We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B muy agradable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast

Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast
336 Awakea Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Kailua B&B and Inns
Oviedo, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“B&B muy agradable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at Pillows in Paradise as our last stop for our honeymoon, it was a perfect place for us.

The location is perfect, very close to the top rated beaches of Lanikai and Kailua, very well located for visiting Ohau by car (North Shore, Perl Harbour,....) but not so busy and crowded as Waikiki (you can live a more Aloha experience here!!)

Lionel and Barbara were all the time very kind and friendly, giving us very nice pieces of advice. It was also very nice of them to congratulate us for our honeymoon with a special detail.

The breakfast basket (fruits, yogurt, bagels, fresh cheese, jam, ....) that we received at our arrival was very nice and was very generous and allowed us to have breakfast all mornings of our four night stay.

A very nice place to stay and live an authentic Hawaiian experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Perhaps our stay was spoilt by the continuous rain, some of which was torrential, but the accommodation was really just a bedroom with a kitchenette (which you looked on from the bed) and a shower room. Dining room type chairs, but nowhere comfortable to sit, say, in the evening, although there was a very small veranda. Looking again on the internet, I see we had actually been placed in the Lanikai Studio additional bedroom.

The name "Pillows in Paradise" led us to believe our accommodation was somewhere exotic, but it certainly was not.

Breakfast consisted of a basket with bagels, fresh whole pineapple, fruit jam (beautiful), yoghurt, but you were basically left to your own devices. Parking was on the street outside, accessed via two pedestrian gates.

There is quite a nice pool, but the weather stopped us from using it, and the veranda, which was nice to sit in at the start of the day, or even at the end, if the rain did not come in at the side.

Having visited many B & B's in the States, this was more like a motel room.

Directions were perfect, but take a good map anyway on a visit to this island, as we found it easy to get lost. This is on the other side of the island (a local told us the rainy side) from Pearl Harbour. I would stay somewhere closer, if Pearl Harbour is the main purpose of the visit.

Room Tip: Don't accept the Lanikei additional bedroom as a separate unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Pillows in Paradise for one night on 12th November, what a disappointment. We paid really good money and expected what we had read on there website but they didn't deliver. We arrived and pulled into the drive way to be greeted by Barbara who asked us to move our car and put it in the street around the corner. We were taken to the room which looked out dated and very tired and small, very cramped with three beds in the main area. We were asked to pay up there which we did and were also charged a $50 cleaning fee (clearly they did there on cleaning and it was a ploy to get more money). Once we had paid we never seen Barbara and she was not interested at all when I went with a query to here back door not even bothering to open the door to discuss the issue, just speaking through a security door. There was only a shower curtain to separated us from the bedroom and the shower area which didn't give anyone any privacy to shower. There was only see through curtains on all the windows which let all the light in while trying to sleep. Noisy air cons were the worst. the most disappointing thing was the breakfast - on there website they state that you will get an assortment of fresh fruits, muffins, pastries, tea and coffee ect. All we got was a couple of day of muffins still in supermarket container, four bananas, and a yogurt each. Very disappointing as we have stayed in many of the B & B throughout our trip to the four islands and had never had an issue with any of them until now. P.S. Not sure why they call it Pillows in Paradise as the pillows on the bed were flat, old and dusty, with the pillow cases way to big for the actual pillows and had to be folder under.
:((

Room Tip: Check the rooms out before you pay so you don't get disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a trip to Oahu and the big island, Hawaii. I work long hours and we wanted something relaxing. This location provided that. Barbara is very thoughtful and accomodating. We loved the lanikai studio -- it was quite roomy, clean and comfortable. Since we were somewhat late arriving we were very happy that she had provided fresh fruit (especially the whole pineapple), bagels (butter and 4-berry jam, yum), yogurt, coffee, and a bottle of cold water. This lasted the five days we were there so we didn't have to go out for breakfast if we wanted to just chill. The backyard is a lovely oasis with a small but sparkling pool. We found the walk to the beach a wee bit more than I recalled the website saying but not a big deal. We were very thankful for the air conditioning which is one of the main reasons we chose Pillows -- we would not have been able to relax/sleep in the warm October weather we had. Access to the Waikiki and Honolulu was easy and the scenery on the drive is stunning. After being to the cities and their beaches we were not sorry we "missed" the hustle/bustle there, though October seems a great time as things were not really crowded.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lanikai Studio with its cathedral ceiling and lots of windows. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Kailua very much. The apartment was very beautiful and comfortable. It's very close to the amazing beaches of Kailua and Lanikai. Barbara was very gentle and gave us useful hints. We had a wonderful time and for sure we will come back to Oahu and do not want to stay at another place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in July. Very nice, clean room with our own entrance. The owners was very friendly and serviceminded. There is a swimmingpool and thats great. They provided us with beachtowls which was nice.
The b&b is close to a beautiful beach and the center of Kailua.
We really enjoyed our stay at Pillows in Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Sarah and I were wanting a relaxing week away and both Kailua and Pillows in Paradise offered both of these. We loved Kailua for its relaxing atmosphere, awesome beaches and a town that offered all that we needed. We would spend all day at the beach and know we were going 'home' to our home away from home in the late afternoon.
Barbara offered a very welcoming environment and was very accommodating. Our room was very clean and the kitchenette was ideal for us.
Would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast

Address: 336 Awakea Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Also Known As:
Pillows In Paradise Bed & Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pillows in Paradise Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list