We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kailua Beach Park

Kailua Beach Park
526 Kawailoa Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
(808) 768-3003
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kailua Beach Park like an insider
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Kayaking Tour of Kailua Bay with Lunch
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Kailua
Activities: Kayaking, Swimming, Wind-surfing
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This beach anchors a long stretch of excellent beach in Kailua. We stayed on the far end of the beach away from this park, but walked here and enjoyed the beach in several locations. The beach bottom slopes gradually out and the waves are relatively gentle. You can still boogie board and enjoy the surf. This park has good facilities and a good amount of shade to escape the sun. This is a great spot to have a sandy beach experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    316
    49
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful beach, be prepared for the wind. This beach tends to be on the windy side. Lot's of wind surfers. Bring a light wrap.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a great place to go for beach swimming. The parking is a little hard to find but the beach itself is lovely.
The kite-boarders were out in force while we were here, too. Fun to watch!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing beach... white soft sand and clear water... I am afraid I don't know enough words to describe the beauty of this place. Amazing! I was sad to leave. It is worth the visit. I highly recommend it. A little far from downtown Honolulu but not a big deal. I took the bus and it was easy as pie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Cool Laidback beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the best beach in Hawaii island. You can relax to the core with unlimited fun. Kayak/boat to the flat island facing the beach. Play volley ball and kids play in white sand.

Cons: Parking (get early)
Pros: Barbeque, play area, neighborhood, Kids,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kailua Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Kailua Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kailua Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.