We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Bay Ocean Villa 104 a fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Turtle Bay Ocean Villa 104 a fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were traveling with 7 adults from the ages of 22 to 80. We rented an ocean villa through VRBO. The villa had 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, a living room, dining room and full kitchen. The villas have their own pool right outside the front door, as well as a beach with a protected cove for some great snorkeling. The kitchen had played, cups, mugs, silverware, pots and pans, blender, spices, dishwasher, oven, large microwave, cook top, large refrigerator and freezer with ice maker.
The beds were very comfortable. the linens and towels were immaculate and the villa overall was very clean.
We enjoyed having a common area to be together but then everyone had a place to get away and relax. There are two large gas grills in the courtyard outside the villas. They were cleaned every morning and they were in use quite a bit. There are two grocery stores within about a 15-20 minute drive so you can cook and eat in when you want.
This was a great location up on the North Shore of Oahu. The winter brings large waves and surfing contests but the protected cove is calm and a nice place to relax.
We loved our stay here.
The villa came with a storage locker full of beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, a cooler, beach toys and umbrellas.

Room Tip: You can rent villas through the resort itself and then you get the use of the resort pool and gym, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    220
    74
    24
    17
See reviews for
253
419
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our stay was from 12-2-14 to 12-10-14. Overall we had a good stay at Turtle Bay resort. Check in and check out were a breeze. Super fast both times. My hub bugged the desk clerks numerous times to get change because we were using cash and they were always very helpful. We stayed in room 551 facing the beach and Ola. The room was nice and spacious, but there was a constant musty or mildewy smell our entire stay. As some others have mentioned the showers don't have doors at all so we had to point the shower away from the door to help keep water from splashing everywhere. There was a clothes line the the shower of our room to hang our wet clothes on. There was lots of closet space and drawers to store clothes. Our fav feature in the room was the Keurig, which we used to heat our water for oatmeal and my hubs ice tea. First night we were there we ate at the Kula Grille and neither of us liked our meals and thought it was kind of pricey, $90. Later we ate at Surfer the Bar and at Ola, 2x each, and really enjoyed those. My hub had surfing lessons and I had paddle board lessons and we were both pleased with our experience. My instructor Johnno was really nice. We road the shuttle to the surfing competition down the road which was totally worth the cost as the traffic was pretty thick for the competition. We didn't feel this is a place for children as there is practically nothing geared toward children beyond the beach. If you are thinking of staying here you WILL have to rent a car. Even though Oahu is a small island it does take lots of time to get anywhere because the roads are mostly 2 lanes and the speed pretty much anywhere besides the freeways is 35mph. And so all you nice people who want to stay here are prepared ahead of time there is a CONSTANT roaring noise from the surf and at night it sounds like a hurricane is outside the hotel or a really bad rain storm.

We booked thru Costco Travel and paid extra for an oceanfront room and we thought this meant we would get a room facing the ocean not the shoreline but that's not what Turtle Bay says it means. They say oceanfront is any room on the 5th or 6th floors so just beware when making those reservations.

Overall we had a great experience but I'll come straight to the reason I only give a rating of 3. Number 1: The parking situation is terrible. Every time we left and came back we had to hunt for space. Self parking is included in the daily guest resort fee and I feel that as such there should be a designated space for each room but there isn't. Also I don't understand why paying guests are charged to park but outside visitors to the beach and other activities aren't charged to park?? I know you have to provide a certain amount of parking since the beach is public but if you aren't allowed to charge the public beach visitors and other visitors their spaces should be all the way at the end of the parking lot away from the beach. They should actually have their own parking area so you can keep track of people on the grounds.
Number 2: Charging a daily guest resort fee is ridiculous. All of the items this fee covers should be included in the room rate or a fee should be charged as the items are used. Really the only things we used were the Keurig and tea, snorkeling on 1 day only, WiFi and parking. Including local phone in the resort fee does not make sense because most all people use their own cell phone. Most of the time we weren't even on the grounds to take advantage of activities included in the resort fee as we were touring the island. Also I know there are hotels on the Island that don't charge a resort fee.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at turtle bay resort during the pipe masters competition. I found the the whole experience from start to finish a horrible and expensive ordeal.
The hotel security staff were arrogant and rude and the hotel manager was dismissive and entitled.
For the money it costs for a room you could hire a beach house of your own and thats what i will do.

