We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Paradise!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Save
You added Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway to your Saves list
1369 Mokolea Drive, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Kailua B&B and Inns
Campbell, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Paradise!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Don't take any chances book this place for your next Hawaiian vacation! My wife and I booked this place for our honeymoon and we can not say enough good things about this place. When we pulled into the driveway our names had been printed on signs leading us to our private suite. For us it felt like we had come home after a long day. As we climbed the stairs there was another welcome sign letting us know we had arrived. Once inside the unit Janice had left a note next to a plate of fresh cookies explaining that we would find a fully stocked fridge, with additional pastries in the microwave. Everything we needed was in the suite and we truly felt the romantic Aloha spirit that we were promised. We were three blocks from the Lanikai Beach which was voted top 5 in the world by National Geographic. If you are booking for a couple I recommend the Peacock suite as it has a private hot tub which we loved having right outside our front door. This place is where you want to be! We are definitely going back for our anniversary and baby-moon. If you are looking for a small, romantic, intimate piece of heaven in paradise then Janice and Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is the place for you.

Room Tip: Peacock Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    5
    8
    13
See reviews for
10
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
keaau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

HH is in a beautiful location that was able to help us as we had an family to house at short notice. A great hostess had lots of good touring ideas and local information. Located on a side street so there was no road noise and set up so that we did not hear (or even see) the other guests that were there when we were. Comfortable beds. Surrounded by well maintained tropical vegatation. Had off street park which was important in that location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The following is an extract of an email I sent to the owner after our December 2011 stay at this property.

We are very seasoned travelers, in and out of the country, and for many years have been staying in Bed & Breakfast's and Inn's. I personally do all of our travel planning, and up until the time we walked in the door of our suite had NEVER been disappointed with our lodging. Although there are some pluses about your property, we find it most unfortunate the negatives far exceed the pluses.

Other than a chance meeting when you were doing some trimming next to the car port we were never greeted or welcomed. During our stay we were not asked if there were any problems and/or if everything was OK. (I had to call you about the bath dispenser) Additionally, when we departed we were not thanked for our business.

Romantic (per your advertisement). The ONLY thing that comes to mind is your property is located in Hawaii.

The furnishings (furniture, curtains, carpeting etc) are extremely dated. The Peacock Suite is in need of a complete makeover.

The curtains in the bathroom...paper thin. This situation made us very uncomfortable when we were using the bathroom due to the walkway located directly behind the unit and the ease of which anyone could see though the curtains.

Speaking of the bathroom...I question whether it was cleaned prior to our arrival. The reason being is I found long dark hair on the shower walls. My wife's hair is short/curly and light brown. Mine is white. Additionally, I had to call you about the body gel and conditioner dispensers being empty. It is clear that you use very inexpensive products in the dispensers as they have little "suds" and are virtually ordorless.

Speaking of cleaning....we've NEVER been charged an extra fee for cleaning as it has always been included in the daily rate. Additionally, we found it offensive to be asked to separate the trash and and non-trash and even put them in your color coded containers. We say that is included in your cleaning fee and you should not ask/expect guests to do this as it is yet another "kick in the shins."

The hot tub...NOT private as shown in your advertisement. Quite the contrary (it's on the roof of the garage..open to public view!). We did not use it for that reason. Additionally, I'm really opposed to having to read/digest part of a technical manual to understand the operating instructions. Why not have a just a few hand written or typed instructions...and who cares if someone removes them to take them outside for use, even if they happen to get wet. They could be easily replaced.

Fans and lights....yet another troubling aspect. As a paying guest, we have the right to leave fans and lights on for our own reasons and for as long as we desire, as like everything else the expense is included in the daily rate. We typically are "green" conscious and do not do this. However, the scent in the room (from the time we arrived) was not exactly pleasant. We were most hopeful that by keeping the fan on and windows open the scent would go away. We are offended that our fan was turned off, more than once, during our stay.

