We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th Night Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
“Best hotel on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This property is the best that we have ever come across on all the islands. It had the most spectacular view, room 501, and the staff were so welcoming and helpful! Especially the beach, valet and bell service staff! They made our stay even better! We will definitely be coming back!!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    331
    107
    36
    21
See reviews for
390
640
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a jewel. If you like the touristy areas, with lots of shopping, stay away this hotel is not for you. if you like a beautiful setting, that is more wild, like the more true Hawaii, this would suit you better. En route to the hotel, which is listed as 45 minutes from the airport, but realistically is more like an hour, you will pass some of the most beautiful beaches. We were stuck in traffic due to sea turtles coming ashore. It seems that everyone was pulling over to go see them. The road to come to the hotel is a 2 lane country road. One suggestion, leave yourself ample time to return to airport. We left on memorial day and there was a good deal of traffic. It took 1 1/2 to return to car rental place, and then take shuttle to airport.
The hotel is self contained. There are restaurants on the property. Choices off the property are limited, mostly to food trucks, which happen to be very tasty! ( we took a half day to tour the north shore something that is very nice to do) Once you get to the hotel, the setting is spectacular. The hotel is situated on a point. The water is beautiful, crystal turquoise blue water. I don't surf, however some people were attempting to surf. I'm not sure if this is the best location to surf, the surf looked pretty rough, the waves pretty choppy. However, there is a nicely roped off and safe area for beach swimming. the pool is quite large and nice for a swim. Snorkels are available to use free of charge for 2 hours/day. nice ones too!
One of the nicest parts of the resort was the people. they were very low key. A lot of young families with one or two little ones in tow. Not loud just nice.
We had lunch at the restaurant at the golf course. It was pleasant. Had a Caesar salad, husband had ribs. It was fine, not fantastic not awful., perfectly fine. the restaurant by the beach was exceptional. We went twice and each time the fish was delicious. Lunch service could be better. A little disorganized. Who's table, who's our waiter? the restaurant by the pool had a very nice menu. Not all fried fatty foods, some very nice choices.
One of the nicest things is the way the lobby is laid out. There is a spectacular view of the ocean. In the morning, and really all day, you can grab a cup of coffee and a muffin.. In the afternoon you can have a drink there. There is one wall that is just completely glass. it is beautifully done.
We played tennis while there. courts are not crowded. the courts are in good shape. The pro, diego, is great.
My only criticism iss that I had tried to set up tennis lessons before I arrived so that I would not be closed out. The preregistration process before I arrived was a little disorganized, or rather nonexistent.When i arrived there were no lessons to be had, the pro was away, but to the resorts' managements credit, they made it happen, so Kudos and a big thank you to brett and to the management. They recruited Sheldon, a local pro, who was very good.
I don't usually like resort vacations, but I truly liked turtle bay and would look forward to returning. the location is beautiful, the entire vibe was very relaxing. .One of the things I loved about this resort was that it was quiet, you don't have the motor boats going back and forth across the water all day. You just look at the beautiful ocean. There were helicopter rides that were a little annoying, but thankfully not many of them.

Room Tip: Try to look at a map of hotel, may rooms have ocean view, but try to get one that looks outward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on the tail end of a vacation to Kauai, coming back through Oahu so we could see Pearl Harbor. We specifically did not want to stay in Honolulu because of the traffic, crowds, etc. This resort was so nice and a welcome relief from the crowded city, not to mention it's in a prime location. It was busy because it was a holiday weekend, but it didn't feel that way. Our room was fabulous as well. The service was great, as to be expected, and we had no complaints with anything. The last day of our stay we ate breakfast at the Kula Grille and the food was phenomenal! I would highly recommend this resort if you're looking to stay on the North Shore.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view so you can't go wrong. We got a room on the top floor at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great family stay over the Easter break. What a beautiful expansive property with so much to do. We have 2 pre-teen children and they had a non-stop blast. They surfed, did the kids camp and paddle boarded and kayaked. We snorkeled in the close convenient swimming area and saw so much wildlife. We golfed both golf courses and the kids loved that too. We intended to do the foot-golf but the golf course was so friendly and accessible to the whole family we ended up doing 3 rounds of golf. That was a pleasure. There were a number of dining choices and we tried them all since they were quite good. We especially liked the grill on the golf facility for relaxed family meals. The main hotel seemed nice but the condos were great for families. They were large and a bit more secluded. Great wifi and connectivity plus TVs in each room. Each condo had a good kitchen for cooking your own meals but there was so much to do. The staff was very attentive and they do a good job providing guests options. They held a very special Easter service which was quite nice. Overall very good facility. It is a very nice drive over to Turtle Bay and the local towns are very nice and worth a visit also. We would definitely stay again at this location.

Room Tip: We choose the Condos for more seclusion and space for family. They were very nice and made a good p...
See more room tips
Green Features: We took a tour of the facility and they emphasized the nature and conservation work taking place at the site. We were very impressed and learned a lot about local environment.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very pricey for what you get.
Nice place and friendly staff.
Don't upgrade; you'll pay more for the same room.
Terrific terrace and view; but ocean view does not mean full ocean view.
Go local (Haleiwa) for better food.
Can't beat the North Shore; you'll miss it if you go to Honolulu.
Nice pool and bar service

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have a friend that lives on the North Shore of Oahu, where we normally stay. This trip was different, and we needed to stay somewhere close by, and he recommended the Turtle Bay Resort.
From the time that we arrived, just before noon, we were able to check in, and our room was ready. Company policy states check in at 3 PM, but they will accommodate early arrivals, if the rooms are ready.
Turtle Bay was built some years ago, by the Dell Webb Corporation, and it was intended to be a casino/hotel. The casino never happened, but if I could give one less than steller comment, it would be that the table set up as a desk (or dining table) does not have the electrical outlets for todays computers, tablets, etc.
The hotel is maintained to a good/excellent condition, for its age.
We dined at Lei Lei's on the golf course, and the food was superb.
The hotel is a bit pricy, but the attention to detail makes it well worth my money.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean front view room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is definitely going green!! I like the way that the hotel is gently giving its guests ideas of how to save environmentally.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Turtle Bay during a trip with my husband's company. We had a fantastic experience, the best part was the paddleboarding lesson with Timmy. He was extremely personable and knowledgeable and had us all looking like pros in no time!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.