We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
8084640840
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$136*
and up
Small-Group Oahu Eco-Tour Including Waimea Valley...
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best beach ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I love this beach! It had the softest sand and the most clear water. It doesn't get very crowded either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rcr2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lanikai Beach Paradise found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I really want to say this place is horribly overrated and don't bother wasting your time to come here. But that would be, because i would rather not share paradise with others. It was 38 years since I was last here, and there was really no disappointments. The sand is the best you will find anywhere on earth, kinda like walking in baby powder.... The water crystal blue, and very alluring.
With Kailua beach a stones throw away you can rent kayaks and paddle to the islands (2) and get away from any crowds. There really are not crowds on this beach as it is not highly advertised and considered local. If you go here take out whatever you bring in so the locals dont decide to lock it down for locals. Muhalo ! Enjoy!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weberrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing- A must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the first beach my husband and I went to during our two week stay on Oahu, and it was by far our favorite. It looks like a postcard, it's so stunningly beautiful. We did some snorkeling there and had a great time- my husband even seen an eel. We went back on our second to last day but the water was too choppy to snorkel or be in. Still the best beach by far.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've always wanted to check this beach out. It lived up to my expectation. Yes. There aren't any facilities but that didn't stop me. The waves were just right and calmer than Waikiki beach. The water was turquoise. There isn't much fish present. Will definitely come back,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunneeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Definitely one of the most beautiful places I've ever been in my life. There is something for everyone here - water sports, shady spots if you need them, waves to splash in and shallow spots for little ones to splash. Definitely recommend as a stop on the island. The traffic is a bit crazy, but when I went (middle of the day on a weekday) there was plenty of parking right at the beach.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahB891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing