We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across from Kailua Beach - Strong Mai Tais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz's Original Steak House

Buzz's Original Steak House
413 Kawailoa Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3134
808-261-4661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Across from Kailua Beach - Strong Mai Tais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved their mai tais, they did not skimp on the liquor and you can only have a few. Their bar is very friendly and comfortable. We tried the artichoke surprise as it was well recommended, but did not care for it - the sauce too runny. Worth stopping for lunch or dinner or just one of their terrific mai tais.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    195
    76
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Of all the restaurants we ate at in Kailua, this was our favorite. Be sure to make reservations, as it's a bit crowded and now we understand why! The food is absolutely wonderful ~ We had the calamari appetizer (w/lemon sauce and capers..Mmm) and the steak and crab (came with the salad bar and veggies/starch). It was perfect! Wine and Mai Tai was great, and the Key Lime pie to end it all was melt-in-your-mouth. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food and a lot more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice restaurant across the street from Kailua public beach. Reasonable prices and great service. There were 5 of us. Had the teryaki chicken breasts, 2 breasts for $13.95 with fries, beans and Ceasar salad. The Artichoke surprise was good but the artichoke was a little tough on the outside, not worth the $8.95 cost. Other entres were Loop Salad, fresh greens and veggies, excellent. Burgers and Ahe were excellent too. Service was good but we did wait a half hour for a table. They served us drinks on the porch while we waited. We will go back there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wen there for Valentine's Day Lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ordered the special crabbed stuffed Ahi. One work Great. The place was really busy but services was really good. Would recommend and next time I am back in Kailua, I would stop in

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just had to go back once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have been travelling to Kailua since 2002 and everytime have eaten at Buzz's. Some good meals, some just so-so over the years. But the last few times, have been very pleasantly surprised by how great everything was: very good service (we always make a reservation so that may help), not too pushy to order but you can't sit there nursing a drink for too long before they are hovering and the usual busy and lively atmosphere. The food has gotten better as the years have passed. Fish was fantastic! Mahi mahi done hibachi style with teriaki glaze was simply wonderful, baby top steak melt in the mouth. Salad bar stays the same, small but very fresh, fine for us. Great drinks, best and strongest mai tai!! Be back next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Original Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Buzz's Original Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz's Original Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.