We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off + Breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Probably the most beautiful resorts my wife & I have ever stayed at. The hotel and surrounding grounds are beautiful. You can see that they have paid attention to every detail in their rennovations. However or experience with most of the food in the onsite restaurants was far from perfect. It was our first time staying there last week and we would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the place
See more room tips
Green Features: Older lady at the front desk was not very helpful or friendly upon check in.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and speaking so highly of our beautiful property. I am pleased you enjoyed our renovations. We look forward to the honor of serving you again.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    269
    88
    31
    21
See reviews for
312
510
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver,b.c.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I have stayed there 3 times now. It seems no matter if you book the Deluxe Ocean-front room or whatever they call it these days there's always some kinda screw up at the front desk. Every time we arrive it never takes less than 3 trips to see 3 different rooms, all with varying degrees of the view you thought you had paid for. Ever since the big 'reno' they have re-invented themselves and re-named the rooms and view types. To say it's frustrating is an understatement. The pool bars food has gone down hill, nacho's are made with a 7-11 type cheese sauce. Parking, which is supposed to be for guests is always overflowing and is supposed to be part of the' over the top resort fee', is always filled with local's cars and SUV's ( don't worry, you'll recognize them ). The pool is over run with kids, running amok. No life guards to attempt to quell the madness and do the parents jobs. There was garbage that had blown off the Lanai's down into the garden. The gardeners tended to the plants but never cleaned up the trash. It was there for over a week. We even mentioned it to the front desk Manager but no one cleaned it up. We also asked if the resort would extend ( past September ) the $200 resort credit extended to everyone because of on going renovations, but we still haven't heard back from Mark Isshi yet. I guess I'll give him another 3 months. Any ways, other than location and great housekeeping staff I think we'll spend our money else where this year. p.s. the golf course has the best food on the whole property and the coffee bar in the lobby has some good deals for a light breakfast, Aloha

Room Tip: Ocean-front overlooking the pool are best. The ocean-front rooms overlooking the Luau's area can...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green rooftop with solar panels and assorted debris, kinda phoney if you ask me.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha,

Thank you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you continuing to visit us, as well as your input on how we can improve. Our new pool bar opened in October 2014 with a new menu. One of my favorite items there is the nachos because the sauce is homemade melted jack and cheddar cheese with spices. Mark is no longer with us. I would be happy to look into your question. Please contact me at FLaurent@Turtlebayresort.com so we can further discuss your stay.

Mahalo,
Filius Laurent
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is truly a hidden gem. The north shore is so beautiful in itself and this resort was amazing. Newly renovated - it appeared to be new. The bed was comfortable and we had great ocean views. Very fair prices for food and drink. Many dining options, which was great since there isn't much else up there. The staff was super nice everywhere we went, especially house keeping. They always had a smile and were happy to provide extra coffee cups, shampoos, etc. I went for Wanderlust yoga festival and wasn't disappointed at all. Very clean and organized. Beautiful yoga room and grounds. I can't wait to plan my next trip back.

Room Tip: we had partial ocean view and it was still amazing
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good. Recycle options all over the place. Signs in rooms about reusing towels.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

Mahalo for staying at Turtle Bay. I am glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, restaurants and friendly staff! It is nice to know you had a great time at Wanderlust Oahu and we hope you can join us for the 2016 festival Feb 25-28.

With warm aloha,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After booking with the awesome folks at the guest services kiosk (thanks Spencer and Adam), my son (5) and nephew (6) had a most amazing experience surfing with Rocky and Hine. They had such success getting up and surfing, and are begging to go again. From the great photos taken by Bobby O, to the amazing skills of Rocky, we were awed, impressed and will remember this as the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

Nothing beats learning how to surf on the North Shore with Hina the surfing dog! I am thrilled you guys made lifelong memories with our amazing staff and furry friend. We hope you can all surf with us again soon.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Over all the resort is very nice. Clean, lots to eat and do. We did find it very pricy as the restaurants charge premium prices for food and drink. We were there for a friends wedding and paid for a premium ocean view room for them on the sixth floor with a king size bed and a tub. We found that the room over all was the same size as ours and really wasn't worth the price of it. The tub wasn't jetted and there was nothing that made the room worth that much in my opinion. The resort however did have wine, chocolates and a fruit basket in the room for them which we did not request/pay for so that was very nice of them and appreciated. It was a nice spurge to stay there. If you want to spend a few nights there, I would suggest it but more than 3 nights, you could stay in a private rental for the same price for a week.

Room Tip: Don't go for the premium rooms on the 6th floor. WAY too expensive for pretty much the same as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us at Turtle Bay during your friend’s wedding- Please extend congratulations from the Turtle Bay team! It is nice to know you liked our resort and the activities we offer. I just wanted to share our premium rooms not only offer a deep soak tub and bigger bathroom than our general rooms, but they are all located on the 6th floor and offer the best ocean views at our hotel. We would all love to welcome you back to the Fabled North Shore someday and appreciate your input on Trip Advisor.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently cut a stay on Waikiki Beach short because of the crowds and decided to give the North Shore a try. We were able to book a beachfront cottage for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The property was beautiful and we loved our cottage. It was so peaceful and the view was amazing.
Service was great and we would highly recommend Turtle Bay for anyone looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are wonderful. The ocean is right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for highly recommending Turtle Bay to others on Trip Advisor. It is nice to know you could escape the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We would love to welcome you back someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My mom, 6 year old daughter and myself stayed 3 nights at Turtle Bay and a night in Wakiki. We regret not staying at Turtle Bay the entire trip. It was a great experience!! Staff were all so friendly, rooms were very clean and updated, there was sooooo much to do! Pool hours were great! I went for a morning walk each morning and enjoyed the natural beauty of the grounds! The food was very enjoyable with options in different restaurants on the grounds. Nightly entertainment was great. This resort is so close to all the North Shore beautiful beaches! Definitely will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

I am thrilled you had an excellent time at Turtle Bay. My personal favorite thing to do at the resort is walk our scenic trails and I am glad you enjoyed them every day of your trip. I look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.