We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could've been 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th Night Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could've been 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

After flying into Honalulu, the best way to get to Turtle Bay, is to hire a car. It's about an hour drive depending on traffic.
There is parking at the hotel that is included in the $36 resort fee that you need to pay each day. This also gives you free wifi, use of facilities, free snorkelling and more.
We had a partial ocean view (was actually full ocean view) and it was beautiful. The room was large, and the bathrooms were quite big and included 2 basins.
It is quite isolated on the north, so we ended up eating at the restaurants at the resort. They were of a good standard and overlooked the ocean.
The only issue we've had, is that when you charge your bills to the room, they take pending transactions from your card. At the end of the stay they tally the bill and take the money from your account, but they don't cancel any pending transactions for a long time, so if you are relying on having money for continuing your holiday, be aware that they are very slow to release the money that's yours if you are using a debit account. I have tried contacting the resort twice and they haven't answered which is why they don't get 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    318
    104
    34
    21
See reviews for
376
606
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I've never slept better than in the clean and cozy bed in my room, with the sound of ocean waves just outside my window. Heaven! The staff is kind and helpful, especially Will, a server at our favorite restaurant. There was plenty to do at the resort without driving around the island, which was so nice. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We only spent 2 days at turtle bay as our ending to our vacation. We jammed many activities into those two days. Big thank you to Raul and Timmy...who took us on an outstanding sunset horseback riding trip. We followed that with a great segway tour with Seth...who couldn't have been more patient or kind. We also took a paddle board lesson with Shane..who was super excellent. Eddie at the pool bar made excellent lava flows and mai tais! The waitress Sophia served us excellent food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
The room itself was very nice and comfortable. I just wish we had more time to enjoy it

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaaawa, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Celebrated my daughter's 19th birthday at TurtleBay (she just returned home to Hawaii after completing her fresman year of college). We started the day with an advanced-private horse ride. What a way to start the day! I cant say "thankyou" enough to Alicia and Raul for taking such good care of us. We had such an amazing time. The horses were beautiful and good-spirited; Raul made sure we were always safe, and that we had everything under control. The scenery was so beautiful and Raul knows so much about the areas we rode through. Even as a Kamaaina having grown up in Kawela Bay, I thouroughly enjoyed the ride and scenery. I highly recommend the horserides at TurtleBay for anyone looking for some fun and beautiful sight-seeing. Already looking foward to booking another ride. Thank you again Raul and Alicia!
Aloha,
Julie K

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were at Turtle Bay for two and a half weeks during April - May 2015. It was our third time staying at the resort. This time we stayed at one of the condos on the grounds. We had breakfast one morning at the resort's North Shore Kula Grille and the food was fabulous. Service was friendly and professional. We met the resort's Food and Beverage Manager, Ceci, and she made us feel very welcome, like family. We also patronized Ola's at the beach. Great food and beautiful location. Lei Lei's restaurant on the golf course was also a favorite (a short walk from the condo we were staying at). The pool bar had live entertainment every night and great bartenders. Drinks by the pool, listening to live music, and watching the surfers riding the waves . . . well, what more do you need?

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. Our first trip to Turtle Bay we did stay at the hotel. Recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful resort on the north shore of Oahu. We stayed in a condo not at the hotel. We could use everything except the hotel pool. Condos have there own separate pools which are small but nice not crowded. Really nice beach which you can snorkel from. Two nice golf courses behind condos. Lots of hiking trails along the beach. Also to the left of resort a really nice private beach. You can drive to it. Its across from fruit stand. Nice beach restaurant and bar a little pricey but the swordfish was great. Not many resorts or restaurants near by but food trucks seem to be the place to go. Would stay again

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had some travel issues and needed to cancel my reservations at Turtle Bay the day before arrival. The reservations were made thru a 3rd party booking company. I was able to work with Stephany,a reservation supervisor there at Turtle Bay. She was able to get a full refund from the booking company. Stephany was very professional and personable. If she is the caliber of customer service,I look forward to staying at Turtle Bay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.