We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenery, service and restaurants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off + Breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing scenery, service and restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Turtle Bay Resort is one of the most beautiful hotel properties on Oahu. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet...custom made omelets! Fantastic restaurants include Lei Leis and Pahkai. The staff at this hotel are wonderful, always greeting you and asking if they can be of service. I can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing ocean views, except some on the 2nd floor which look over a large area of roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: this is a very 'green' hotel. Many environmental initiatives are underway.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    245
    80
    27
    20
See reviews for
289
463
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a great surf lesson by Scott through the Hans Hedemann Surf Center at Turtle Bay resort. It was fantastic. Had a great time.

While I surfed the family enjoyed the amazing beach and lagoon which is great for young kids. We ate lunch at the restaurant on the beach and thought the hot dog, fish tacos, and burgers were great. We didn't stay overnight at the resort but loved it so much we came back later during the vacation and played at the beach again and my wife experience the spa. She said it was one of the best she has ever been to. Our couple days at Turtle Bay ended up being our favorite experience during our 2 week trip to Oahu.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's a joy staying at Turtle Bay Resort, Kahuku, Hi. Francesca and Megan are always so helpful at the business center to my needs, the front desk people are warm and friendly, and housekeeping, has such warm and jovial staff, like Jobeth. Not to mention the lovely people at the Surfer Bar. They all added to the quality of my experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view and balcony somyiuncsn sit and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us on the Fabled North Shore. It is nice to know our friendly staff made your experience at Turtle Bay a joy – especially Francesca, Megan and Jobeth. I will be sure to share your review with them and commend them for their aloha. The whole Turtle Bay team would be honored to serve you again someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For those who visited before November 2014 (and those considering a stay), Turtle Bay shed its tired old shell and exchanged it for a shiny new one, with impressive results. The lobby and its appendages – restaurants, spa, bars, registration area – have all been enhanced and polished to a fare thee well.

Rooms too.

Ours on the sixth floor was beautifully, thoughtfully appointed, with knock-out views of the Pacific Ocean flexing its muscle – giant waves pounding the shore, power in stereo – from the balcony. We would have been perfectly happy spending the day sitting in one of the comfy chairs reading a book and watching the virtuosic performance from our front row seat. (However, we left to do activities like whale watching with North Shore Catamaran and kayaking with Shaka Kayaks, who does eco tours of a nearby bay, both activities highly recommended.)

But it turns out the resort's facelift was way more than skin deep.Turtle Bay is now a poster child for excellence in service quality: every single staff person we met, no exception, offered service with a smile that seemed heartfelt and genuine. A waitress named Christina, who works at The Point, the new and improved bar/restaurant at the pool, is the paradigm: obviously intelligent, efficient, engaging without crossing boundaries. Ditto everyone at the Guidepost, Turtle Bay-speak for the concierge desk.

Turtle Bay Resort is all about service with a (genuine) smile in an atmosphere polished to a fare thee well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is amazing ! There's so much beachfront. You can take walks all down the beach just watch out Where you go because there are jagged lava rocks in places. When we were there they were having some sort of modeling shoot. It's a great spot for it. The hotel is so beautiful and the staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you had the chance to explore our trails. We have 12 miles of trails with 5 of them along the coastline. I personally like to walk the trails on my free time. If you walk about a mile from our hotel heading West you will come across the pristine Kawela Bay and are sure to spot turtles. I hope to have the honor of welcoming you back someday and maybe even seeing you on the trails.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel and location are excellent. Unfortunately while we were there the weather was terrible. So bad in fact that we did not really go outside except to drive up to Haleiwa. We upgraded our room to a suite for $50 per night so it wasn't too bad having to stay inside! Three restaurants in the resort and there is another at the Gold Club. Would love to go back again in summer to experience this place in pleasant weather as we did not get to take full advantage of the facilities.

Room Tip: Suites are nice. Very roomy and the bed is comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for staying at Turtle Bay on your recent trip to Oahu. I wish we could control the weather but I am glad to read you enjoyed your time in our suite. We would love to welcome you back in the summer so you can truly experience our activities like horseback riding, surfing, kayaking and more.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed 7 nights this month. From the moment we entered the resort we were warmly greeted,the woman who checked us in was really accomodating. We stayed in a partial ocean view room. We were immediately welcomed by Kit,the head of housekeeping,he couldn't have made us feel more at home,Glenda who took care of our room was so sweet. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are beyond comfortable. Going to Turtle Bay is an absolute luxury and such a relaxing place to vacation. Mahalo to Rachel for the fabulous massage. I hope we can return someday. You are on the northern most point of Oahu at Turtle Bay,it has amazing views from everywhere there.

Room Tip: If you can get a full ocean view,it is so beautiful out there. I would also try to get an upper floo...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are some I noticed. They give you the choice of towels replaced daily or not.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you so much for sharing you had an amazing time at Turtle Bay! We all strive to ensure all of our guests have a great time and I am so glad Kit, Glenda and Rachel made you feel at home and well taken care of. I am sure they will be happy to know their great service made your stay memorable. We all hope to have the honor of welcoming you back someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.