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha Luke,

Mahalo nui loa for staying with us during the Pipe Masters. Although we are glad that you experienced the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, we deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Turtle Bay.

We sincerely apologize for our staff showing you anything but our aloha spirit and are very disappointed that we did not show you the time of your life. We take all feedback as an opportunity to make improvements and will certainly do so with yours.

We do hope you will return to Turtle Bay and allow us the opportunity to show you the many awesome things that make Turtle Bay a spectacular place to stay.

Warmest aloha,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent our first 2 days of our honeymoon at Turtle Bsy Resort. Awesome view and excellent customer service. The room is well maintained and super clean. It is a great place for a quiet family vacation. Please be aware that the food are quite expensive and not many choices around the resort.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us at Turtle Bay. We offer several activities fit for just about everyone. Whether you want to relax with a message by the ocean at Nalu Kinetic Spa or explore our trails on horseback- Turtle Bay truly has something for everyone. We hope to have the honor of making more memories with you in the future.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have called Turtle bay in preparation for our vacation and anniversary get away beginning on January 5, 2015. Naomi answered the phone when I called today. She was very helpful and helped me to upgrade my room. She gave me great information. I have heard so much about this resort and can't wait to get back to the North Shore!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for sharing your excitement about your upcoming honeymoon at Turtle Bay. We will be sure to take care of you and look forward to your arrival!

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We loved our one night stay at Turtle Bay- I wish it had been longer.
This resort is super clean and fresh inside, no dated decor here (like other places found on the island) We stayed just one night after our week long Norwegian Cruise before heading home. I would recommend a 2-3 night stay at minimum. The beaches are amazing. Be aware of high prices for eating at the restaurant. There are also very few places nearby (and nothing in walking distance). Be sure to check out the Polynesian Cultural Center (fantastic luau) and LDS Laie Temple just a short drive away- they are gorgeous! Also be aware that the drive to Turtle bay is a long drive from the airport and will take over an hour.

Room Tip: Every room has an excellent view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing you had a terrific time at Turtle Bay. We have six restaurants for our visitors to choose from. They range from fine dining at Pa’akai to inexpensive grab-and-go options at our Lobby Lounge. We wish you could have stayed with us longer too! We recommend at least 4-5 days if you plan on trying out some of our great activities like surf lessons, horseback riding, helicopter tours and Segway tours. We also have 12 miles of trails to explore. Of course there’s also the fabled North Shore and island of Oahu. Be sure to stop at our Guidepost in the lobby where our guides can give you the inside scoop and tips on places to go and see. We would love to welcome you back someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is our second time staying in the beach cottages. The rooms are nicely done and the view is excellent - completely unobstructed gorgeous ocean view. Nice big soaking tub. We did the in room dinner (you have to call 72 hours in advance for), and it was awesome - a 5 course meal brought right to your room and served on you lanai. The food was excellent, and you couldn't beat the view. They make it easy to plan your trip - we played golf, got a wave massage at the spa (highly recommended), and did a morning horse back ride along the beach. We really enjoy going here - away from the more crowded tourist destinations on Oahu - you feel like you are on another island.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for visiting us a second time a Turtle Bay. We hope you felt at home. Did you know Nalu Kinetic Spa is the only spa on Oahu that has the wave motion table? I’m glad you had the chance to experience it. Turtle Bay truly does offer an outer island experience, on Oahu! Where else can you get lost in our 850 acres and then drive 60 minutes to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki? I hope to have the honor of serving you a third time.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.