We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hula Breeze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hula Breeze
172 Kuumele Place, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Kailua B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was two Japanese old couples' stay.
Owner
husband and wife explained plainly also for inconvenient English us.
Language was satisfactory.
It was very easy to pass and was wonderful environment.

Moreover, he plans to use also for the following vacances.
Thank you! ARIGATO!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    14
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spend 4 nights of our honeymoon at the Hula Breeze. It is a very nice and especially calm place to stay. The hosts are very helpfull and one of the most beautiful beaches of Oahu is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my second time at Hula Breeze. It's a great place, a few blocks from the beach and the general store (for morning coffee runs). Alison (owner) is wonderful - very welcoming. Nothing fancy, but very comfortable and great value. This is our go-to location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The pineapple room was bright and airy and topped off with all the necessities required! Our only disappointment was that we had such little time to stay. what a little haven the "hula breeze turned out to be!" Definitely recommend this spot which was so relaxing and only a little drive away from a beautiful beach. If you are looking for a sanctuary to unwind this is the spot. Allison was so friendly and helpful. If we are so fortunate to return to the island we plan to revisit this hidden treasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyou, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'm definately not going to tell about this place.
However, here're some things characteristic about it.
Far from shopping places, laundry machine only between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m., only a few chances to meet the owner's family.
Sorry, it's yet our one and only secret place for our summer vacation in the world.
I do reccomend to stay at other places in the downtown area in Kailua.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulaGirl19, Owner at The Hula Breeze, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Aloha,

Don't worry, we will always have a spot for you and your familiy here at the hula Breeze....you don't have to keep us a secret

We really are a short 10-12 min walk or a 5 min drive into Kailua town and we live onsite so we are always available to answer questions.

See you next year!

Warm Regards, Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

With few options in Kailua, my wife and I (both confirmed B&B skeptics) took a chance and booked the Hula Breeze. What a gem this place turned out to be. Allison and Sven are incredible hosts - gracious but not intrusive (they're not the hovering B&B innkeeper types, thank goodness). What must be the finest beach on Oahu (if not beyond) is a short walk away, as is Kailua town (it was SO NICE to escape from Honolulu!). We'll be back, thanks to the hospitality and location of the Hula Breeze.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stopped off in Kailua for 5 nights, on my way back to Australia, from Canada.... I was on my own, without a car, and walked everywhere. I loved my Pineapple Room, and it's basic comforts. Allison and Sven were friendly and helpful, as predicted, and I formed a special bond with Ringo, one of their dogs :-) I recommend the sea kayaking to the Mokulua Islands, and shopping at "Wholefoods" for delicious foods if you want to prepare some meals for yourself. Id stay again in a heartbeat !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hula Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hula Breeze

Also Known As:
The Hula Breeze Hotel
The Hula Breeze Hotel Kailua
The Hula Breeze Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii
Address: 172 Kuumele Place, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hula Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hula Breeze to your Saves list