We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Improve this listing
Visit Lanikai Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Kayaking Tour of Kailua Bay with Lunch
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic beach accessible from a number of locations. Good for long walks, or finding a less crowded place to enjoy a day on the beach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    243
    43
    17
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a sweet beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My daughter lives in Kailua. On a recent trip from Maui where we live we went to Lanikai Beach to go paddle boarding. The beach is protected by an outer coral reef so the water is super calm and perfect for a neophyte paddle boarder(me!). I had so much fun in the water which is the most beautiful turquoise blue because of the white sand. You can kayak or paddle board or paddle a surf board all the way out to the "Mokes" (two small islands off shore). What a fun beach and great for the keikis(children) as the water is very calm with no rip currents.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I am 12 and this was the first time I had ever been to Hawaii.
My mom and dad actually got married right on this beach 13 years ago and it was really neat to visit there!
The beach was very beautiful and the water was so clear..
I would totally come back to this beach next time I come!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice "hidden" beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came to this beach at the recommendation of two friends who are from Oahu. It took us a while to actually find the beach but once we did, we understood what all the fuss was about. It was gorgeous white sand for miles.

When we came, we parked at the state beach (Kailua Beach Park) and walked into Lanikai. Might be easier --- we felt uncomfortable just parking our car on the side of the road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“I'm staying here for 5 weeks. Wonderful beach. Friendly peo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My beach house is on Lanikai beach. It is gorgeous, and on a nice part of the beach. I say ' my ' beach house, but it is mine for another week. Then I'm off home.
Great beach, friendly people, but no services for people ( toilets, etc.). And a mile + off shore, are the Mokulua Islands.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanikai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.