We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pancakes ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen

Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen
151 Hekili Street, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2804
(808) 263-7929
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pancakes ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The macadamia sauce (family secret) on top of their fresh banana pancakes is the best I've ever had. Many tourists take a bus there but I drive over the Pali Hwy (30 min) and it is absolutely worth the trip. Go early! The Japanese tourists know about it from their guidebooks so it does get crowded. While you're on the windward side, take a drive down to the Kailua beach, which is not crowded but has beautiful white sand and even a bathroom and some park style benches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    176
    68
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“BEST breakfast on EARTH.....really!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ok, so the service is spotty and there are crazy long lines every day, but their Macadamia Nut Pancakes with their creamy mac nut sauce is amazing! Plus, we love their in-house Portuguese sausage. Don't come for the service or atmosphere, or you will be disappointed, but the food is the BEST!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All In the Family...NO CLASS!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Worst service I have ever experienced. It made me lose my appetite and over $60. Complaints fall upon deaf ears because this is a family run business. They know that if people want to eat at Boots & Kimo's bad enough, the customers are dumb enough to put up with all the crap that goes with it. If they got paid strictly based on their service, they would have been out of business a LONG time ago.

Bottom line: Don't waste your hard earned money here. Support establishments that actually care about their customers.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We take the time to drive here and eat every time we stay in Waikiki....well worth the drive, money and wait. Mac Nut Pancakes by far beat every other place we've had them and we have tried at least a dozen other places. Fried Rice is my favorite - delicious. Times we have had to wait for a table it has not been bad, we go walk around in the nearby stores. If there is a long wait order it to go and take it to Kailua or Lanikei Beach. My husband and kids love the football theme tables, etc.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Worth the wait and the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family ate here for breakfast at the recommendation of our brother-in-law back in 2010. After an hour wait, I was thinking, "This had better be really good." It was great! I have never tasted pancakes so delicious. Great Kona coffee, wonderful Hawaiian sausage, and a beautiful drive through the heart of Oahu to find this treasure.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.