We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the garlic fries!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fat Greek

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Fat Greek
1020 Keolu Dr. #G, Kailua, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 126 Restaurants in Kailua
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“love the garlic fries!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The building may need some repairs, but the food was amazing. We had the gyro meal which came with a greek salad and garlic fries. I'll go back :) we went after hiking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Won't be going back because of the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

While the waiters were very friendly, the food was between bad and average. I would not go back. Saganaki tasted like fuel as the brandy did not burn off. A complaint about the inedible dish resulted in no response from wait or or kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our first time to try authentic Greek food & we loved it! You must get the hummus & pita bread! So much better than what we've had on the mainland! Service was great as well!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Fat Greek is one of the best restaurants in Kailua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We keep going back to the Fat Greek as the food is superb. Has a very interesting menu. The service is good - very friendly and efficient. The atmosphere is so-so; keep that in mind before you go and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Greek also viewed

 
Kailua, Oahu
 

Been to The Fat Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Greek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.