We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby chefs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Formaggio Grill

Formaggio Grill
305 Hahani St, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2802
808-263-2633
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Formaggio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kailua Road
Transit: Da Bus stops across the street on Kailua Road with service to 10:00 pm.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Snobby chefs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place is open air, has a great bar, and always has talented live music on the weekends. Their appetizer bruschetta is to die for!! So good!! I also really enjoyed the Sangria. However, I have a dairy allergy and do not eat meat, and I have eaten there a few times. Depending on which chef is working that night, I am sometimes able to modify my entree. But you would think at a higher end restaurant I would be able to order a simple pasta or gnochhi with just a plain marinara instead of a sauce with meat or dairy in it. We do not go here very often anymore, just because of the chef's attitude of not wanting to "change the flavor of the dish per the chef's request" and not accommodate my food allergies/diet. My husband always enjoys his food though, and he does not have any dietary restrictions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, ME
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty but overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We grabbed an early dinner here on the basis of other reviews, but we were disappointed. Portions were small (for what you are paying), Service could have been better - we were never told what the specials were, for example. She had a salad and an appetizer - shrimp with hummus, an odd combination but good. He had salmon with a sort of crabmeat stuffing. Both quite tasty but overpriced for the small portions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just happened by.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We just happened by this place while on vacation and loved it. Meals were excellent and service was also. Will go back if we come back to islands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“overpriced but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

the service was good, and we enjoyed our food (i had the garlic ahi, which was delicious and a good sized portion, although the pasta was a bit oily)... i liked the fact we could order 2 oz. glasses of wine with a nice range of wine options. however, the prices are a bit too high. my ahi dish was $28, and a small french onion soup cost about $10. you aren't paying for view, so you are better off stopping at Buzz's down the road.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stopped by on a night ride and sat at the bar. Ordered a white wine and mussels appetizer. Bartender was very friendly. Food and wine were so so, especially considering the price. Not sure if I'd return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Formaggio Grill also viewed

 

Been to Formaggio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formaggio Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.