We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, quick Hike w/an incredible view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanikai Pillboxes

Lanikai Pillboxes
382 Kaelepulu Drive, Aalapapa Drive, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Attractions in Kailua
Type: Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun, quick Hike w/an incredible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a pretty easy hike with an amazing view. We did this twice while we were on the island. the best views are from the two pillboxes. We didn't do the whole loop because locals told us it didn't offer much more of a better view and was more dangerous on the way down. This is a must do!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    47
    10
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The View is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

You should definitely wear tennis shoes when going on this hike. Also, bring a large bottle of water. The view is AMAZING!!! We only hiked to the first pillbox, but the 360 view was breathtaking. I wouldn't bring smaller children on this hike as it can be very uneven at times. One person in my party fell as we were walking back down.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We opted to only go up to the first pillbox. It is well worth going to the top to see the beautiful view. It is an amazing view at sunrise.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Views, leave the flip flops at home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Unimproved trail steep in spots but very doable for most. Take your time coming down. Think twice if its raining. The views are amazing! In all directions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“gorgeous landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

You can see this landscape on the posters ,calenders, of course books these days, and the view from the top is amazing !

The way to the top is unpaved road, so don't forget to wear sneakers even if the lokal people wearing flip-flaps.
To clime this steep slope takes about 30 minutes to the top,but I feel very long way .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Pillboxes also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Pillboxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanikai Pillboxes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.