach walk or whatever.Though, after we had our 4minutes she has not be seen anymore unless we have asked or called house2house and when we got prompt and clear guidance. The location is nearly perfect (3 mins walking to one of the best beaches on Ohau) and close to the city of Kailua. Secondly, the traffic from the street is heavy for an easy sleeper as I am but has not been a problem for my daughter.
All in all it was OK, I believe other places are better to stay in Kailau. You will get B&B´s (as Sheffield house does not serve Breakfest and is not listed under B&B) for little more with a better "feeling"- like we had when we flew to Hilo and stayed in the Orchid tree B&B where we had the feeling to be more than a living ATM.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuuleiRoad, Owner at Hawaii Sheffield House, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Sheffield House website covers transportation issues. I also give transportation advice when asked.

Our check-in and check- out times are clearly stated on the website and in the correspondence, and are necessary to be able to clean and maintain the room. We can't provide a locked space for luggage when it is not yet cleaned. We do offer an out of sight place for luggage.

As a courtesy to our guests we offer an early check in or check out for a rate of 50% of room rate. Usually, this means that the room is un-rentable for the day preceding checkin or after checkout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaii Sheffield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Sheffield House

Address: 131 Kuulei Road, 131 Kuulei Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Available for 2+ people:10/27-11/5, 10/27-11/7,11/15-25,11/30-12/14, 11/19-12/27 more. Walk to sandy Kailua Beach or Kailua Oahu Town. June- September the white shower tree is flowering. Off street ground level parking, private entrance, private baths are provided, as well as outdoor shower for after the beach. Complementary FIRST morning breakfast of muffins, juice, coffee, tea provided in your room. After that there are many Kailua Restaurants for you to enjoy.Two units: Garden Suite with with kitchenette and outdoor Garden Area ($174-$184+ tax and cleaning fee.) And Ginger Studio has a breakfast bar with microwave, toaster oven and under counter refrigerator . It has its own outdoor sitting area and Secret Garden ($144-$154 + tax and cleaning fee.) Both units are ground floor units. They can be rented together and sleep 5 people. Decorated with tropical colors, rattan, and queen size beds with Hawaiian quilts. Renovated in 2012. Free High speed Wifi. Enjoy the slow tempo of the Windward side of Oahu. Think hiking, snorkeling, kite surfing, body surfing, boogie boards, kayaks, bicycling, beach chairs. Swimming pool and tennis courts are 13 houses down the street from us toward Kailua Town. Chen Store across the street from the library provides computer services. Even though the trade winds keep things cool both units have quiet split system AC. Towels, paper towels and beach towels are provided. Irons and hairdryers are provided. Both units are non-smoking units. Both units have cable TV. There is a shared phone line provided for local phone calls. Yes, we have a cocker spaniel who loves to have her tummy rubbed. Our rental policy is first come first served based on receipt of deposit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaii Sheffield House Kailua, Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Sheffield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.