We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Mokulua Drive, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 13 attractions in Kailua
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best beach ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I love this beach! It had the softest sand and the most clear water. It doesn't get very crowded either.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    181
    27
    13
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Lanikai Beach Paradise found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I really want to say this place is horribly overrated and don't bother wasting your time to come here. But that would be, because i would rather not share paradise with others. It was 38 years since I was last here, and there was really no disappointments. The sand is the best you will find anywhere on earth, kinda like walking in baby powder.... The water crystal blue, and very alluring.
With Kailua beach a stones throw away you can rent kayaks and paddle to the islands (2) and get away from any crowds. There really are not crowds on this beach as it is not highly advertised and considered local. If you go here take out whatever you bring in so the locals dont decide to lock it down for locals. Muhalo ! Enjoy!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing- A must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the first beach my husband and I went to during our two week stay on Oahu, and it was by far our favorite. It looks like a postcard, it's so stunningly beautiful. We did some snorkeling there and had a great time- my husband even seen an eel. We went back on our second to last day but the water was too choppy to snorkel or be in. Still the best beach by far.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've always wanted to check this beach out. It lived up to my expectation. Yes. There aren't any facilities but that didn't stop me. The waves were just right and calmer than Waikiki beach. The water was turquoise. There isn't much fish present. Will definitely come back,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Definitely one of the most beautiful places I've ever been in my life. There is something for everyone here - water sports, shady spots if you need them, waves to splash in and shallow spots for little ones to splash. Definitely recommend as a stop on the island. The traffic is a bit crazy, but when I went (middle of the day on a weekday) there was plenty of parking right at the beach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanikai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.