We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapawai Cafe & Deli

Kalapawai Cafe & Deli
750 Kailua Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2821
808-262-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We each enjoyed a sandwich made to order and they were both delicious! You can have the 'shrimp carts' along the highway, this place is clean, fast, excellent and worth the few blocks out of the way anytime!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    60
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We were in Kailua for two weeks, we ate at Kalapawai Cafe 3 evenings. We always sat out under the trees, the traffic was loud at first but the spot is so charming and the wait staff so attentive that we soon forgot the background noise. We always had the two fish specials, preparation always creative and fish cooked perfectly. We loved it here!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you go for lunch, get Da Skinny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We live in the area and have eaten here frequently over the last 1.5 yrs. Dinner is very good but our favorite is the lunch special. Da Skinny. Kalua pork topped with slaw, bbq sauce and tomato on a taro roll is awesome. We have tried a couple other sandwiches and they have all been very good, however Da Skinny is worth stopping for. Spectacular has been hard to find in Hawaii, Kalapawai is consistently good. They also offer wine tastings monthly and have a decent by the glass menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kalapawai is worth a great evening for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Kalapawai quickly become our favorite. Always an outstanding dinner with extraordinary food, service and ambiance. Its our favorite restaurant ever! We call it "our dinnerplace". Love it

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Salads and Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our first stop we ordered Salads and they were delicious! The next day, we ordered sandwiches and they were so big we ate half for lunch and saved the other half for dinner. They were very good.

This is also a grocery store, so you can buy grocery items too.

Note: We have noticed that most of the restaurants except for the Grove and Teddy's do not seem to be very clean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapawai Cafe & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Kalapawai Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapawai Cafe & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.