We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th Night Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gilbert, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Turtle Bay is an amazing resort that offers the best of Hawaii. My husband and I stayed in the oceanfront cottages which were expensive but well worth the price. The room was huge and beds so comfy. The bathroom was totally upgraded and beautiful. We felt like we had a secluded beachfront condo all to ourselves. The grounds are peaceful and the views spectacular. The hotel is a short walk away so it was nice to be able to feel like we were on private grounds or enjoy the hotel atmosphere when we wanted. Parking right in front the of the cottage was easy and convenient. Staff were very friendly. The cove by the hotel was perfect for snorkeling and not at all overcrowded. The location of the hotel is perfect, you really get that island vibe from the north shore area with a lot of good food options just a short drive away. Overall it was truly and experience to remember!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    316
    103
    34
    21
See reviews for
373
600
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Turtle Bay Resort was absolutely wonderful overall. TB's location is perfect, the staff are very friendly, the breakfasts were unbelievable with an abundance of food, and TB is close to everything of interest. We especially loved the snorkeling opportunities at Kuilima Bay and TB is just minutes from Sharks Cove, which is also a great snorkeling site. As a runner, I enjoyed jogging by their famous Baynam tree where several movies have been filmed and swimming in Kawela Bay. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation or a better venue. Thanks, TB!

Room Tip: Several ocean view rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor! I am thrilled you enjoyed our trails, which is my favorite thing about Turtle Bay. It is also great to know you found our staff and food to be unbelievable. Thank you for the great review and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To clarify, I actually put my head on the pillow in a condo (116W is a great unit) which opened to the golf course. The hotel is prominent on the waterfront and the condos are around the golf courses. I did not stay in a room at the hotel. But guests at the condo are able to access hotel amenities (except the pool). The grounds are beautiful and it was an easy and pleasant walk to the hotel. I enjoyed a breakfast off of the menu - my favorite is eggs with corned beef hash - and the hash was delicious. My friends enjoyed their hearty buffet. Other days, I purchased coffee and fresh pastries in the lobby cafe. One evening I treated myself to a martini and listened to the live music outside with the surf in the back ground. Another morning I enjoyed a yogurt parfait and watched the surfers in the bay. The hotel villas are close to the beach on the east side of the property. The bay is on the west side. There are many activities to enjoy from tennis, horseback riding, running trails, biking, surfing and other water sports. All of the hotel staff I encountered wore bright smiles and were most helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will have the best view of the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Although you did not stay in our hotel, it is nice to know you enjoyed our outlets. Just to clarify, non-hotel guests do not have access to our pool, hot tubs, fitness center and amenities (free snorkeling gear, free ukulele lessons, tennis court use, free GoPro rental, beat box use, housekeeping, etc.) We would love to have you stay with us at the hotel on your next visit and appreciate your review.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a second floor ocean front/view villa with Turtle Bay through a vrbo for myself and my husband. Perfect for its location next to pool, short stroll to cove for beach and snorkeling, nice wide veranda for evening dinners (villas have a kitchen.) Also next to Ola's, an open air restaurant right on the beach. Didn't really use much of resort amenities other than the villa's pool so can't comment on that but took daily walks along miles of ocean trails. Overall a great trip. One caveat--the villas are obviously popular with families and you have to take your chances with having good neighbors and quiet children. We were lucky.

Room Tip: For villas, choose second floor for more privacy and best view. First floor good for seniors and sma...
See more room tips
Green Features: Could emphasize recycling more--saw lots of bottle and cans in communal trash location.
Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

It is nice to know you had a wonderful vacation in the Ocean Villas. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This condo was just perfect!! We absolutely loved our stay. Wish we could have stayed longer than the two nights. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the patio, comfortable bed, beautifully decorated condo. We had a wonderful time. Will definitely return . . . . . hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your Turtle Bay Resort experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return to the fabled North Shore and appreciate your 5 star review.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved the style of this resort from the sunset bar to snorkelling beach, lobby cocktails to surf lessons, not to mention the world class golf courses, WOW. The adults wanted to play golf and the teenagers wanted to explore so the location was perfect. Kids loved the Climbworks Zipline tour and local markets. We played all day on the beautiful golf courses. In the evening we relaxed and ate very well at a variety of onsite restaurant choices. The room was very large with huge dressing room and separate bathroom. The balcony overlooked pool, sunset and surfing - hard to drag ourselves away. Personal favourite was the Welcome Mai Tai, I didn't find a better one during our whole holiday.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to know there was something for everyone in your family at Turtle Bay! We would all love to welcome you back again someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I love this resort!!! If you are looking to get away from the crowds and want to relax this is the place for you. If you are looking for "Mr Right", stick to Waikiki. Spacious rooms and friendly staff make your stay all the more enjoyable. We only had 2 complaints which we are not the first to point out, is the Ola Beach Bar. Our server was slow and he rarely checked on us or seemed to be interested in working there. Food was nothing fabulous. Stick to the rest of the restaurants/cafe at the hotel. The breakfast buffet is awesome!!! The staff at the pool bar are friendly and frequently walk the area to take orders. The last issue was, that my husband had asked to have something delivered to the room for my birthday prior to our arrival. Some miscommunication between both parties and it wasn't delivered. I was ready to let it go and enjoy the rest of our stay when Hoku apologized and wanted to make it up to us. True to his promise we had a lovely wine and cheese basket filled with goodies delivered later that day. Then the lovely Vice President & General Manager sent up another scrumptious basket of goodies apologizing for the mix up. Well that sealed the deal. That's what I call taking care of your guests. This exceeded my expectations and I was very impressed. Will be sure to return again!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha & Happy Birthday,

We are honored you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us and I am glad you enjoyed the gifts we sent up to your room. Thank you for spending time with us at Turtle Bay and sharing areas we can improve. We appreciate your input and will keep it in mind as well as dsicuss with proper management. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.