We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRO's! Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Water Sports

Windward Water Sports
33 Hoolai St., Kailua, Oahu, HI
808-261-7873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Activities in Kailua
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Sports
Attraction details
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“PRO's! Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great team and you can also kite with the best! We spent in Kailua 3 days and hhad the best time, Supin, kitin, surfin...they had info and equipment for all disciplines...

totally recommend to hook up with them! Jeff, you rock!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kiteboard with the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Don't look past Windward Water Sports for a professional company to introduce or progress you on your kiteboarding journey. Pro Jeff Tobias went above and beyond to ensure our family had an awesome kiteboarding experience on Oahu. Local Joey and Brazilian Gustavo were excellent teachers for our teenage kids in progressing their skills and importantly building confidence in what is a challenging sport. A downwind run with a world champion as the sun set on beautiful Kailua beach a 'pinch me' moment. Thanks for an awesome experience guys!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Guided Eco Kayak tour....Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family of 8 had a wonderful time on our Guided Eco tour with Kepa as our guide. He was awesome and the whole experience was fabulous! From getting the gear at the shop, they even had gear for my tall boys large feet, and through out the whole tour it was kept fun and lively and professional. Thanks so much Kepa for a great memory!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good experience with guided at tour at Kaneohe Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked Windward for a tour at Kaneohe Bay, to go to the sand bank and do some snorkling. It was one of the best kayak trips I have done and everybody in our group loved it. The kayaks are launched out of Kaneohe Bay, which is beautiful and you kayak for about 45 min to an hour to get to the sand island. As the tide was high, the sand island never emerged but you are able to walk around and hang out nevertheless. We saw a tour company boat that brought a sand volley ball net...

We saw turtles but not many fish. It was unusually windy and the sea a bit rough; probably the least fish I've ever seen snorkeling but a beautiful reef.

The lunch sandwiches and snacks were delicious and our guide, Kepa, worked very hard to give us information, anker the kayaks, take pictures.

On the way back we had back wind and it took us only about 20 minutes to get back; which made our return early but due to the wind we were all pretty cold and ready to step out. If you like kayaking a lot, this is a great trip. I think when it is calmer, it is a lot easier but we worked hard; and loved it.

My only caveat would be the initial organization of the trip. We booked online and did not hear back for a while. We paid $125 per person, which I think is quite a lot but for a 4.5 hour trip acceptable. The person on the phone told us to be at the meeting spot at 9:45 PM. They then sent us an email saying we should meet them at 9:30 AM. In reality, we waited until after 10 AM until somebody showed up.

Having said that, I would do this trip again as it is fabulous

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great gear rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My girl and I rented two SUP's from windward and had a great time. Great price, the young woman at the shop was easy to get a hold of and the guy that dropped our gear of was super cool and gave us some good info, check'em out.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windward Water Sports also viewed

 

Been to Windward Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Water Sports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.