We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very laid-back place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
8084640840
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Kayaking Tour of Kailua Bay with Lunch
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very laid-back place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Compared to Kailua Beach, Lanikai more quiet. It has a great view and soft white sand. It's filled with plenty of people trying to get epic facebook profile pictures.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    271
    47
    19
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I hate Lani Kai beach.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Both and my children and I were stung by jellyfish at this beach. Very painful experience. There also is no shade on this beach. Kailua is much better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Probably one of the best beaches I have ever been to in my life. We were so impressed that we came back in June 2014 to Hawaii just to spend some time on this beach again. Would highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Trash on the beach, no parking and angry residents. Don't go. What is there no parking. I got a parking ticket and I saw a lot of other visitors with 40$ tickets.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
438 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Came swimming at Lanikai first thing in the morning and had a great experience. There is no "official" parking place to get here so you have to try to find street parking, which is often a challenge. We went very early in the morning and found parking in front of a vacant lot which I was more comfortable doing than parking in someone's yard. We went down at entry point #7 which is a good place to enter. Had a great swim and enjoyed watching all the people with their dogs having fun. There was one retriever who kept jumping into the surf to retrieve a plastic toy thrown by his owner. This dog was having the time of his life. Hard not to at this amazing place. The water is crystal clear and you get a view of the Mokulele islands. If you can't get parking here, honestly, Kailua Beach Park is also a wonderful beach and is just a short distance away so very much like Lanikai.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanikai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.