We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the clean comforts of home in a B&B, with an unwelcoming hostess. hostess. hostess.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast

Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
804 Mokapu Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Kailua B&B and Inns
maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All the clean comforts of home in a B&B, with an unwelcoming hostess. hostess. hostess.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We found the room small and convenient and clean. It is located on a busy road across the street from a Burger King shopping centre. it is a walk to a beautiful Kailua Beach but not very convenient to Waikiki area- quite an arduous drive! The hostess was not very welcoming making us feel we were not paid guests. Laundry facilities are advertised, but she suggested I do it at my son's apt complex(who's wife just had a baby). She also asked if there was something wrong- to my son when he was quietly sitting after the first five minutes of meeting, which was taken not kindly. The host was much more pleasant and friendly. I reccomend if you expect a normal, friendly welcoming on beautiful Kailua Beach you will not get it here. I feel it is time for the hostess to retire.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Mo.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

From the time you are welcomed by Marilyn & Jim and and shown the amenities of your room until, with regret , you realize you must go home, you will feel at home. The decor is lovely, the bed, and surroundings are comfy and the muffins are to die for.

We toured all of Oahu from here without the hassle of Honolulu traffic but it only takes 30 minutes to get there which is better than cross town traffic. Beaches here are beautiful and uncrowded. Their hospitality and tourist advice is first class. If you decide to stay here you will be glad you did, we are.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Wa.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

"A home away from home" describes Jim and Marilyn's Paradise Palms! We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughout the UK and Ireland, and found PP above and beyond any others. They have thought of everything. I am a very detailed person (ex surgical nurse), and could not improve on or add anything. The Maile Room was delightful, wth a king bed, comfortable big chairs and a large round table, large closet, compact kitchenette (with frig, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, and lots of drawer and cupboard space). Also a large bathroom with huge shower.
A very private entrance with a table and chairs for outside dining. They also provided a cooler, beach chairs and towels, beach mats, umbrella for that trip to the beach.
Jim and Marilyn were always available, eager to answer questions and give advice and directions. They know their island well. We would reccomend their "home" to all.
Helen and Ed Olson

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARSHALLTOWN
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
416 helpful votes 416 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

Staying at Paradise Palms B&B on the windward side of Oahu is like staying in the guest suite of a good friend – but better because one has as much host interaction or privacy as one wants.

Unlike the usual mainland Victorian B&B’s, which offer hyper décor and hyper breakfasts, licensed Oahu B&B’s are usually studio apartments in private homes. Local regulations prohibit more than an initial basket of fruit and muffins (no served meals), and there is no daily maid service.

Paradise B&B is blessed by hosts (the Warmans) who take their business very seriously. They are extremely thoughtful and diligent in providing everything one might need for an informal and enjoyable stay. They are experts on what Oahu has to offer visitors, and extensive tourist information is also available in each room.

They are ideally located a 10 minute walk away from the north end of famous Kailua beach and a 3 minute walk from a shopping center with several restaurants, a gas station, and a large grocery store.

They have two units, each with private entry and private patio and garden. The slightly larger unit (king bed, $95 plus tax) has the better bathroom, and the smaller unit (queen bed, $85 plus tax) has the better kitchen, although both units are very comfortable and functional. The beds are better than your own, and the bed/bath/beach linens are deluxe quality. Each unit has a private phone line, TV, A/C, fans, etc.

I have heard that there are not that many legal (licensed) B&B’s on Oahu, but based on our stay I believe that Paradise Palms cannot be beat. More information and photos are available on their website [-------------].

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2004

Marilyn and Jim Warman were born to run a bed and breakfast operation. Every detail has been anticipated and taken care of for you. Their warm hospitality is refreshing and evident in the beautiful, carefully coordinated room and bath, private lanai and basket of goodies you are given when you check-in.

Marilyn could have been a concierge at a fancy hotel. She anticipates how much information you want and is either very, very helpful, or else she is happy to leave you to your own devices.

If you have had enough of the craziness of Honolulu, or want to avoid it altogether, take a ride to the other side of the mountain and stay in Kailua with Marilyn and Jim. The beach there is beautiful, wind-surfing is great, restaurants are wonderful. Ah, Paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 804 Mokapu Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners! Chic Kailua Bed and Breakfast! Enjoy your completely updated room with fresh, crisp white bedding begging for you to take an afternoon nap after playing in the surf just a walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Palms Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.