We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good bakery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop

Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop
46 Hoolai St, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-6121
808-262-5367
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 124 restaurants in Kailua
Restaurant details
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Be sure to try the cooked-to-order malasadas (egg-sized balls of yeast dough deep-fried in oil and coated with granulated sugar). Indoor seating. Tea and coffee too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    35
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Malasadas....oh my God”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hot malasadas are awesome! They melt in your mouth! The reason that there is a line is because they only sell the malasadas HOT! Apparently you can call in orders and there were boxes on the shelf from people who had not come in yet.....but who wants them cold? Highly recommended! The tourist map of Kailua has a $1.00 off coupon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Malasadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Go for the malasadas. Go for the malasadas. Go for the malasadas. They are delicious and well worth the 10min wait in order to eat them piping hot. Will not disappoint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great malasadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Picked up some malasadas for breakfast. In downtown Kailua. I thought the malasadas were a bit too browned. We got half a dozen and brought it back to our rental home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“malasadas, malasadas, malasadas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Each morning in Kailua began with a quick trip to Agnes Bake shop to fetch a batch of hot, fresh malasadas.

By the time I returned to our rented house, I had consumed a few but had to leave the majority untouched-or else my husband would have divorced me in a second. The rest of the malasadas were then slowly eaten, accompanied by some wonderful Kona coffee. Forget the beaches, the weather, the breezes-a warm malasada and a cup of coffee is why Hawaii is heaven.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.