We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing and quiet get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Resort to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th Night Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“relaxing and quiet get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

stayed 3 nights in a deluxe ocean view room. Views where stunning and room was well appointed. Resort is nice with plenty of activities to do if want or otherwise can sit around pool or beach and do nothing. If your into golf there is 2 great golf course. I would recommend this as a quiet getaway from the madness of Waikiki. We hired a car to get there, which was great as we could go and explore further down the coast during the day. Plenty of signs out around the North shore warning people not have any valuables in their cars as plenty of theiving was going on. We didnt have any issues though! No hassle in getting a park back at the resort either - we just self parked. Theres a few restuarants to eat in - we booked to eat at the one on the beach - setting was beautiful but food was very average for the price - ended up eating in the surfers bar for the other 2 nights - it was ok but not fabulous. We didnt have breakfast included so cant comment on it - we just bought from the lobby lounge that had cereal/muffins/fruit etc available for breakfast. Wifi is included in the resort fee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay. We’re thrilled you had a great time with us on the Fabled North Shore. We are the only Oahu resort with two championship golf courses and a helipad on property. We also have horseback riding, surfing, SUPing, kayaking, Segway tours, tennis, beach volleyball, snorkeling and more. We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    316
    103
    34
    21
See reviews for
373
600
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I spent several nights at Turtle Bay for our honeymoon, and looking back I wish we could have spent the entire time there! This property definitely does not lack in things to do. We went horseback riding, snorkeling, swimming, walking, and stand up paddle boarding right on site. We also took a trip to do shark diving in Haleiwa which was only a short drive away. The service, the staff, and the food was wonderful. We had a partial ocean view room up on the 3rd floor. I'm sure that there were rooms with better views - but we couldn't complain! The way the hotel is set up makes it so I would imagine every single room had an ocean view of some variety. The horseback tour we took was one of the highlights of the trip. All of the horses were in fantastic shape, and our guide was phenomenal. She took a ton of great photos for us, and our tour ended up being private as nobody else booked the evening ride on that particular day other than us. The only thing to note is that we did end up stopping at the local food store throughout our trip to pick up some odds and end and avoid eating out every day. The general store by the pool had great prices though, so if that was your only option to get a simple meal (or snacks), it wouldn't be a terrible idea. This leg of our trip was an absolute dream come true - cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Face the ocean - the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, Congratulations on your new life together! We’re honored we had the opportunity to celebrate your honeymoon with you. It sounds like you made wonderful memories horseback riding, stand up paddling and exploring our beautiful property. You’re right, every one of our accommodations offers a view of the ocean. We look forward to your return to Turtle Bay and appreciate the perfect rating on Trip Advisor! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are from Oahu but live in Europe. When we come home we always stay within the resort. When we hosted our daughter's North Shore wedding we also booked the Bride and Groom a room and they couldn't have been more happy with their Honeymoon. Even though mom and dad were staying in the resort, the bride and groom had a very romantic time and never ran into us unless they purposely chose to do so.
We loved seeing all the new renovations!! The rooms are so beautiful, I especially loved the new artwork and little details in the finishing touches.
Why we stay at Turtle Bay Resort:
Jeff Perkins the Resort Manager is Top Notch who has an amazing eye for attention to details and that rolls all the way down to personally seeing that each guest is happy, relaxed and enjoying themselves. I really like the "spa" water that is complimentary in the lobby. I know it saves our family $$ and keeps us from adding bottles to landfills. Keep your cup in your beach bag so you can re-use.
The security guy has rolled up in a golf cart on several occasions to see if I need a lift, if I had forgotten my key to the pool he would help me out, just genuinely nice, friendly staff. Housekeeping does an amazing job cleaning each room quickly and thoroughly.
Nightlife and Dining = Have I mentioned that you really don't need to leave the resort? If dancing, music or just chillin' with a cocktail is your thing then make sure to visit The Bar "Surfer". Keep your eyes open, you never know when you will spot a surf "legend"!!! Locals and "legends" like to pop in to just relax and talk story. Another great spot we love is Lei Lei's Bar and Grill. Love the relaxed, romantic atmosphere there and the food is Amazing. No matter what I've ordered it has always been very fresh and delicious. Ola's Restaurant is directly on the beach and another fabulous chef that prepares fresh, local dishes that will WOW you.
OK so my ALL TIME FAVORITE thing to do is explore all of the beaches that are on the property but away from the hotel. I prefer the side with the horse stables and the further away I venture the better. Best part of this is that some of our local "critters" prefer to relax on the beaches here where they won't be bothered (please keep that in mind and be respectful by giving them lots of space). Bike and Kayak Rentals are another fabulous thing to do especially if you have teenagers. Great way to build family memories. Aloha from Spain

