We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet B&B to get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast
656 Old Mokapu Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Kailua B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet B&B to get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights with Susan at this B&B. Located at the extreme north of Kailua town adjoining a bird sanctuary and close to the US marines base at Kaneohe, it is very quiet and relaxing. To get around easily you must have a car.

The guest bedroom has a small bar fridge to use and tv if needed. The room also has a two level lanai, which we made use for a self catered dinner from goods bought at the local market store near the main beach in Kailua. The top level of the lanai overlooks the sanctuary and out towards the base to the north and the ocean east. Very pleasant and relaxing spot.

We didn't use the pool (due to wet weather) though it looked inviting at times.

Susan was a very respectful host who had good advice on places to eat and visit locally and throughout Hawaii. She made us feel at home. Breakfasts were fruits, lots of English style toasted muffins, tea, coffee, and cereals if you still needed more.

Overall a very nice place to kick back after the hustle of Honolulu and Waikiki and a good base for exploring the windward coast and north shore of Oahu.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is one of those places that you hesitate to review...because you want to keep it all to yourself. But I realize that would be selfish, especially since I can't be in Kailua 52 weeks a year! This is not a standard B&B. Only one couple or group (1 or 2 bedrooms) is hosted at a time, so you are guaranteed privacy (but have the world's sweetest B&B hostess to advise you). Instead of fighting the crowds at Waikiki, this feels like staying with your favorite aunt at her house, if your aunt had a nice home in the same neighborhood in which the Obama's vacation. There is a very comfortable king-sized bed, free internet, adorable bathroom with atrium garden, use of a beautiful landscaped pool and hot tub, and you have TWO private decks, downstairs with hammock and table, and upstairs, where I watched the gorgeous sunrise (although apparently that is visible from the deck only two months of the year) and saw a huge full arc rainbow. It is 2 blocks to a beach access and a mile to the famous Kailua Beach, a tropical paradise of sugar white sand and aqua water. Plus a lovely continental breakfast, a mini fridge and microwave, beach towels, and instructions on sight-seeing. Did I mention the incredible Hawaiian bird songs? This is in a real home, so not for those who want a 5 star hotel, but absolutely great for those who want a 5 star experience on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We spent two nights at Kaimalino Kailua. The home is in a quiet, residential neighborhood. The room is fine, the private bathroom large and I loved the private lanai. Susan gave us good tips on sights, activities and restaurants. Breakfasts were tasty. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I wish there were more reviews on this place. It is absolutely beautiful! It is quiet, peaceful, and we could not have asked for more. It is all we could have wished for. My husband and I stayed here in Sept. 2010 for 3 days. We only wish it could have been longer. Grounds are well groomed and beautiful. The place is clean and neat. The bed is comfortable. Only one guest, or guest group allowed at a time so very nice that way. Beautiful patio with upper and lower deck. Nice pool area (cannot accommodate young children because it is deep). Lovely living room. Beautiful atrium in bathroom. As much or as little interaction with the hostess as you wish. She is a very sensitive and kind person. Breakfast is served, but due to ordinances, only packaged foods can be prepared. No cooked meals. Our breakfasts consisted of yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, or similar item, granola, hot drinks, packaged waffles heated in the toaster, etc. A 3-5 minute drive to beautiful beaches, or a 10 minute walk. We were very satisfied and recommend this beautiful location to anyone. A real paradise!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

A last minute emergency led me to this wonderful bed and breakfast in my new hometown of Kailua. Lovely hostess, wonderful homey surroundings, privacy, lucious grounds, delicious breakfast, nice company, and a wonderful nights sleep is just what the doctor ordered. Very elite neighborhood near where Obama stays. I would definately recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Kailua. There was an awesome observation deck that looked out on the ocean, and the open tropical grounds before Kaneohe. A lovely pool is on site too. I felt very well taken care of. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Kaimalino Homestay Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Address: 656 Old Mokapu Road, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaimalino Homestay, a bed and breakfast in Kailua, Hawaii offers you a gracious stay on the Windward Side. Closed November and December ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list