We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very laid-back place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
8084640840
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$136*
and up
Small-Group Oahu Eco-Tour Including Waimea Valley...
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very laid-back place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Compared to Kailua Beach, Lanikai more quiet. It has a great view and soft white sand. It's filled with plenty of people trying to get epic facebook profile pictures.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I hate Lani Kai beach.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Both and my children and I were stung by jellyfish at this beach. Very painful experience. There also is no shade on this beach. Kailua is much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Probably one of the best beaches I have ever been to in my life. We were so impressed that we came back in June 2014 to Hawaii just to spend some time on this beach again. Would highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Trash on the beach, no parking and angry residents. Don't go. What is there no parking. I got a parking ticket and I saw a lot of other visitors with 40$ tickets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank LanikaiSuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
493 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Came swimming at Lanikai first thing in the morning and had a great experience. There is no "official" parking place to get here so you have to try to find street parking, which is often a challenge. We went very early in the morning and found parking in front of a vacant lot which I was more comfortable doing than parking in someone's yard. We went down at entry point #7 which is a good place to enter. Had a great swim and enjoyed watching all the people with their dogs having fun. There was one retriever who kept jumping into the surf to retrieve a plastic toy thrown by his owner. This dog was having the time of his life. Hard not to at this amazing place. The water is crystal clear and you get a view of the Mokulele islands. If you can't get parking here, honestly, Kailua Beach Park is also a wonderful beach and is just a short distance away so very much like Lanikai.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KaneoheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing