We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views and isolation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fantastic Fall Rates!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome views and isolation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you want to get away from everything, this is the place to come. The views are incredible. The hotel staff is nice and go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We did the kayak which was nice as we got to see sea turtles in the bay. We also played a round of golf, which is always nice, but seemed better in Hawaii... You can go for 6 days and never leave their property and will have everything you need.
If you go, here are my recommendations:
1. Make sure your room faces the ocean so you get the nice views.
2. Try and get a room as high as possible for better views. There are only 6 floors.
3. Take a day and go to where the big sea turtles come up on the beach. It is just past Waimea Bay. The bus stops (which, by the way is very reliable) right in front of the area.
4. Go to the food trucks that are just down the road. Really great food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,349
    854
    361
    164
    97
See reviews for
745
1358
53
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed with our three children; ages 7,4, and 1, from July 3rd to July 11th at Turtle Bay Resort and absolutely fell in love with this place This is our fourth trip to the Hawaii, first trip North Shore Oahu, and I must say Turtle Bay Resort is the best place we have stayed at thus far. Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect! Location is breathtaking. I mean seriously, the views here are incredible. The hotel is normal size, not too big, yet the property goes on for miles. My family and I had our own beach many times. Turtle Bay is surrounded by sooo much natural beauty, amazing beaches that my small children were able to swim in, and only a short 15 minute drive from Haleiwa for shopping and lots of inexpensive restaurants. We are pretty sure no vacation will ever top the one we just had at Turtle Bay.

Room Tip: Any room here is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was real and friendly. The wait for check in was the only problem. It took several hours for response to my reguests. Problem getting a paid movie it took 4 hrs by then we were to sleepy to watch.; requested a can opener, said it be up in 20 min. That was ok except it took 3 hrs. I would say, they only need is to gets the front desk to the level of the rest of the staff. The view from the rooms was outstanding, one of the best and I usually hask for the best views.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the wedding chapel. They even had Sunday service non denominational facing th...
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved the availability of recycling bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I don't know where to start! !

From the most room ocean, pool, mountains view ever in my life to the wonderful room and resort amenities !!

It has so many restaurants in it that you won't need to go out for days !!

We have been to Honolulu so many times and always a blast to come back especially the scenic view inbetween!!

Parking was a pain in the weekend as almost all spots taken and had to wait for someone to leave!! Or valet which I stood have done I believe 16$ daily and I believe worth it!!

Swimming pool is wonderful with depth up to 12 feet!!

Best restaurant is Pa'akai but $$$$ 2 of us ate for 120$ and we were not hungry -:)

Gym is amazing and probably one of the best you could have in a hotel as it has one of the best views of the ocean and mountains !!

A night was like 300$ for ocean front which is expensive but worth it.

Rooms are 4.5 stars but everything else is probably a 5 star level !!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This part of the review is just for our room attendants, who were really exceptional. They provided really top service and are very nice people. could not be better. They went out of their way to fulfill our requests.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the beach front cottages, they are like a dream, slept with no air conditioning...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not much to say. Had trash bins for recycling. Did not see anything bad
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife and 2 sons (16 and 13).The resort is on an unbelievable tract of land and ocean. There is nothing literally visible on either side of the resort except the ocean and beach. The views are incredible. The isolation is great. My sons took surfing lessons while there and the instructors were fantastic. Well worth it. They had a GREAT time. They are finishing up some remodeling and the rooms were very nice (we were on the 6th floor), My only knock on the place is the exterior of the building. I would guess it was built in the 70's and it sort of shows. There's nothing they can really do about that now, but it doesn't leave the greatest impression. All in all the place is exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone. The North Shore is great. It's quiet and not like Waikiki at all. This is the place to stay...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Turtle Bay is a great resort. The people who work there are incredibly nice - the people who are cleaning your room, taking you on SUP lessons, greeting you at the gym, booking your spa appointment, working at the coffee bar, Surfer bar, or any of the bars on site - they all are very nice and happy to help you. However the folks at the front desk (at least when we checked in...) didn't really care. We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in time - our room was not ready. I get that. However they said they would call us when it was ready - that didn't happen. OK - not a big deal but was a little frustrating at the time.

Our room was located in the East Wing. We had the second to last room at the end of the hallway. The end rooms are where the Jr Suites are. We were on the 5th floor. View was incredible. This is away from the pool and construction so you will not hear either.

The pool is very nice. It's also crowded and they are doing construction nearby. It's not overly loud but its there.

When booking your room, ask for high floors. Lower floors can turn out to be not so good. You may be looking at another roof of the Conference center or you may be in place that has more noise - either way - request a higher floor and call a few weeks ahead so they can put that request in for you.

The restaurants on location are expensive. Also, they are not all that great. You can do so much better 10-15 minutes away from the resort at several of the food trucks or 15-20 minute drive to the restaurants near or in the North Shore Marketplace.

North Shore is a great area and we had an amazing time. The views we had at Turtle Bay were amazing, but be careful with the room they give you - you can't go wrong with the East Wing on a high floor.

Room Tip: East Wing - High floor - definitely recommend. Call ahead and request a room NOT to be overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.