Your driveway and commentary about your lights next to it. First, you should invite guests to park on the left side of the driveway since you are in fear the lights will be damaged when guests are leaving the property. As a matter of fact, I thought I was doing you a favor by parking on the left since your car was parked in the right side of the garage on one occasion. In a note you left for us I felt chastised for doing so. Additionally, the very tall and wide hedge that reaches the edge of the street creates a real safety hazard as it is absolutely impossible to see if there is any oncoming traffic whether you are backing out or driving out "front first."

The mattress...too soft/very uncomfortable. Each day brought back pain when we arose in the morning.

In summation...we feel our stay was micromanaged and driven by all things related solely to economics. Customer service, the total lack thereof, is what we will remember about this disappointing experience. That said, we asked that you please consider at least a 50% refund of our total bill.


A summary of the owner’s response…”I can not correct the things that you were disappointed in after you are gone.” Translation…no refund

Room Tip: We thought we were getting the best of the best, and it was total disappointment from the time we op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

1) towels stink on contact with water
2) ants
3) no curtain on main window and had to threaten to leave before action taken. Then one was jury rigged.
4) a tip jar left on table for the fine service. Pulleeze.
5) cereal left on table for breakfast was stale. Didn't bother trying anything else. Too depressing.
6) minimum 3-4 night stay so you are stuck tight. Not a wonderful feeling.


  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Unfortunately, we didn't research well enough (or check TA) before we booked HH.
We found HH through VRBO and promptly emailed the owner. She had availability (imagine that?) for our dates and seemed eager to have us as guests. (We usually stay at the Beach House down the road from HH). However, the Beach House is booked months in advance so we had to split out 10-day trip in half.
Long story shorter, signs were posted at HH when we arrived to guide us to our rooms (we had 3 kids as well.) The owner left our rooms unlocked - and didn't greet us on arrival. Surprise (overload) of more than a dozen pasteries/breads were in microwaves for us to snack on...nice gesture. The caveat to all the goodies I feel sure is why this place had a serious ant problem!
Our two sons 8 & 9 were playing outside the next day. She (owner)- seemed irritated by them and promptly asked them to "Go somewhere else", not good morning or anything hospitable.
Keep in mind we're paying ~ 500/night. We asked for some beach accessories (We are the only people staying at this B & B.). She asked us to leave a couple of dollars to use beach items!!! We opted not to use them. There's a dirty laundry area in the basement. When we asked to use W & D, she wanted $$$ left for this too.
Around 1pm the owner asked when we were checking out. We realized a miscalculation with our departure dates. Well, we couldn't pack up and leave without paying her a large (300+) fee because se had to "Send away the cleaning crew twice!". We were shocked! Ok, guess we'd might as well stay? She recallculated the fee--over 500 dollars for us to stay 1 more night!
MAY WE ADD - She had NO other guests arriving that day?!? We felt so ripped-off! Embarassed and discusted! That's pretty bad business, no wonder it was so easy to book this place. Albeit, it's located ideally in a beautiful setting.
Unfortunately, this lady has no class. We've waited ~ 3 months to write this review. We don't remember her name. We will remember this experience and learn to check TA's reviews in the future. TA has served us well when we do!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our room was lovely...just right for our 5-day stay. Kitchen was well-stocked with breakfast nibbles and snacks. The charm of Kailua was only a 5-minute drive away, and the beach was a 5-minute walk. Definitely ask for the room level with the private spa...
a great treat! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Don't expect a luxurious 4 star hotel!!! Don't be misled by the press releases which describe a sophisticated paradise! Expect a down-home B&B, with very basic breakfast, ants in the bathroom and kitchen, tacky furniture, but generous towels, beach furniture, and lovely birds in the morning. The beach is NOT 2 blocks walk - it is 5 blocks at least. You cannot see the ocean! The bed is LUMPY and SOFT! There is no a/c, although fans were fine in April. The owner, Janice, did not try and compensate in any way for our disappointment when we arrived. The fuse blew in the kitchenette when I plugged in the coffeemaker and the kettle at the same time. The nearest restaurant is 1 mile away - you need to drive to get any variety. But the beaches are beautiful...lower your expectations and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Address: 1369 Mokolea Drive, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.