We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Restaurant

Casablanca Restaurant
19 Hoolai St, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2632
808-262-8196
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San juan capistrano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun place and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Casablanca has been around for quite a while and for good reason. The decor is very Morrocan and nicely done. You sit middle eastern style and eat with fingers from some of the table communal dishes. The food is wonderful. The ambiance very nice.
Bring your own wine or beer. More fun with a group.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Wells, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Something Completely Different and that is a good thing..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Casablanca is so much fun! Some nights there is the traiditional dancers, which is more fun.. make a reservation because this place fills up fast and the lines can be long.. Parking is a bit interesting, but since it is only open for Dinner, you can park in the strip mall lot up the street.

Order a full dinner, bring your own bottle, there was no corkage charge; bring friends and your spirit of adventure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moroccan Splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I think this is the only fine dining Moroccan eatery in Hawaii. They have been around for awhile and the menu and service are very consistent. From the marinated salad and bread, to the B'stilla to the lamb couscous, lemon chicken to the sweet tea poured from a silver vessel. The dessert is not my favorite but by then one is too full to care. It would be nice if they had a belly dancer for special occasions. I will always return to Casablanca!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First time eating Moroccan food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Yes, this was my first time eating Moroccan food...the verdict?! I loved it!!! You get a five course meal for $37.50 or $42.75 if you get the house special. I got the house special, which was some sort of lamb dish. Everything was delicious...everything...even the tomatoes (I usually hate tomatoes)! You are served on platters (family style) and you eat with your hands. In the beginning of the meal, the waitress walks around with some warm water and a catcher to wash your hands before the meal begins.

I recommend making a reservation. Walk-ins tried getting a table and ended up turning around and walking out.

If you're a wine drinker, you can bring your own wine. Ask them for a bottle opener and some wine glasses, and you're set!

You are seated at a short table, like a coffee table. You can either choose to sit on cushions or a bench. It's more fun to sit on the cushions if you ask me. I heard that there is a belly dancer sometimes, but there wasn't one when I went on a Friday night (Dec. 2013).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Kailua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Every time I visit Kailua (I've been there 3 times in the last 7 years), I always go to eat at Casablanca. The food, service and atmosphere just can't be beat for an amazing dining experience. It's got a really cool Moroccan VIBE! The service has always been extraordinary, and all the courses served are just delicious! You will receive an hors d'oeuvres platter to share, then an appetizer, then choose your entrée from the menu, and polish it all off with delicious mint tea and dessert. The price is around $40 per person. For all that, a great value. Also, BYOB your favorite bottle(s) of wine. The server will leave a wine opener at your table, and NO CORK FEE. My husband and I were just in Kailua, and all the other restaurants charge $10 to $15 just to open your wine! Ridiculous! But, Casablanca doesn't charge you a dime. Enjoy! We always do! I can't say enough good about this restaurant. As a matter of fact, when my husband and I got married 7 years ago, this is where we and some friends went for dinner. Just love, love, love this place! Enjoy!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casablanca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.