Room Tip: You are going to get a Sunrise or a Sunset no matter where you stay so don't waste them, ENJOY
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the conversion made in the swimming pools. Saline vs chlorine, I actually got into the pool!!! I mentioned above how much I appreciate the Spa water that is available in the lobby. Seems like such a small gesture but in actuality it is huge. Thank You
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, Thank you for spending time with us on the Fabled North Shore. We’re thrilled Turtle Bay and all our offerings is the perfect fit for you. Exploring our trails is one of our favorite things to do as well. It’s amazing to be able to walk about 30 minutes from your room on a tropical trail and find your own secret beach. We truly take pride in offering an outer island experience on the island of Oahu. We hope to have the honor of a return visit someday. We’ll save you seat in Surfer! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had an awesome trip. This was our first time in Hawaii and I don't have one complaint. The villas were exceptional! My son is in a wheelchair and we enjoyed the easy access to the beach (using the beach wheelchair) and the pool. I need to say that our housekeepers (Nora, Cubi, and Amalia) were excellent and took exceptional care of our villa during our week stay at the resort.

Room Tip: The villas were very quiet and worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Turtle Bay and sharing the great time you had with us. We want to ensure all of our guests have the time of our live and we’re thrilled you son enjoyed the beach and pool. We will be sure to pass on your review to Nora, Cubi and Amalia. Our family at Turtle Bay would love to serve yours again someday. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The resort has almost finished major renovation Our room was very nice and the ocean view was amazing. We weren't told when we booked for our honeymoon that areas were still blocked off which would have been nice to know. The parking which was included in the resort fee was a real hassle. We had trouble getting a spot every time we pulled in. It is shared with public parking for the beach and the working crews took many spots. The valet parking lot was almost empty so very poor use of space. We loved our vacation and the setting was so beautiful and we would return for shorter period of time the restaurants lacked variety and were pricey

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront so watched the sunset from our lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for spending your recent Oahu vacation with us on the Fabled North Shore. We’re delighted you enjoyed your room. All of our rooms offer an ocean view, which is something not all Hawaii hotels can offer. We appreciate you sharing areas you believe we can improve. Proper management will look into your suggestions and take them into consideration when determining how to enhance our guest experience. We would be honored to serve you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Me and a few mates negotiated a night off from the family and headed to the surfer bar. Andrew was our bartender and we threw all types of orders at him. He kept on impressing us with his knowledge of drinks and served us some fantastic mixes and shots.

Personal favourites were "Surfer on Acid" and the "Dirty 'gators"

Good job buddy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, It sounds like you guys had a blast with Andrew serving up not only amazing drinks, but aloha! We’ll pass on your review to him. We hope you can drop in again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been to oahu a few times now but we never stayed at the northshore side. We would definitely go back to this side and to this hotel! The kids love this hotel, especially the pool:). The staff are really helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Julie and Kit for making our stay much fun!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Aloha, Mahalo for staying at Turtle Bay. Although our location is one-of-a-kind we know that our employees are what truly make Turtle Bay memorable and a place to be. We’re delighted you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, especially Kit & Julie! We will pass on your review to them. Please do visit us all again soon! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 880 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. Modern architecture graces this six story hotel on Kuilima Point, where all rooms provide an oceanview. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 443 magnificent beach cottages and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, ten tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. For group meetings, the Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort houses the latest in learning and presentation technology with more than 31,000 square feet of meeting space. Video conference hosting, high speed wireless Internet and a host of other IACC approved technologies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.