We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz's Original Steak House

Buzz's Original Steak House
413 Kawailoa Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3134
808-261-4661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Loved the teriyaki burger for lunch and the salad bar for dinner! Make sure to make a reservation if you want to have dinner here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    194
    74
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chetek, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fit for a President”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My granddaughter and I ate at Buzz's before enjoying the Kailua beach. We were hungry, and it was so close to the State Park/beach. We thoroughly enjoyed the catch of the day, marlin. We chose the tempura preparation. Very yummy. President Obama and family showed up about two hours after we left to enjoy their last meal together on their Hawaiian vacation.
It is small inside, somewhat cramped near the bathrooms, but the food was the overriding pleasure. Like another reviewer, we simply stumbled upon it because we were hungry, and it was near our destination.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute little spot in Kailua with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Over all, good food. My husband had the sirloin steak, but that was a miss. It could be better since it is a "steak house" after all. I tried Hibachi Ono fish. It was excellent. The service was great and make you feel right at home. We will visit again for fish and drinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for some fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

After a long afternoon exploring the beaches around Kailua, my friend and I stumbled across Buzz's on the way to the bus and decided to stop off for some lunch.

Wow were we glad we did! We both had the fish and chips, and I can honestly say it was some of the best I've had. SUPER fresh, with house made tartar sauce, you really can't go wrong!

I HIGHLY recommend a stop here if you're in the Kailua area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
1 review
“What a find in Kailua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Driving by the beach on our first night in Kailua, we saw all the action and lights at Buzz's and knew we wanted to check it out. The next night we had a fabulous meal in the fabulous atmosphere with LOTS of locals.... what a find! Our favorite was the Calamari steak appetizer, thanks to the recommendation of the owners, BobbyLou and Stan:) But a salad bar that includes avocado and the steak and fish special were icing on our cake! We'll go back...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Original Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Buzz's Original Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz's Original Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.