We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop

Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop
46 Hoolai St, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-6121
808-262-5367
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Restaurant details
yellow springs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Warm malasadas to order, just call 15 minutes ahead! On top of the wonderful malasadas my family also had some bread pudding, some fudge, a mango turnover, some insane pastry with caramel, chocolate, coconut, and macadamias and they were all delicious! Nothing here is a disappointment, definitely worth the drive to Kailua!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Washington
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Malasadas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was all we got but oh, boy were they good! We had half sugar and half cinnamon/sugar. I think the cinnamon/sugar edged out the straight sugar by a slim margin. They are best when hot (we got there just as a batch was finishing up, otherwise you have to wait 10 minutes). I am rating it an average for atmosphere since it is a bakery. You can eat there if you want.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm not a big fan of pastries, my hubbie is, but we both very much enjoyed the donuts. It's hard to describe the difference from other donuts, they seem spongier, almost like angel food cake. Not as heavy as a cake donut and not as light as a basic donut. Very tasty and wonderful with coffee. I like to dip mine in my coffee and liked that they soaked up the coffee with out breaking off into the drink.

We arrived a little before seven on Sunday morning, there was a line and they were already getting low. What was out was it, no extra in the back. We ate there and the stream of visitors was constant. Coffee could have been better and the expresso machine was down. Other then that, we liked it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Malasadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We discovered Malasadas at Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop. They are like a warm donut and are amazing if eaten when they are HOT. You can call and order before hand. They take 10 minutes to cook. We also had a variety of other treats - sweet rolls, corn muffins, cookies, etc. We enjoyed them all. Both times we went, we took our food to go. The restaurant eating area looks pretty old school but the food is amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Make sure you get two boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I knew at the first bite that none of the six I had just purchased would survive the short drive back to our place and that I needed another batch for the family. Delish! I went back, got two more orders - they are made to order.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agnes Portuguese Bake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.